Home > Music > Mood Music for Hurricane Irene

Mood Music for Hurricane Irene

 

With Hurricane Irene bearing down on the coastline near where I live in the Mid Atlantic region, I thought I’d dig up some music apropos  of stormy, rainy, windy weather.  So far so good, no loss of power for us, but quite a few closer to the coast were not as lucky.  Irene is supposed to make her main pass about 2 am and then make her way up the coastline to give a bit of grief to New York and New England.

Here’s hoping you all are safe and dry.

 

 

 

 

And just because I LOVE classical music…

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. August 27, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Love’em all but am truly partial to the William Tell Overture ya know. Way to go Phil for sharing that with us!

    My best to you and your family.

    • August 28, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      Carol, we need to send some strong hunky guys to drag those branches off your rooftop! Glad you’re OK and not flooded.

  2. August 28, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Good picks, Phil!

    Do you remember the entire album “Wet” by Barbara Streisand? That’s what I’m thinking of. And “I Can’t Stop the Rain” by Kiss “Rain” by the Beatles and “Fire and Rain” by James Taylor

    • August 28, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      Yes I do remember that album. Good choices as well with your other selections. I’m sure we could possibly come up with several dozen songs appropriate for stormy weather, and since I blogged about stormy weather a few weeks back, I didn’t want to repeat any old standards as well. Did Irene have any impact in your area? We’re fine now that it’s over, but there are still quite a few here without power. I’m one of the lucky ones.

  3. Val
    August 30, 2011 at 9:57 am

    I always feel it’s tempting fate to play music with rain as its theme! But as I’ve tried playing ‘here comes the sun’ when it’s been cold and dull, the inverse doesn’t seem to happen… unfortunately! I hope you’re okay now where you live.

    By the way, you seem to have subscribed to my blog twice!

    • August 30, 2011 at 10:16 am

      Val, the WordPress subscription thing is acting up a little – I can’t see any posts for the blogs I follow, although I can see the blogs to which I am subscribed. I switched to get notifications of new entries since I cannot check from my dashboard until they fix the problem and perhaps that is the notification you received. If that is not the case and I’m subscribed twice, I’ll just have twice the fun…

      We are fine, all things considered. Lots of rain and lots of wind, but thankfully minimal damage although many are still without power. I’m fortunate that ours never went out.

      p.s. I just looked and saw I was subscribed twice, so I eliminated one subscription. When I then visited your blog and it showed as unsubscribed, so I checked back and saw you were totally eliminated. I then resubscribed. Gaaaaa!!!! I don’t want you thinking I’m crazy. Well, come to think of it, I AM crazy, but hopefully a classy crazy, not a stalker like kind of crazy. Sorry for any confusion I am causing you. 🙂

      • Val
        August 31, 2011 at 10:09 am

        Glad you and your family are okay.

        May I quote the parts of your comment that refer to the subbed twice and send it to support? I contacted support yesterday but haven’t heard from them yet and this would help.

        WordPress.com is being very very glitchy lately, I don’t know why. Maybe they’re upgrading again, wouldn’t surprise me.

        • August 31, 2011 at 10:16 am

          Val, by all means, feel free to pass along whatever information from me you wish to pass along to the tech support people at WordPress. I posted in their forum about this problem the day before yesterday, as did a few others. I now note that the particular thread is hidden, pending their review of the process. It strikes me as strange they would hide the thread, as more folks will likely start separate threads addressing the very same problem.

  4. August 30, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    All good music selections. Glad to know you made it through
    the storm. Not looking so good Upstate and above. We didn’t
    feel a drop of rain this way. Sure could use it right about now
    but hopefully comes too soon on those affected.

    • August 30, 2011 at 11:00 pm

      Thanks Totsymae. We’re getting back to normal here after a wild week of the earth shaking and the sky raging with wind and rain a few days later. I’m waiting for the next biblical plague to hit us – locusts?

      Sure hope you get some water relief where you are soon. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. August 30, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    –Phil,
    Love your Hurricane Irene selections….especially “The Doors.” So glad to hear most people are safe 🙂

    • August 30, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      Hi Kim. Glad you enjoyed the songs. They were thrown together in a pinch while online checking up on friends in the area as Irene pummeled the area. I figured I should hurry up and get something posted, because I had no idea of how long I might be without power. Some friends are still without power from Saturday night, but by and large, we are all OK.

      Thanks for stopping in.

  6. September 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    You made my hurricane more tolerable…..LOL
    Love the Doors…..

    • September 8, 2011 at 8:51 am

      Ya know, it now seems like Irene was a piece of cake compared to the torrential downpours that Lee is dumping on our area. I just a bunch of animals lined up two-by-two…

      Thanks as always for stopping by!

  7. September 5, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Phil! As always, I love the music picks!!! Hope your Labor Day weekend was good 🙂

    • September 8, 2011 at 8:54 am

      Jeanna, thanks for stopping by. My Labor Day was very fun! I disconnected from the world, leaving my Blackberry, Laptop, Digital Camera, and all other electronic devices at home. Nothing but a pen and an composition book. I’ll write about it as soon as we dry up some over here.

  1. August 27, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Tell me, what's on your mind?

