Home > Meditation, Reflection > Disconnecting and Reconnecting

Disconnecting and Reconnecting

I.

No work papers

No personal mail

No laptop

No e-mail

No phone

No text messages

No television

No newspapers

No radio

No clock

No alarm

No signal to any device

No light in the wee hours of morn

No contact with the human world

No connection to things that oft govern my day

No shoes on my feet as I enter the solitary beach before the dawn

No plan in mind

No thoughts

No expectations

Nothing.  Nothing at all

Nothing and yet…

II.

The senses awaken, one by one

The sound of the ocean as waves crash ashore

Violent and powerful, yet rhythmically relaxing

Reach my ears in a haunting, familiar, and primal sound

Soothing, as I drop ever slowly into restful relaxation

Breathing in step to the cadence of those tidal sounds

I can smell the salt air from the sea water’s presence

The mist from the surf hitting hard on the rocks

Floats into the air, gently tickling my skin

The sand at my feet at first coarse now gets finer

And wetter, yet firmer as I near waters edge

As the water rolls over my feet it feels cool

As it rolls out to sea, wet sand envelopes my feet

I can feel a light breeze in my face from the water

Cool and quite chilly, blowing my hair all about

I can see the waning moon in the easternmost sky

Cast its eerie glow over the rippling seas,

A dappled line in the water points uniquely to me

The sky changes hue as the sun nears the edge

All at once it is bright as it peeks over water

Completely transforming the night into day

In the water ahead playful dolphins diving for food

On the sand in the distance, gulls hopping about

Other birds soar above as they chirp with delight

So I sit on the sand as I am warmed by the sun

Enjoying the performance around me, brought exclusively here

And while I had thought I unplugged from it all

It occurred to me now that the less that I brought

Left me open to receive all the world had to give

Reconnected in ways I had never imagined

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. October 18, 2011 at 9:32 am

    This is stunningly beautiful.

    So glad you shared your wonderful experience.

    • October 19, 2011 at 2:04 pm

      Thank you Casey. Sometimes just unplugging and letting go to see where the ride will take you is an unexpected pleasure.

  2. October 18, 2011 at 9:36 am

    You are such a talented writer.

    • October 19, 2011 at 2:20 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed it Sher. I’m not so sure about talented. Unabashed and naive sounds more like it, but I appreciate your kind words nonetheless. Congrats on your TV appearance!

      Folks, if you don’t know, Sher’s one funny lady who appears on HGTV’s Endless Yard Sale episode that aired October 16. She’s the one carrying the stuffed pheasant called Ricky…

      Link Here

  3. October 18, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    I’m so happy for you–for all that you didn’t have (in the first part of this poem) and for all that you did have (in the second part).

    That must have been some wonder-filled vacation. You described it all so well that I could feel the world that we all live in everyday melt away and I could feel that ocean kissing my own toes.

    Thanks for my own min-vacation while reading your sense-ational post! 🙂

    • October 19, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      Thanks Lorna. The getaway was brief, and we had a lot of family to catch up with over a short period of time. As we were packing, I was amazed at all the electronics we were going to bring along with us. Laptops, files, MP3 players, Tablets, Cell Phone, you name it, we had it. So after a comment to my wife, we left all but her one Cell Phone for the drive, in case of an emergency. All other electronics were left home. I’m glad we made that decision now.

  4. Androgoth
    October 18, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    It is always nice to reflect upon those treasured moments my friend, yes we have all the technology that we could ever think of, but the peace that is experienced without all the background noise and those never-ending distractions is truly bliss…

    I am pleased that you have enjoyed your seaside break and that you chose to add a posting about the tranquillity that you welcomed…

    Be very well my friend 🙂

    Androgoth

    • October 19, 2011 at 2:30 pm

      I truly did enjoy the tranquility and isolation. But I must also admit it was fun to peek back in and catch up with everyone who visits here. Thank you for your comments.

      • Androgoth
        October 20, 2011 at 5:31 pm

        You are very welcome Phil and I will be back to read a lot more of your postings my friend 🙂 Have a great rest of day 🙂

        Androgoth

  5. October 19, 2011 at 3:36 am

    At the beach again, I see…(standing at your front door and awaiting your return home, with pink curlers in my hair and a front tooth missing).

    Well, I won’t be too hard on ya since you were up to your eyeballs in work and all. Sounds like it was a much needed time away. Soaking in nature…It gets no better than that. I can hear the sounds of the waters and feel the sands between my toes all the way from here, in your descriptive.

    Great writing there, Dr. Phil.

    • October 19, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      Thanks Totsy! If I knew you were going to get all dolled up, I could have taken you along with me to the beach, although you might have needed a nice bathing suit to round out the look…

      So glad you’re back in the States. How’s that jet lag thing coming along? I’m looking forward to some more of your own writing.

      • October 19, 2011 at 3:53 pm

        Today has been the best day for being alert beyond 3 am. I think I’m back in the swing now.

  6. October 19, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    ***On the sand in the distance, gulls hopping about

    Other birds soar above as they chirp with delight***

    YOU are a delight, Phil :))) x

    • October 20, 2011 at 9:55 am

      Are you trying to make a grown man blush? Thanks Kim. I’m prone to impulsive whims at times, and I never quite know where it will lead.

  7. October 19, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    Ah- wonderfully put! We all need to disconnect in order to connect with ourselves… Beautiful writing.

    • October 20, 2011 at 9:57 am

      Thank you ladyfi. It should be a simple lesson, but I need to keep reminding myself time and time again to just unplug from it all every once in a while. So very refreshing.

  8. October 20, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Love the simplicity of the first part and the sensual delights of the second. We do need to experience real life to its potential.

    • October 20, 2011 at 10:03 am

      Thank you very much! And thanks for stopping by. It seems as though several years ago it occurred to me there is a finite number of days left on this earth, and we should really be trying to make each and every one count for something; all you need to do is awaken to everything around you to start off the process. This was no magical beach, it was merely a stretch of shore where I grew up as a child, and paid it a visit while visiting family on holiday. It would have been entirely missed had I simply decided to sleep in and just visit family. So many missed opportunities of the little joys in life all around us.

  9. October 20, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    What a blessing. The idea of a real retreat is “delicious.”

    • October 21, 2011 at 9:16 am

      Delicious – I love that word. It was indeed delicious, and certainly worthy of a more frequent taste. Thank you Victoria.

  10. jennygoth
    October 21, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    i can relate to this no mobile no pc no contact just you and your thoughts the tranquil peace loved his blog reminds me of walking along the sea shore in whitby xxjen

  11. jennygoth
    October 21, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    and maybe phil if i could type better you would understand my ramblings lol

    • October 22, 2011 at 11:42 am

      No worries jen, I totally understood what you were saying. 🙂 I tend to be a rambler as well, and sometimes wince when I re-read a comment I’ve made that I cannot edit after posting.

  12. Gede Prama
    December 1, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    Amazing, Thank you for writing which is quite good and best wishes always, and greetings

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

