Home > Fun, Nature, Writing > Fantastically Frivolous Fun

Fantastically Frivolous Fun

***********************************************
I was casually reading through some blogs I frequently visit when I came across a Monday Morning Writing Prompt on Victoria’s blog, challenging all comers to write something with alliterations. I love alliterations, though the temptation to overuse them can quickly turn a fun piece of writing into something cheesy.  Ha!  I am the master of cheesy. So, without further ado, I present to you my submission both illustrated and alliterated…
************************************************

 

Fall – filled with foliage freely flaunting a flamboyant final farewell,

Furtively forecasting a frosty future from fronts fast approaching.

Fragile and frail, flora once full-bloomed and fragrant, fades flimsily.

 

Feathered fowl in formation flying in from afar.

 

Freely floating and flapping, friskily foraging for food.

 

Fine furry friends finding first-rate refreshment  so fulfilling and favorable.

 

Fortunately for fellow followers, Phil’s fall frolic is finished.  A fond heart-felt farewell for my friends following faithfully.

Fondly,

Phil

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. October 24, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    lol, that was awesome! I loved it!

    • October 25, 2011 at 9:53 am

      Thanks Teri, I had fun trying my hand at it, and I suppose amusing myself can’t be such a bad thing.

  2. October 24, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Fascinating flight of fancy finely finished with finesse, Phil.

    • October 25, 2011 at 9:56 am

      So sweet! (Smiling) 🙂

  3. October 25, 2011 at 12:27 am

    beautiful, nature is wonderful…… thank you for sharing……. 🙂

    • October 25, 2011 at 9:57 am

      You’re welcome!

  4. October 25, 2011 at 5:41 am

    I enjoyed this so much. Loved the alliteration and the wonderful images too.

    • October 25, 2011 at 9:59 am

      Thank you! A few of the shots were from Sunday, and the others were from previous visits to a favorite sanctuary so close to my home. I’ve been taking photos of that lake for over 10 years and never tire of it.

  5. October 25, 2011 at 6:54 am

    That’s an awful lot of F-words for a g-rated blog, Phil. I don’t know anymore F-words so I’m not even going to try. You did alliteration and the beautiful pictures divine justice. Bravo!

    • October 25, 2011 at 10:01 am

      It occurs to me that there could be a few F-words that spring to mind should anyone leave me a disagreeable comment… But I thank you for your kind words. It was fun. Brilliant, not so much, but fun nonetheless.

  6. October 25, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Limber, lyrical, and lovely!

    • October 25, 2011 at 10:04 am

      Why, thank you Carol. Oftentimes these writing prompts make me feel like I’m in school again and have an assignment due. For some reason, this one just caught my attention and I was able to run with it. Of course, our beloved Ravens made it a lot easier for me to focus on anything but the doggone game! LOL.

  7. October 25, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Ffffffun and ffffabulous fotos.

    • October 26, 2011 at 9:06 am

      Thanks vivinfrance! Although the spelling is Ffffffuny – is that Ffffrench?

  8. October 25, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Fun, fullfilling, fanciful fall frolic, Fhil. Fantastic fotos. Thanks for sharing the fun. But I can’t give you an F on this one!

    • October 26, 2011 at 9:01 am

      For real! Thanks for the inspiration allowing me to be frivolous and silly, and for not giving me a failing grade…

  9. October 25, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Kinda like a really long tongue-twister lol, love it Phil, very cool post and awesome photos.
    Hope you’re having a great day. Big hug, Nikki

    • October 26, 2011 at 9:02 am

      Thanks Nikki. Almost Halloween!

  10. October 26, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Great Geese. Gorgeous greenery gets gargantuan goosebumps gathering gallumping gloriously gullet-wise. Gracias, Jules

    • October 26, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Goodness gracious! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll need to re-think when I’ll release a draft I’ve been working on titled “Betty Boop Bannings – Bah!” in view of the fact we are all talking so oddly around this place…

  11. Androgoth
    October 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    This one is definitely Full of Sh… Shweetly Fine photographs,
    indeed I have certainly enjoyed looking at them, and it makes
    a change from all those Werewolves and Vampires that are a
    constant threat on my own Space 🙂 Sooo a welcomed change
    for me my good friend, and I thank you for sharing them 🙂

    Androgoth

    • October 26, 2011 at 9:19 pm

      Surely!!! 🙂

      • Androgoth
        October 27, 2011 at 9:10 pm

        Yes and here is your Halloween Gift Phil 🙂
        http://andro51.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/phil.jpg?w=291&h=500
        I hope that you like it my wicked friend? 🙂

        Androgoth

        • October 27, 2011 at 11:33 pm

          A treat with some tricks – what’s not to like? Well, I’d hang around and chat some more, but I need to avoid getting smacked by my wife for staring a bit too long at that nice little treat… 🙂

          I need to get working on my Halloween post pronto!

  12. October 27, 2011 at 9:29 am

    —Fabulously Fantastically Fanciful.

    Xxx Kiss.

    • October 27, 2011 at 2:05 pm

      How sweet of you! Thank you Kim.

  13. October 27, 2011 at 11:31 am

    I found you through Beautiful Kim – Inner Chick, what FUN!

    Fa shizzle – Fur rizzle!!

    Thanks,

    KraZy KeLly

    • October 27, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      Kool!!

  14. October 27, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Hello Phil.
    This is a little Halloween greeting from me, as part of Nikki’s Halloween Guestbook Event.
    It’s nearly here…. are you ready?

    Tom 🙂

    • October 27, 2011 at 5:38 pm

      Hmmm, trick or treat? Happy Halloween? Yes, those will work as alliterations…

      Not quite ready for it yet Tom. I’ll probably have something by Saturday though. Thanks for stopping by. See you later in the week…

  15. October 27, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    That is amazing!
    I’m also here from Nikki’s Halloween Guestbook to wish you a Happy Halloween!

    Deb xx

    • October 27, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      Thanks for the greetings Deb. I need to get my Halloween post up quickly. Looks like everyone’s out and about from Nikki’s place. 🙂

  16. October 28, 2011 at 4:44 am

    I am coming soon to put a spell on you see ya Halloween night

    • October 28, 2011 at 7:47 am

      Trick or treat? I wonder what fate awaits me with that spell. Thanks for peeking in early Tricia. I’ll see you on Halloween too…

  17. October 28, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Hey Phil,

    I’m here from Nikki’s for the Halloween Guestbook signing and to wish you a very spooky Halloween.

    Miss D

    • October 28, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Thank you Miss D. I’ll be visiting your place later this weekend. And it seems to me I best get that Halloween post I’ve been working up and running…

  18. October 28, 2011 at 11:52 am

    ♌HAPPY HALLOWEEN ♌
    Via Nikki’s Halloween Guestbook event..
    Hi there Phil, my broomstick brought me, (via many misdirected routes, broomstick sat-nav never works. (thump!!) 😉 ) to drop off this Halloween gif, and thus enable me to wish you a Happy All Hallows Eve, (on the due date of course) … and it also enabled me to view the fantastic, flora, fauna and feathered fowl foto’s (allowed?) above.. 😉 xPenx (aka LadyP)

    • October 28, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      Thank you for the fly-by and for dropping in (hope that thump didn’t hurt), LadyP. I’ll be sure to stop by your place before Halloween. I’d come by broomstick, but I still have a learner’s permit and am restricted to safe air-space.

  19. October 28, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Hi Phil,
    Hope you have a wonderful evening.

    Twas Friday three nights before All Hallows Eve
    And Nikki has all sorts of tricks up her sleeve
    We’ll start with a movie all scary and gore
    But don’t get too frightened to open your door
    There’ll be goblins and witches and ghosties galore
    “Happy Haunting to all” i’ll be back soon with more!

    Big hugs, Nikki

    • October 29, 2011 at 12:42 am

      Thanks Nikki. I just loaded up the Halloween post using some of your graphics. I’ve lots of visiting and spooking to do this weekend…

  20. October 29, 2011 at 1:36 am

    Happy Halloween…. from Nikkis halloween gust book singing…..

    Ed

    • October 29, 2011 at 8:30 am

      Thank you Ed. I’ll be stopping by and seeing you before Halloween!

  21. Val
    October 30, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Great idea, this, Phil – accompanying brilliant images with brilliant alliteration! 🙂
    If you’re into this stuff, have a look at my ‘wordages’ category, particularly the earlier ones. 🙂

    • October 31, 2011 at 6:47 am

      Thanks Val. I remember casually glancing at a few of your earlier posts when I first stumbled upon your blog, but I’ll go pay a visit now and look at them categorized. I appreciate the suggestion. And… welcome back!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

