Home > Movies, Music, Relax > Stormy Weather Whimsy

Stormy Weather Whimsy

Singing in the Rain

 

The past few days on the East Coast have been nothing short of a steam bath, with temperature in the 90’s and humidity at the saturation point.   Waves of rainstorms have done little to relieve the heat, but instead have managed to pump up the humidity even more, just when you thought it could not get any more humid.  It’s the kind of weather that makes most adults rush into the home for shelter, yet I couldn’t help but notice a couple of neighborhood children just having a ball in the middle of a torrential downpour, soaked to the bone, and laughing as they belly flopped in makeshift puddles the size of small ponds.

There is nothing like experiencing the world through children’s eyes to lift the mood.  We could all use a bit more whimsy in our lives.  So inspired, and with no real plan in mind, I thought I’d rustle up a few Youtube links in honor of this stormy weather just for fun and to lighten my own mood.

First up is Billie Holiday cooing her way through Stormy Weather.  I just love the way she phrases the lyrics musically.  (I know, I know, this was a Lena Horne standard…  sue me!)

 

Ah, now that you’re all relaxed, I thought I’d liven it up a bit with a song and dance number from the 1943 Classic of a movie titled (what else?) Stormy Weather.  This clip starts off with Cab Calloway and Orchestra singing Jumpin’ Jive, and early into the number introduces the Nicholas Brothers in what might arguably be one of the single best dance performances ever captured on film – all in a single take to boot!  The Stairway Jump Splits in the finale are breathtaking.  I know I would have lost my breath, as well as my manhood and consciousness, if I ever tried a stunt like that – OUCH!!!

 

I need to relax after watching that! Let’s keep with the theme and pick another from the Billie Holiday songbook as a way to wrap up this blog entry.  Here she is, Lady Day singing Stormy Blues.

 

Storming or not, I hope you enjoyed your day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. August 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I loved this post Phil 🙂 Great music choices, mixed with the soothing writing and the lovely black and white photo… well played my friend.

    • August 8, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      Jeanna, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I really need to remind myself to catch the world as it appears through the eyes of children – it always puts me in a much better mood, and hopefully keeps me from becoming an old curmudgeon.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. August 9, 2011 at 9:15 am

    That clip of Jumpin’ Jive got me jumpin’ and jivin’! Wonderful! There’s nothing like music to spirit us away from the our mundane lives and awaken something inside us us that needs a little shove. Even “Stormy Weather” transports the soul to some magic place–some place beyond my living room…

    Wonderful post to take us outside (or inside) of ourselves on a much-needed mini-vacation.

    • August 9, 2011 at 2:27 pm

      Lorna, I’m glad the post and clips affected you in the way you described. I tend to look at Random Thoughts as my personal oasis of refuge, retreat, relaxation, and renewal. Gee, I didn’t think of my blog as an excuse for a poor alliteration however. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. August 11, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    I wish some of that rain would head to Georgia. It’s scorching here.

    I actually like Billie better than Lena, so maybe we’ll both get sued.

    • August 11, 2011 at 10:37 pm

      I feel for you, totsymae. Up until last week, we were without rain for 45 days and had record highs to boot. My front lawn had the color and consistency of dried straw hay. So here’s hoping you’ll have a Rainy Night In Georgia, and not just the song. Delighted to hear you too like Billie Holiday. If we have too large a following though, we’ll need to be alert for those pesky class-action attorneys.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. August 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    ((((OOO, Billy Holiday! Such a gift. I love love love her!!!

    • August 17, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      You’re quite welcome MIC. So glad you enjoyed the clips. I love Billie Holiday too. She can sing sweetly in my ears any day of the week. Thanks for dropping by.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

