Home > Nature > Weekly Photo Challenge – Or Is It Weakly Photo Challenged?

Weekly Photo Challenge – Or Is It Weakly Photo Challenged?

 

This morning I was reading a blog I frequently visit, Lorna’s Voice, and noticed a post of hers titled “The Day is Done, Sunset Challenge“, which is inspired from a blog she frequents, A Lighter Shade of Grey, which contains a post titled “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset“, which is in response to a weekly WordPress challenge on Fridays for Photos, all of which means I spend way too much time on the computer during my morning coffee break at work.  But I digress…

It seems the purpose of the photo challenge is to post a picture of a sunset and perhaps write something about it.

I love sunsets.  They are strikingly beautiful, and they are free.  Free and beautiful, what’s not to like?  The most extraordinary thing about sunsets, is their ability to be beautiful anywhere in the world.  Sure there are spectacular shots of the sun waning on the horizon in tropical paradises, pristine waters, glacier-topped mountains, and other exotic locations.  Yet a sunset has the ability to beautify even the most mundane place in the world.  Witness the above picture, taken around sunset a few weeks ago just outside my office where I work each and every day.  Nature and the heavens have a way of smiling down on the entire planet with no bias in latitude and longitude.

All you have to do is make an effort to notice.  Eureka!  There is a point to all this.  As we rush around to the hectic pace of our everyday lives, try to become more aware of all the beauty in your everyday world lying just beneath that conscious, distracted mind.  Pay attention!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. October 6, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Yes, we should pay attention daily. All too often we don’t which gives sad commentary about the rest of us.

    Thank you so much for the reminder.

    • October 6, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      You are quite welcome Carol, but I would not be excluding me when you say the rest of us. I’m as guilty as the next person when it comes to being distracted. The reminder is there to serve notice to me as well as the next person.

  2. October 6, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    People travel the world looking for thrilling sites, and you’re so right–all you have to do is pay attention to what’s right around you. There’s beauty everywhere, if only you open your eyes and look for beauty.

    That is a gorgeous photo, Phil. I much prefer sunsets to sunrises…

    • October 6, 2011 at 5:43 pm

      Thank you Lorna. It was interesting that as I was searching my photos for just the right sunset that it occurred to me they were all gorgeous, and that was the inspiration that caused me to write the remainder of the post.

  3. October 7, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Hi Phil,
    Sunsets really are so beautiful, the different color ranges you might see are amazing, I dont know what conditions are needed to produce the different colors of one sunset or the next, but each one is gorgeous.
    Hope you have a great weekend.
    Nikki x

    • October 7, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      I particularly like the ones that paint the clouds a bright crimson-lavender color. But you are right – each is uniquely gorgeous.

  4. jennygoth
    October 7, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    hope you have a great sunset this weekend xxjen

  5. October 9, 2011 at 10:38 am

    —Phil,
    When I observe something this magical & spectacular, I think to myself: “God Indeed Exsists!” xx

    • October 10, 2011 at 9:50 am

      There really is a force far greater and more vast than we can imagine. All we can do is marvel at it.

  6. jennygoth
    October 10, 2011 at 9:46 am

    hi phil no sun rise here this morning but hopefully a sunset this evening now its stopped raining hope you have a great week xxjen

    • October 10, 2011 at 9:50 am

      Here’s hoping you get a little sunshine in your day before it is all over.

  7. October 10, 2011 at 9:57 am

    Phil I love reading your random thoughts and the sunset picture is stunning. 🙂
    It’s also nice to know that I am not the only person reading wordpress from my work computer… cough cough 😉

    • October 10, 2011 at 10:09 am

      LOL! I get the sense that there may be a few more folks in addition to you and me…

  8. jennygoth
    October 10, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    soul soup phil its sort of lusty tasteing lol a bit like sunsets can be watery or filled with warmth just like you lol xxjen

  9. Androgoth
    October 10, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    You are right Phil there are a lot of wonderful
    scenes missed, we must be walking around with
    our eyes shut… There is a lot of beautiful sights
    in the graveyards too you know? 🙂 lol

    Well those Ghouls
    always have fun anyway 🙂 lol

    Androgoth

    • October 10, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      The problem with ghouls and spirits is they don’t photograph well… But the same thought applies to the graveyard – pay attention! LOL.

  10. October 11, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    Just beautiful. I like the premise of a photo challenge. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    • October 12, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      Thank you Victoria. I did this on a whim, yet found it to be so much fun.

  11. October 11, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    (Drumming my fingers on the table and folding my arms) Look, I’m real delighted you’re into the sunset thing and all. I love a good rising and the sun dipping low too but when are you getting something new posted on this here blog, mon ami? 🙂

    • October 12, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      I’m trying! This pesky work thing seems to keep getting in the way. I need to get me some of that financial independence. Any ideas?

      • October 12, 2011 at 7:27 pm

        Well, don’t call it pesky, actually. So people would love to have access to a job and you are fortunate. As for financial
        independence, I’m currently sitting on the floor of the airport in Seoul, Korea, charging my battery to this laptop and trying to figure that out. An 11-hour layover will do that for you, so
        when I know, I got your back. 🙂

        • October 12, 2011 at 8:45 pm

          Safe travels to you Totsy! Hopefully by the time you get back, I will have written another little blog entry. If not, you can kick me in the backside…

  12. October 12, 2011 at 4:03 am

    Exquisitely beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    I have a couple dozen sunset shots on my computer. I love sunsets.

    There was one night I walked out on my back deck and it looked like I walked into a fiery hell. It was actually kind of spooky.

    “As we rush around to the hectic pace of our everyday lives, try to become more aware of all the beauty in your everyday world lying just beneath that conscious, distracted mind. Pay attention!”

    I go to the U of Chicago periodically for doctor’s appointments. Today was the first time in fall when the leaves were changing colors. I forgot to bring my digital camera, but I was able to take a few photos on my cell phone. My favorite shot was of the ivy on the gothic buildings that was changing to crimson red. I’ll have to post pictures soon.

    • October 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      I just saw those pictures. Beautiful. I love the fall colors, and I especially love college campus environments – they just energize me whenever I set foot on one.

  13. Androgoth
    October 12, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    I am just calling by for another look at this one Phil

    Do have a great rest of day
    and an excellent evening also 🙂

    Androgoth

  14. jennygoth
    October 12, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    when is the next blog due phil its killing my feet walking over here lol xxjen

  15. October 12, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Hey now everyone! It’s my birthday and I haven’t finished celebrating! I didn’t realize folks would be so dependent on my randomness. I never thought anything I mused about was interesting.

    All right, what in the world shall I write about? Give me a few moments and I’ll see what I can come up with – after a little more celebration…

    Thanks everyone – you folks are the best!

  16. October 13, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Lovely shot!

    Sunsets and sunrises are the balm to my soul – and just about the only TV I watch these days!

    • October 18, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Thank you ladyfi. I too rather enjoy the live performance of nature over the virtual ones, even though we try so hard to capture them on film (or I suppose now on pixels).

  17. October 19, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    I love sunsets myself, they make me feel like life has tranquility again every time I see them, can’t wait to hit the beach again to see the best one’s. I guess my wait will be long since winter is approaching, I live on the east coast so I don’t have the privilege to the best sunsets all year around.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

