Home > 3D TV, humor, married humor > 3D Television – Still a Fantasy

3D Television – Still a Fantasy

I was shopping with my wife the other day at Costco, a warehouse type store with dozens and dozens of TV’s on display. She ventured off to look at some jewelry while I wandered up and down the electronics aisles looking at all the flat panel sets arranged in sizes ranging from very, very large to downright ostentatious. At the end of one aisle, I came across a demonstration display for a monstrous-sized 3D screen, complete with sample glasses mounted on a viewing stand so folks could take turns looking at the images in full three dimensional glory. There was this really cool demo program running, so I thought I’d see what all the fuss was about.

They were showing a sequence of free-style ski jumps and the 3D images were simply awesome! I couldn’t contain my excitement at how cool it was to see the skiers fly out of the TV screen as they launched into their twists and turns right in front of me. Naturally, I wanted to share this excitement with my wife, so I called her over, asking her to check out this really cool 3D TV I found. And naturally, she walked over to where I was standing to see what I was so excited about. Of course precisely when she came within eyeshot of set, the demo program switched over to incredibly attractive athletic women in bikinis playing beach volleyball…

The good news is, I saved a bunch of money and I won’t be at risk for becoming a couch potato. Who needs a stupid 3D set anyway?


Dammit!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Categories: 3D TV, humor, married humor
  1. TSG
    October 28, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Good story. The set looks impressive in your photo!Kinda makes me want a new TV. I'm going to buy a color set this time.I'm not joking now, without cable or satellite all I can receive is one snowy PBS channel.

  2. November 5, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Viv is one smart cookie!You are a lucky man buddy!

  3. November 6, 2010 at 7:20 am

    TSG, if all you get is PBS, then be thankful it's snowy. I don't picture you as a couch potato type anyway. Tide, judging by the look on my wife's face due to the wonderful timing of the program change, I'm not sure "lucky man" was the term to describe it. πŸ˜‰

  4. jesselunsford
    March 26, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    I just can’t get on board with the glasses part. Maybe when they perfect the 3D without glasses I’ll consider it.

    • March 28, 2011 at 12:03 am

      Jesse, I agree with you about the glasses. It’s bad enough to have to search around for the remote. Now we got to look around for glasses too? Bah!

      One of these days, they are going to perfect all aspects of virtual reality, and it may very well be the last invention mankind…

  5. June 20, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Great post! What’s all the fuss about 3-D? Isn’t real life multi-dimensional enough for people? I guess I’m just part of the generation that was happy when the rabbit-ear antenna could be adjusted properly so that there was more picture than “snow.”

    • June 20, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      I very much remember those days. We were happy when my uncle would come over and visit – he had some special receptors in his body, or maybe it was just the gold fillings in his mouth, but we always made him stand near the rabbit ears to pull in a more distant station other than the three regulars we had on the old B&W. Nowadays, it seems as though folks will enter a panic and spend twenty minutes searching for a misplaced remote control. Apparently it’s way too annoying to have to actually get up and change the channel…

      Thanks for dropping in.

  6. jennygoth
    September 30, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    thats really funny i can just see your face walking out the store without that tv lol if i was her id have bought it i would always know where you were sat right in front of the box lol xxjen

    • September 30, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      Hey! That’s a great rationalization that I should try on my wife! “You see dear, if we buy that set, you won’t have ever worry about where you’ll find me…” πŸ™‚

      Why do I have a feeling it isn’t going to work? But I like the way you think jen.

  7. jennygoth
    October 4, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    thanks for vid its really cool smart kids phil xxjen

  8. Androgoth
    November 22, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Yes how uncanny that is my good friend, that always happens, indeed I would imagine that her first thoughts were “Bloody Men” lol Well it was a very dood display while it lasted but it would have been nice to have been able to sample the whole demo before being whisked away and out of the shop… Never mind it was fun while it lasted, I meant of course the Ski Jumping, but just imagine what you missed out on Phil 😦

    Have a great rest of day and evening now πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

    • Androgoth
      November 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm

      Very Dood? lol
      It was very Goooooooooood too πŸ™‚ lol

      Androgoth

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

