Home > Optical Illusions > Optical Illusion – An Oldie but Goodie

Optical Illusion – An Oldie but Goodie

September 17, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Does she spin clockwise or counterclockwise?

 

I know this one has made the rounds as optical illusions go, but just in case…

Take a look at the spinning woman.  Is she spinning clockwise or counterclockwise?  Are you sure?  Start to glance down and stare at the shadow she’s casting while spinning.  Focus there for a while and see if you notice that she changes direction.  It may take a while for some, but almost everyone who looks at this can see the change in direction.  If you look away after this and then look back, more often than not, the direction will have changed back.  What is peculiar about this is some initially see the woman spinning clockwise while others see a counterclockwise spin as the primary direction.

There are lots of theories about this, and I’m not going to ponder why.  I have no theories; I just think it is cool!  I love optical illusions.  If you do too, there are more to torment enjoy here:

More optical illusions

Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. Androgoth
    September 17, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Clockwise of course 🙂
    well i hope she is after
    I have said so? 🙂 lol

    Androgoth

    • September 17, 2011 at 9:50 pm

      Were you able to see her change direction, spinning counterclockwise afterward? This was always a fun illusion to me. Thanks for stopping by.

      • Androgoth
        October 4, 2011 at 4:34 pm

        Actually no I didn’t but I still like this optical illusion
        that you have offered here… I hope that you have
        had a nice day today my friend…

        Call into my Space sometime if you wish…

        Androgoth

        • October 5, 2011 at 11:19 am

          I will hop over there today. Try not to scare me too much…

  2. September 18, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I have oogled this graceful lady for so long that I now consider her my intimate friend and she had a restraining order out on me. She never once changed directions and only twirled in a clockwise rotation.

    You know what this means? I forgot to eat lunch, my checkbook will remain unbalanced for yet another day, and you blog is always fun! 😉

    • September 18, 2011 at 2:11 pm

      For me to get her to change direction, I need to look down and focus at the shadow at the bottom. Go ahead Lorna, give it a try and throw away another three or four hours. You really didn’t want to go food shopping and run other errands for the day anyway… 🙂

  3. jennygoth
    September 19, 2011 at 11:19 am

    she changed direction for me lol but then im always dizzy great entertaining blog xxjen

    • September 19, 2011 at 11:39 am

      Anything to keep everyone amused, or is it distracted? I forget which. 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed your visit!

  4. September 22, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    She started going clockwise. When I scrolled the page, she went counter. Each time I hit the scroll, she would move in the opposite of what she was before.

  5. September 22, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I’d never seen this before my the way. I don’t get out too much. 🙂

  6. September 22, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    by the way, I meant. Don’t know what my problem is. Oh, I lost my glasses and don’t wear the substitutes all that often.

    • September 23, 2011 at 12:34 am

      No worries Totsy. I’m glad you enjoyed the illusion. I’m a big fan of optical illusions and every now and then I get a hankering to blog about them. Thanks for stopping by – hope you had some fun.

  7. September 23, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    –Phil.
    Cool. She moved the same direction the entire time….What does that mean? X

    • September 24, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Hmmm. I’m guessing it means you didn’t waste er… spend enough time staring. Just kidding.

      Some folks cannot see the change in direction. Most can if they stare long enough at the bouncing and turning foot area and the shadow which is mirror image, eventually allowing you to see the change in direction. But like I said, not everyone can see that.

      I guess that makes you special. But we already knew that…

  8. jennygoth
    September 24, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    hi phil still staring at her lol going cross eyed or is that the wine ive had lol xxjen

    • September 24, 2011 at 8:56 pm

      Jen, if you see more than one spinning woman, then I’d say it’s the wine… 🙂

  9. jennygoth
    September 27, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    tell me about your wine making lol im fit and well again phil never to go through that again hmm have a great week xxjen

    • September 28, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      I’ll have to make Wine-making one of my blog entries one of these days. Preferably before I’ve indulged too much in er… sampled for quality control purposes my current stock. 🙂

      • Androgoth
        October 4, 2011 at 4:36 pm

        I used to make wine a long time ago, it is certainly a lot of fun, tell me have you tried nettle wine yet? Those things sting a bit
        but after being boiled in the pan they are quite harmless…

        Have a fun rest of evening now 🙂

        Androgoth

  10. Val
    September 29, 2011 at 11:20 am

    I looked at this on someone else’s blog for the first time in ages, recently, and as I said there, it’s a bit weird because when I first saw it I could see it going in both directions, and now I only see it going clockwise.

    • September 29, 2011 at 1:41 pm

      Val, I certainly cannot explain the effect. For me to see a reversal, I have to stare for a while at the spinning foot and the shadow that is cast, and then all of a sudden, the mirror image of the shadow seems to change and when I look up, voila, she’s changed direction.

      Based on the number of comments, I seem to be stealing away a lot of everyone’s valuable time. 🙂

  11. October 20, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I saw the change in direction after so many turns. You trickster … 🙂

  12. January 17, 2013 at 2:25 am

    Reblogged this on We All Have Insight©.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

