Home > Classical Music, Full Moon, Moon, Music > Inspired by the Moon

Inspired by the Moon

It has been a rainy week here and while I realize the full moon occurred a few nights ago, this evening was the first break in the clouds that allowed me to see the nearly full moon as it starts its inevitable wane to nothingness. It was good to see that moon shining down, if only for a few fleeting hours between the cloud breaks. I’ve written before about how the moon is a major source of inspiration for all, including artists, poets, writers, and composers. In that spirit, I will choose another nice piece written by Vincenzo Bellini in 1838 – a mere 173 years ago. It is sung by a favorite mezzo-soprano of mine, Cecilia Bartoli.

Vaga luna, che inargenti

Vincenzo Bellini (1838)

Lyrics in Italian:

Vaga luna, che inargenti
queste rive e questi fiori
ed inspiri agli elementi
il linguaggio dell’amor;

testimonio or sei tu sola
del mio fervido desir,
ed a lei che m’innamora
conta i palpiti e i sospir.

Dille pur che lontananza
il mio duol non può lenir,
che se nutro una speranza,
ella è sol nell’avvenir.

Dille pur che giorno e sera
conto l’ore del dolor,
che una speme lusinghiera
mi conforta nell’amor.


English translation:

Beautiful moon, dappling with silver
These banks and flowers,
Evoking from the elements
The language of love

Only you are witness
To my ardent desire;
Go tell her, tell my beloved
How much I long for her and sigh.

Tell her that with her so far away,
My grief can never be allayed,
That the only hope I cherish
Is for my future to be spent with her.

Tell her that day and night
I count the hours of my yearning,
That hope, a sweet hope beckons,
And comforts me in my love.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. May 20, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Congrats! You’ve just been awarded the “Versatile Blogger Award”.
    visit:http://charlywalker.wordpress.com for details.

    Love the Full moon!

  2. May 22, 2011 at 2:48 am

    Full moon is also said to be new beginnings.

    Nice piece of music. Ummm… I’m beginning to like classical music. 🙂

    • May 24, 2011 at 12:02 am

      Earthianne, so glad you enjoy the music. Just think of it as an expansion to your existing musical tastes, without giving up anything you already like to listen to. I’m working on setting up a new blog that will focus mostly on Opera and Arias. Come visit http://randommusingsaboutopera.wordpress.com/ I hope to start posting some detailed stuff there soon, time permitting.

  3. May 25, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Oh La Luna…..Bella!

    • May 25, 2011 at 9:23 am

      Ah! Veramente che la luna è bella e molto romantico! Grazie cara mia…

  4. June 2, 2011 at 8:41 am

    Si, molto romantico! Ho amato quel film.

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    October 27, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    173 years ago & listening to it today. Fascinating, it truly is.

    Love that Moonstruck clip someone put in the comments too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

