Home > Great lyrics, Hypnotic, Love, Music, Relax, Unwind > Turnabout…

Turnabout…

The Yin and Yang, a symbol of the interconnectedness and interdependence of seemingly polar opposites. One can not exist without the other against which it contrasts in order to provide meaning. There is no hot without cold, light without dark, joy without sorrow, and so on.  Each side carries the seed of the other.

I was sifting through the old vinyl collection when I stumbled across an old favorite. Such a hypnotic and spellbinding musical sound, coupled with great lyrics worth thinking about as I relax and write. Enjoy!

Wrapped Around Your Finger

by The Police (1983)

Lyrics:

You consider me the young apprentice
Caught between the Scylla and Charybdis
Hypnotized by you if I should linger
Staring at the ring around your finger
I have only come here seeking knowledge
Things they would not teach me of in college
I can see the destiny you sold
Turn into a shining band of gold

I’ll be wrapped around your finger
I’ll be wrapped around your finger

Mephistopheles is not your name
I know what you’re up to just the same
I will listen hard to your tuition
You will see it come to it’s fruition

I’ll be wrapped around your finger
I’ll be wrapped around your finger

Devil and the deep blue sea behind me
Vanish in the air you’ll never find me
I will turn your face to alabaster
When you find your servant is your master

Oh, you’ll be wrapped around my finger
You’ll be wrapped around my finger
You’ll be wrapped around my finger

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. April 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    OMG!!!

    The Police’s Synchronicity album is incredible! I used to listen to almost obsessively when I was a teenager. I think I bought the album (tape, actually) when I was 17. Something about the depth of emotion and the intensity and the meaning of Wrapped Around Your Finger, and Every Breath You Take. Phenomenal! I played those songs over and over again. Every time I saw them on MTV (when MTV played MUSIC!), I would sit there, entranced and enchanted and dreamy. I wasn’t dating anyone at the time, but I imagined a profound, all-encompassing relationship.

    There are just some songs I have a great affinity for and moves me and have great personal meaning. Some of the more important songs transport me back to various points in my life or are permanently associated with certain individuals. I can’t listen to the song without remembering the time of my life or the memory of the person it evokes.

    Interestingly enough, the album was inspired by the Jungian concept of Synchronicity, and Jung, of course, explored the concepts of light and shadow within the human psyche. Some of my favorite literature explores these opposites.
    Wholeness is not achieved while denying the shadow side of human nature, yet as a ‘civilized’ society, we are often told to do just that.

    And, while it’s not on the same album, but The Police’s Every Little Thing She Does is Magic just makes me get up and dance!

    Music is so much fun!

    • April 29, 2011 at 5:00 pm

      Thank you for the insightful comments. Lyrically, and musically, The Police had a definite sophistication and richness in songwriting that separated them from the crowded field. When the album first came out, I was living and working in NYC. I recall many an interesting discussion about the lyrics and their meaning at the local pubs – though it may be possible it was just the beer talking. 🙂

      I definitely remember MTV when it first hit the Cable TV channel line-up and played only music videos. Of course the problem with me is I can remember when TV was broadcast through the airwaves to rabbit ear antennae…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

