Home > Meditation, Nature, Reflection > Morning Trails – Springtime at Lakefront

Morning Trails – Springtime at Lakefront

 

I am fortunate to live in an area that has hundreds of miles of dedicated walking trails and a marvelous lake and wildlife preserve a few miles from my home. I enjoy an early morning walk or run on these trails, and when I have extra time and the weather is nice, I make my way to the lake, camera in hand. I’ve been snapping photos of the lake for almost a decade now, and the fascination and beauty of the place never fades. If you have a few moments, join me and see why I consider this waking part of my day to be so special. I’ll try not to bore you too much with commentary – the images tend to speak well for themselves.

 

 

A Blue Heron searching about for breakfast.

 

 

Sunrise making its presence known.

 

 

A young buck and his companion enjoying a morning drink. Personally, I prefer a nice strong cup of coffee.

 

 

Sometimes, all you really need to do is look upward for inspiration…

 

 

A favorite spot for me to reflect, and to journal those random thoughts that occasionally make their way to this blog.

 

 

Last year’s grasses yielding to this year’s new growth.

 

 

Full sunlight bathing the lake’s easternmost end.

 

 

Here we have a family of Expatriate Canadian Geese who have declared their preference for permanent residency in Maryland.

 

 

This pesky Egret was dodging me for quite some time before finally staring me down, probably wondering what the heck I was doing poking around his environs.

 

 

It is said that some men spend their time sitting in Church and dream about fishing, while other men spend their time fishing and dream about God. I believe this shot helps me understand the spirit of that saying.

As I made my way home, walking through the trails and eventually emerging to the streets leading to my home, I couldn’t help but notice the frenzied pace of cars whirring past me as people scurry about in their daily lives, completely oblivious to all that beauty lying just beneath the veneer of a world they are unconsciously rushing through.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. May 6, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    OMG! Where is this? BEAUTIFUL! I would never get anything done…I would just sit on that bench and stare my life away….

    • May 6, 2011 at 6:35 pm

      Now I’ll tell you just because I like you, but you’ll have to promise to share that bench once in a while. Centennial Lake in Central Maryland, sandwiched in between Baltimore and Washington D.C.

  2. May 7, 2011 at 11:52 am

    The Library of Congress and now this! How lucky can you get?? Great photos. Love the animals! I especially like your commentary on the last photo. Enjoy the books and the views. Life must be beautiful. 🙂

    • May 7, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      Life IS beautiful, and it is delicious. Have a taste each and every day…

  3. May 8, 2011 at 1:52 am

    Stunning photos! I have some very pretty places by me, but not quite this gorgeous. I’m just loving the pictures, especially of the wildlife and the canopy of the trees. How lucky you are to be in walking distance of that every day. I have already decided the next place I move to must be closer to a natural element.

    I used to spend spare time in my teenage years in some nearby woods, walking off stress. Sometimes reading or writing letters. It was my personal refuge. I’d like my daughters to have easier access to Nature.

    Thanks so much for sharing your walk with us.

    • May 8, 2011 at 2:22 am

      You are very welcome. I’m so delighted that you enjoyed the pictures and the scenery. What better way to start a day than to take in a nice helping of nature’s best? It is a wonderful way to share those experiences with your daughters.

  4. June 13, 2011 at 8:23 am

    This is so gorgeous! I live a 5-minute drive from a reservoir with many similar views and animals. It is one of my favorite places and, like yours, a real refuge and place to rest and recharge. Thanks for sharing yours….

    • June 13, 2011 at 8:48 am

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures. I’ve come to enjoy my morning show, provided to me free of charge from nature.

  5. June 29, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    can i sit on tat bench too phil hope your well not been to visit me for a while my tissues soaked with tears lol xjen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

