Home > Music > Night – Music Passion Theme for April

Night – Music Passion Theme for April

 

Despite a long absence from playing around the WordPress world, I’ve been given the honor of selecting this month’s theme in Dolly’s Music Passion thread, a regular monthly attraction on her blog All About Lemon. I reflected on what kind of theme we should do for this month that might capture the spirit of music and passion, and the concept of “night” seemed interesting. Night is definitely when music and passion often intersect.  So join in everyone and post some of your favorite songs about night.

For me, the first song that came to mind was from a personal favorite, Ray Charles. I have chosen (Night Time) Is the Right Time. It is an old rhythm and blues song originally recorded in 1957 by Nappy Brown. Ray Charles covered it a year later and it became an immediate hit. The song has this raw, primal, lusty energy driving it, especially when Margie Hendricks calls to Ray in a little musical naughtiness. After all, isn’t night time the right time to be with the one you love?

 

(Night Time) Is the Right Time – Ray Charles (1958)

 

 

Hoping everyone has a very nice night.  Behave!  Or maybe not…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. April 1, 2014 at 2:54 am

    Hmmmm NIGHT! Night time to be with your love :) Very romantic… I enjoyed the song Phil. Thanks for this treat. I love it! xoxo

    I need to find my NIGHT song too :grin: mmmwahhh

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:45 am

      Thank you Dolly. It was fun to think up a theme. The topic seems to be getting a lot of romantic themed songs. Another favorite of mine goes back a lot farther – stemming back to 1893, a good 120 years ago. It is from the opera Les contes d’Hoffmann, a barcarolle duet titled “Belle nuit, ô nuit d’amour” or beautiful night, oh night of love. Beautiful indeed.

  2. April 1, 2014 at 10:31 am

    Ray Charles
    A mouth like a happy gin trap

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:53 am

      John, I have to admit, you have a point. Not sure I can look at any pictures of Ray Charles now without that image… :D

  3. April 2, 2014 at 6:35 am

    Yeah, well. As my then boyfriend (later my first husband) once drily remarked: Luckily his mother thought making love belonged to night time, the dark. Which is why she never checked up on his room during the afternoon. Only to find us perfectly clothed and serene, with a bottle of wine stolen from his father’s wine cellar, in the evening. Nothing untoward going on. She was sweet – in a stern way. Touched my heart.

    U

    • April 6, 2014 at 9:55 am

      So I have to wonder what exactly did you mean by “luckily.” Something about a wink and a smile come to mind about this behavior…

  4. April 2, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    What’s not to like about Ray Charles ???
    He’s soooo bluesy … GREAT song !!!!
    Isadora XD

    • April 6, 2014 at 10:00 am

      Thank you Isadora. I love the timbre of his voice, and the ability to take the limitless energy of gospel style and fuse it into a blues song naughtiness.

  5. April 3, 2014 at 11:41 pm

    GREAT choice of music!

    • April 6, 2014 at 10:01 am

      Thank you ladyfi. I appreciate the visit.

  6. April 9, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    That’s so cool that song, Phil. You should have seen me moving to the music. Nearly slipped off my chair at my computer desk, listening to that!

    • April 13, 2014 at 1:11 am

      Adds new meaning to the term rocking chair, or maybe a rolling chair, or a rocking and rolling chair… I’m smiling at the image of you swaying to the music – glad you enjoyed it Sarah.

  7. April 12, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Mozart’s Queen of the Night aria, The Last Midnight from Into The Woods, and Night Fever jump to mind :). Enjoyed your Ray Charles clip, I don’t listen to much blues music.

    • April 13, 2014 at 1:24 am

      Charlotte, I’m glad you enjoyed the clip, even if it’s not the main diet of music you listen to. Variety is fun – I love to keep my ears open to a lot of different musical styles just for fun and interest. My son was in the musical “Into The Woods” when he was in High School, and I know the song The Last Midnight.

      Oh my – Queen of the Night! OK, well Diana Damrau absolutely owns that part in my opinion. She set the bar quite high for modern day singers. Here she is singing “O Zittre Nicht”, which would fit nicely in the Night Theme:

      And of course, no Queen of the Night would be complete without “Der Hölle Rache”:

      Yeah, not the finest of motherly role models… ;)

  1. April 2, 2014 at 4:53 am
  2. April 2, 2014 at 4:50 pm
  3. April 5, 2014 at 4:50 pm
  4. April 12, 2014 at 4:35 pm
  5. April 16, 2014 at 9:08 pm
  6. April 25, 2014 at 11:48 am

Tell me, what's on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

