Home > Cool Stuff, Google, Music > Gotta Love the Google Home Page for June 9!

Gotta Love the Google Home Page for June 9!

Les-Paul Classic Gibson

Just a quick shout out to the folks at Google for putting up an interactive guitar in place of their logo, in honor of Les Paul, who would have been 96 years old today. You folks ROCK!

Check out the Google Home page – I don’t know how long they’ll keep it up:

Revised Link Here  (with special thanks to Val for pointing out the archived version of the logo)

Happy strumming er… I mean searching! Come to think of it, I forgot what I was searching for, but glad I found this.

Edit:  OK, so you can no longer search from the archived page, but who cares when you can jam and play a little air guitar instead?  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Categories: Cool Stuff, Google, Music
  1. June 10, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    OMG..thought I was the only one enjoying it!!

    • June 10, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      Yeah, I’m sure there were offices all over the Country with erstwhile air-guitarist wannabes jamming some “Smoke On The Water” to the annoyance of co-workers. 🙂

  2. June 11, 2011 at 9:45 am

    LMAO!

  3. June 11, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Here too we were playing along on the googly geetar…’twas fun while it lasted.

    • June 11, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      We could all use a little whimsy in our daily lives. 🙂

  4. June 11, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    The Google homepage was a pleasant surprise!

    • June 12, 2011 at 10:06 am

      I know I had a lot of fun being a rock guitarist wannabe, and I’m sure others couldn’t resist a few plucks of the strings too. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. June 24, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Hey Phil, I had a lot of fun playing with it as well!! I felt like a kid (though I’m still like it in some ways). Wished they kept it for longer.

    • June 24, 2011 at 1:23 pm

      We don’t stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing.
      ~George Bernard Shaw~

      Keep on feeling like a kid. 🙂

      • June 24, 2011 at 8:43 pm

        That is actually one of my favorite quotes and my motto. I realized late but life is meant to be fun. Life is meant to be enjoyed.

  6. Val
    August 26, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I missed this when it was first shown but found it later on.

    It’s still available but on a different page: http://www.google.com/logos/2011/lespaul.html
    And you can look at their archive from here: http://www.google.com/logos/logos11-2.html (just go click on the dates at the top of the page to see the others.) 🙂

    • August 26, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      I really appreciate your letting me know about the link. Thank you Val. I will update this blog entry to reflect the new link. Now I’m wondering if my other older entries here have links in need of repair.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and visiting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

