Home > Fun, humor, snarkiness > Some Things Never Change

Some Things Never Change

A few weeks back, my son returned home from college after his finals to visit us for a couple of days. It was a short visit.  He was taking extra classes this summer semester and found a summer job nearby campus, so he needed to get back.  Well, I’m pretty sure he came to visit anyway.  There were miscellaneous sightings from my wife and me, along with a few neighbors.  Further proof? There were baskets of clothes sitting by the washer in need of serious laundering, a whole bunch of food was missing from the refrigerator, and all my beer was gone.  Circumstantial evidence perhaps, but still a dead giveaway my son was home.  I know, I know, I’m kidding and exaggerating.  I really did see and interact with him in the flesh.  He needed money – again.

One night, my son wanders into the house with about a dozen of his friends and they were all gushing about how cool something or another was as they were passing around the ear buds to his iPod.  I asked him what was so interesting.  His response was, “We’re listening to a live Podcast of a band we all like.  This technology is so cool.  Can you believe it?  It’s streaming live right now from a club downtown.”

I started to think about this, and for some reason began blinking.  I’m not sure if it was just my mind processing what he just said, or if I was developing a nervous tick thinking about the 3 BMW’s I could have owned, all tossed away in the form of a college tuition.

“So… what’s so cool about that?” I asked.

“Dad, it’s LIVE!  It’s happening right now, and we’re listening to it via a stream!   Just imagine all the technology to do that!”

Oh, imagine I did.  I had this gnawing feeling inside me, a sense of Deja Vu about all this technology and its application to everyday life.  And then it hit me.

I tell ya, the iPod ain’t got nothin’ over this baby!  It’s completely portable and powered by a replaceable battery – no charger needed.  And of course it comes complete with an earbud – one.  But hey, you don’t need an ear bud because it can play through a built in speaker, so folks didn’t have to pass around or share that ear bud. Ha! And here’s the best thing – it picks up LIVE streams of AM signal.  Can you imagine that?  I’m talking about live people, music, and events you can listen to  in real time.  In fact, listening to a live Podcast … sorry, I meant Broadcast of the 1965 World Series on that technological wonder landed me a detention in Mrs. McF’s class. She just didn’t appreciate sports or technology it seems. Luckily, I only had to write, “I will not take my transistor radio to class” one hundred times on the blackboard before being sent home.

As I reflect on all this marvelous technology it occurs to me, in many ways, little has changed.  In fact, as I look at the box above, with that “hip” guy and young woman in Go-Go boots holding onto that radio grooving to the music, it bears a strange resemblance to what arguably must be their kids 30 years later:

Devil With The Blue Dress On – probably not on your iPod but always playing on that transistor radio.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. July 24, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    And I thought I was the only one who kept her Yellow Sony Transister AM radio in a closet for comparison sake…….

    Love this post! ok now go to:http://objflicks.com/TakeMeBackToTheSixties.htm

    • July 25, 2011 at 8:12 am

      I love that page! I’m not sure why they even bother to put a search engine on it, because I had little desire to go elsewhere once there. I’m sure it will be a source of major distraction for a while – thanks to you…

      Glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. August 9, 2011 at 9:23 am

    The Devil With the Blue Dress On IS on my iPod, thank you very much!

    As for bands streaming live to some kind of device one could listen to at home…well, finally! When I was a kid, I was convinced that bands (like the Beatles, Rolling Stones, etc.) were actually playing live at our local radio station. I, like every humanoid with XX chromosomes, had an insane crush on Paul McCartney and was really miffed at my mom when she refused to drive me down to the radio station so I could catch a glimpse of Paul. She just shook her head, chuckled, and said no about a zillion times a day.

    Whose laughing now, Mom?

    Funny post, Phil!

    • August 9, 2011 at 2:33 pm

      Well I’ll be… I’ve always held you in high regard, but with that song on your playlist, well, you just moved even higher. I had to smile at what you just said. The world was so much simpler and smaller in our minds back then. So you were a McCartney gal? I’ve yet to run across any woman who openly admits to being a Ringo fanatic. Poor guy. 🙂

      • August 10, 2011 at 5:51 pm

        I have to qualify my McCartney lust. I had an older sister who got “dibbs” on all boy band singers. She picked Paul from the Beatles and Davey Jones from the Monkey. My younger sister always chose the artsy, quiet guys, so she picked George and Peter Tork. I was left with John or Ringo (I picked John to adore in public but privately wanted Paul for my very own) and Mike Nesmith rather than Mickey Dolenz (talk about the lesser of two …). It was always Let’s Make a Deal in my family, with my older sister being Monty Hall who fixed the outcome every time.

        That was probably WAY too much information, but I feel so much better finally getting that spider web out of the family closet.

        By the way, I put you on my Blog Roll. Maybe you’ll get more traffic if more traffic is what you want to get…

        • August 10, 2011 at 7:09 pm

          First things first – thanks for adding me to your blogroll. That’s quite an honor. Goodness! I may actually be forced to write more frequently! I’ll add you to my blogroll too, although the only clicks you get from there will probably be from your readers, caught in an endless Worpress loop.

          I love how you described the family dynamic between sisters dividing up who you got to adore publicly. I wonder, do their real life significant others bear any resemblance to their teen age choices?

  3. Androgoth
    October 6, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    You’re right about that one my friend, I think that all teenagers think that we are still brushing down our Bear skins and sharpening our Club smacking routines, well the old radio is a bit of a Dinosaur I must say but it still packs a wicked tune, LIVE tunes too now how wicked is that, I mean Cool… lol

    Have a ghoulishly excellent Friday now
    and watch out for any of those low flying
    Terradactyls lol 🙂

    Androgoth

    • October 6, 2011 at 9:03 pm

      Mmmmm, Terradactyl Stew. Enough to feed the whole neighborhood. You enjoy your weekend too Androgoth – try not to cause too much mayhem in your parts. You’ll need to save some of that for Halloween.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

