Home > birthday sentiments, Brother, Tribute > Happy Birthday Little Brother (2011)

Happy Birthday Little Brother (2011)

September 28, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Anthony watching my friend Jack and me doing big boy stuff like capturing ants.

 

Well little brother, just a quick note to let you know we were all thinking about you today.  I had a piece of cake at home, called mom and dad to chat a while, and looked through a few pictures of us when we were kids.  Jack sent me some pictures last year, and I thought you might like seeing one of us together on Jack’s front stoop.

Happy Birthday!

Your big brother,

Phil
***************************************

 

Written in 2009

Dear Anthony,

Another year has passed and here it is your birthday once again. Even though you are not here to celebrate it with us, I just wanted to let you know we were all thinking about you on this special day. Mama is doing fine, her heart is on the mend after some troubles earlier this summer. Pop is well too… Read More

via Random Thoughts

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. September 29, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Remembrance and tribute, your love for your brother shines like a beacon. Thank you so much for it…making me sniffle again.

  2. September 29, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Thank you Carol. No need for any tears or sniffles. We are by and large a happy family and while we use his birthday as a marker to reflect on those times he was with us, it’s all good.

  3. Val
    September 29, 2011 at 11:23 am

    I love that you are writing him a letter each year. I have done this sometimes to my mum who died over twenty years ago.

    • September 29, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      Thanks Val. There is something intangibly healing and restorative about writing, giving a voice to these kinds of thoughts, as I’m sure you are aware in doing the same with your mum. Were you close to her?

      • Val
        September 29, 2011 at 6:47 pm

        Yes, I was. Very.

  4. September 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Hi Phil,
    I’m so sorry you lost your brother, even so much sadder that he was only a child.
    I think it’s very special and beautiful that you write him letters and give tribute to him on his birthday.

    I’m glad to see you sign up for the Halloween Guestbook signing!
    I will be posting a list with the names and the links to all people who sign up for the event, and then the idea is to have each person participating visit each other person on the list on Halloween and leave a comment in their guestbook. Just a regular guestbook, many sites have them, but for those that don’t then people can leave their halloween greetings in a recent blog post. Please let me know if you have any other questions, i know for some this guestbook event thing is brand new, but for some of us we did it a couple times a year on msn live spaces, and kinda miss those good old days lol, thought we would try it here and just have fun with it and maybe make some new friends along the way….and look I already met you! 🙂
    Bye for now, Nikki

    • October 2, 2011 at 2:20 pm

      Thanks Nikki. I’ll have to think of a Halloween post if folks will be stopping by…

  5. October 2, 2011 at 11:52 am

    —- Tears are falling. I love the photo & memories & beauty of your sweet brother playing by the front steps…. What are they doing?

    Happy Birthday to Anthony.

    Love to you, my dear Phil. x

    • October 2, 2011 at 2:18 pm

      Thanks Kim. It’s all good, we reflect at his birthday each and every year, and it helps us keep those memories alive. My little brother is on the stoop looking at me on the left along with my friend Jack, who sent me this picture, as we are catching bugs – you know, big boy stuff. Anthony was such a tag-along, but I didn’t mind.

  6. October 4, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Hi Phil,
    I just love these photos you’ve posted, Anthony looked like the sweetest little boy…
    I hope your week is off to a great beginning.

    • October 4, 2011 at 8:13 am

      Doing great Nikki. Thanks for stopping by and asking.

  7. October 5, 2011 at 5:22 am

    Phil, I’m not surprised that you would write to your brother on his birthday. I was surprised when I read the earlier post that he died so young. Remembering, honoring is memory, as you are doing is such a beautiful act of humanity.

    In every family that experiences such a significant death, there seems to be one person who remembers and honors–the others find a way to move away from the death, thus from the soul that was part of the family. I’m the “rememberer” in my family. Some call me sentimental (in addition to being highly sensitive), but I feel strongly about not letting my father vanish. He was here, a part of my family, and I choose to honor that every year.

    I love that you honor his birthday and not his death day (like I did for too many years for my father). I’ve quietly celebrated his birthday for the past three years. It feels so much more positive.

    I’m glad you have memories of Anthony, pictures of that sweet boy, and that you shared these deeply personal things with us. You also shared something deeply personal about you. You are a man who is generous in heart and soul.

    With all my heart and soul,

    Lorna

    • October 5, 2011 at 11:33 am

      Wow, that was quite a comment. All I can say is thank you for all those kind words.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

