Home > humor > Dialing the Clock Back for Autumn

Dialing the Clock Back for Autumn

Um... isn't the Roman Numeral 4 supposed to be IV not IIII?

Um… isn’t the Roman Numeral 4 supposed to be IV???

 

If you were given the opportunity to relive a segment of your life, what would you do with this wonderful opportunity?  Alas, we get this opportunity each and every fall.  So… how did I spend such an opportunity?  I slept.  Dammit!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. November 3, 2013 at 11:48 am

    What would I “do with this wonderful opportunity”? Live it again. Most certainly not asleep. I suppose that’s why I never quite took to Sleeping Beauty and her tragedy: One hundred years down the drain. Still, better than Botox.

    U

    • November 3, 2013 at 12:28 pm

      But therein lies the problem. Why not pick a more civil hour to re-live a moment in time. Who is the sadist that chose it to be 2 am in the morning?

      And I know how much you love apples, so be careful not to eat a poisoned one, forcing you to sleep for so long a period of time, waiting for some prince to kiss your cheek and bring you back to a livelier state.

      • November 3, 2013 at 12:39 pm

        Being Halloween I hope you’ll forgive me for painting the mouldy scenario where you, Phil, are the prince one hundred years on – and by now dead – coming across my barely blossomed beauty. Since it’s you I won’t scream when you kiss me.

        U

        • November 4, 2013 at 7:00 am

          A dead prince of 150 plus years, wandering about looking for a barely blossomed beauty to kiss. Sounds like a ghostly story for sure. Or is it ghastly? I am unsure of which…

  2. November 3, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    difficult ?

    • November 4, 2013 at 6:53 am

      It is a difficult question, for if we were able to do things differently, we wouldn’t be quite the same people we are at this moment as a result.

  3. November 3, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    I would have liked to have gone to university when I was 18 rather than three years working at the nat west……mind you
    3 years as a bank clerk probably galvanised me into nursing

    • November 4, 2013 at 6:55 am

      What would you have studied back then had you gone to University? And now, given what you’ve experienced in life, would it be the same path of courses?

      • November 12, 2013 at 3:06 pm

        I would have studied film
        Useless but fun

  4. November 4, 2013 at 7:38 am

    phil- Yep, quoting Bob Seger: “I wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know then.”

  5. November 4, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Since I adopted this “live in the moment” philosophy, I have a really hard time remembering what the heck happened in the past. People ask me, “What did you do this past weekend?” And I go blank. Really! I supposed if something major happened, I would remember it–like if I lost my car. I think I would remember that. Not where I put it, but that I lost it. Probably.

    So in answer to your question, yes, the Roman numeral for 4 should be IV. Say what you will about Baby Boomers–most of us had a pretty decent education! Not that I can remember most of… ;)

    • November 4, 2013 at 10:25 pm

      I really do enjoy the spirit of living in the moment. It is the only point in time we are guaranteed; past is gone, and future isn’t here or certain to happen with us. Thanks for making me feel better about Roman numerals too, though I’d venture to guess it’s not the easiest number system for long division…

      • November 5, 2013 at 12:21 pm

        Long division? Who does that any more? Kids probably think “long division” is the name of a band or something. ;)

  6. November 4, 2013 at 11:15 am

    I’m not sure I’d want to re-live my life unless I could have the experience I have today and do things better.

    • November 4, 2013 at 10:26 pm

      Same path with better execution – now that’s a sign of no regrets. I like your attitude about it all.

  7. November 4, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    I would re-live nothing…
    ….except not seeing my sister’s murderer for what he truly was….

    LOVE! Miss you, Phil. Xxx

    • November 4, 2013 at 10:30 pm

      Kim, dear Kim. If anyone in this world deserves a moment in time to be recaptured and done differently it is you. In fact, I’d gladly give my moment in time to you if I had one to give. If only…

      Blessings and love to you and your family.

  8. November 4, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    My time with my parents… no matter when they go, it feels way too soon… Vapor54 brought to mind that song from Corner Gas: “I don’t know the same things that you don’t know, you just won’t admit it…” LOL

    • November 4, 2013 at 10:33 pm

      With all these old song lyrics to ponder, I’m just glad that “I was so much older then, I’m younger than that now…”

  9. November 5, 2013 at 7:37 am

    back to the leaves:” I’ve been raking leaves with Liza” from Warren Zevon’s sad & funny take on life at the Detox Mansion

    Hey Phil, your blog is hopping.

    • November 5, 2013 at 7:45 am

      Thanks Vapor. I have an interesting set of Random Thoughts groupies for sure, and given my inconsistencies in posting it’s a miracle they even bother to show. But I love them all…

      This song lyrics thing has given me an idea for another blog post. I wonder if I can set up a post where all the comments have to be in song lyric only – what kinds of conversations could we all have? LOL.

  10. November 7, 2013 at 7:20 am

    phil- an old man with groupies- how do you do it? :wink:

    • November 8, 2013 at 12:07 am

      Vapor – it’s a secret. Yes, it is so secret even I don’t know… :)

      • November 9, 2013 at 7:13 am

        phil- so you can’t reveal – LOL

        • November 9, 2013 at 10:00 am

          Like many things in my life, I’m clueless to the whys of it all. I just roll with it as best as I am able. ;)

  11. November 8, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    I stayed up later than usual on the clock-changing night, and have suffered from insomnia ever since. Not so my husband: he went to sleep on the sofa and notched up the volume of his snoring to celebrate the end of British Summertime!

    • November 9, 2013 at 10:09 am

      Sarah, my wife easily suffers from insomnia if there are any changes to schedule or routine. I’ve never needed too much sleep in my life – in fact rarely get more than 6 hours max. But when I hit the bed pillow, it rarely takes more than a minute to fall off into a deep slumber. As I’ve gotten older, I try to avoid the sofa as much as possible – it is evil! Unless there is company, I get way too relaxed on a sofa, and next thing I know – well, I hope I don’t snore too loudly…

  12. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    November 9, 2013 at 5:13 am

    Ha ha :)

    • November 9, 2013 at 10:10 am

      I know – the irony. You can relive an hour of your life, but it must be at 2 am in the morning…

  13. November 15, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    I hope is yet to come, a moment so special waiting just around the corner. I’ll probably miss it though. Especially if I have to experience it at 2:00 am. Yikes.

  14. December 19, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    I hope that you are ready for a wicked Christmas Phil :) ;)

  15. December 24, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    Merry Christmas Phil

    Andro

    • December 25, 2013 at 12:26 am

      An a Happy Christmas to you and yours my wicked friend. So… were you naughty or nice this year? :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

