Home > Shameless Self Promotion > Ha! I’m Nearly Famous!

Ha! I’m Nearly Famous!

So glad I changed into new underwear this morning. Gee, I hope my fly is zipped...

 

What a crazy week it has been.  Imagine my luck while stumbling around WordPress the other day, lurking about in a favorite blog of mine, Lorna’s Voice, just minding my own business, reading and commenting pretty much like I do any other day of the week, when all of a sudden I set off all kinds of alarm bells, wild lights, and confetti dropping from the ceiling.  Apparently, my stumble happened to be the 20,000th hit on Lorna’s website, so out comes Lorna with camera crew in tow, looking to interview me as a famous celeb in the making.  I now appreciate my mamma’s sage advice of never leaving the house without clean underwear – thank goodness!  Click below to see how Lorna manages to do the impossible – make me look good under the media glare, and do it in her unique and illustrative style.

Lorna writes:

I bet your thinking I’m one sizzling hot Dizzy Blonde who gets around. Get your mind out of the place minds go when suggestive titles are used to shamelessly allure readers to a blog post.

Now that I’ve got your attention … Read More

via Lorna’s Voice

 

I sure hope by linking my blog entry to hers, and hers referring back to mine, that I don’t get my readers caught in some kind of whirling reciprocal vortex of an infinite loop of WordPress hell.  If I did, please accept my apologies in advance and, well, save a spot for me down there…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. Androgoth
    November 8, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Yes I saw your name up in lights and what a large profile picture too, you are indeed famous Phil and why not, it is not every day that you click onto the 20k now is it? 🙂 Besides Lorna has a most incredible blog and if she is to receive more traffic because of your link then more the merrier…

    I think that she is a very nice person Phil 🙂 How do you mean, what about me? Well I think that you are a nice person too, jusy don’t get too near to those Vamy Nymphs next time you visit my Space as they just adore biting celebrities necks, amongst other things 🙂 lol

    Have a wicked one now and keep smiling you are in the spotlight 🙂 lol

    Androgoth

    • November 9, 2011 at 12:09 am

      Andro, if it’s all the same with you, I get a little squeamish around blood, so I’ll keep my distance when around those Vampy Nymphs. I just wish they weren’t so damned sexy with that come hither look in their eyes. Must resist the temptation. Must resist…

      • Androgoth
        November 10, 2011 at 8:07 pm

        Phil you cannot resist the hypnotic gaze of a sexy and most deliciously curvy nymph, it is just not possible and so pull back
        your collar and be prepared to enjoy the wickedness of those
        wenches from hell… Of course you might be able to avoid the
        walk of the dead if you offer them some Cadbury’s Milk Tray,
        well it always works in those adverts so you have nothing to
        lose but your life 🙂 lol Good luck with that one Phil, you will be
        needing all the luck that you can lay your hands on 🙂

        Have a nice Friday, and hopefully without any fear of the Sun 🙂

        Androgoth

        Androgoth

        • Androgoth
          November 10, 2011 at 8:08 pm

          I think that there was an echo there phil 🙂
          Sorry about that…

          Androgoth

  2. November 8, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    If others are caught in a dizzying whirlwind of links, I can empathize with them, being such a dizzy blogger myself.

    Nice post. I hope you’ve been reading the comments I got from your interview. They’re very flattering. You may need to enlarge your Avatar, my dear friend! 😉

    • November 9, 2011 at 12:14 am

      Yes I agree, they are quite flattering indeed. I may very well need a larger avatar now that I’m a legend in my own mind…

  3. November 8, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    20,000th, is it? Not discriminate then I take it. Lorna, that is.

    Do not fear, Phil. You are a pawn and I have left Lorna a message challenging her to a duel in the Bois de Bologne. At dawn. And if you don’t lend me the money to pay for the cardboard coffin I have already ordered for her I shall exhibit her like Snowwhite (minus the seven dwarfs though we may raid passing Eastern European Circus) to raise the money. Desperate times ask for desperate measures. And whilst Lorna might have one over me by being first, do remember what the philosopher said, or maybe it was the Bible: “The First will be the last and the last will be the first.” Never got my brain round that one since neither the first or the last appear that appealing. But then you, Phil, are No 20,000 today. Who knows what tomorrow brings.. Should Lorna need help with taking stock at the end do please recommend me: I have an eye for detail and I can count. Till 20,000. After which I will take you off the shelf and take you home.

    U

    • November 9, 2011 at 12:26 am

      What a week! Not only am I someone’s 20,000th, I’m also a pawn whose honor will be defended by a duel of two women. Ursula, I’m pretty sure that is a first. Well, unless you include participants on Jerry Springer and Maury Povich, although there’s not a lot of honor involved there. I might add with all this talk about first and last, in matters of a duel, it is far better to come in first than in second place.

      I can’t believe how much attention is being lavished on me. This fame stuff is quite intoxicating.

  4. November 8, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    See Phil, good things happen to good people. 20,000th hit, when that happens to me, I think I’ll faint. LOL!

    Phil, you deserve all good things. ❤

    And when you hit mine at 20K, I think it'll be time again for more special balsamic vinegar and olive oil, but until then…you get smooches!

    • November 9, 2011 at 12:28 am

      Yeah, you’ve got us hooked on both the Balsamic and the Olive Oil. Both were outstanding! Carol, I’m glad you swung by and peeked in. I hope your NaNoWriMo is coming along. Can’t wait to see what you put out.

  5. November 8, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    You are famous. But no one would know if you didn’t have on clean undies or nothing. My have a bad sense of smell, so I couldn’t rat you out. Darn!

    Nice interview over there on Lorna’s site. You’ve made an impact in the blogging world. (Now throwing you on the shoulders of the blogging community to sing, For He’s a Jolly Good Fellow)

    • November 9, 2011 at 12:39 am

      Thanks for the hoist. The view is quite interesting from up here. Being famous is hard work. I think I want to return to normal.

  6. November 8, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    I go away for a week and i come back to see you’ve become famous!
    20,000? wow that’s quite a number!
    Big hugs, Nikki x

    • November 9, 2011 at 12:40 am

      Yeah, well Lorna’s quite a blogger. Welcome back Nikki.

  7. Val
    November 9, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Well done Mr Random-Phil. 🙂 You deserve the accolade… you’re funny, witty, make me giggle, make me think (and actually get my synapses working which is no mean feat). Not only is your blog a pleasure to read but so are your comments. 🙂

    • November 9, 2011 at 9:43 pm

      Val, thank you for all the kind compliments. I’m not used to all this attention. I never dreamed my playground would be so popular. The comments are my favorite part. I love chatting with everyone – remember, I’m not the shy one…

  8. November 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Congrats, Phil! I do an interview on every 1000th comment and it’s getting close!

    • November 9, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      Thanks Victoria. I’ll have to be careful not to trip the alarm bell a second time in a month. But I’ll be there to have my hand at a few of those challenging writing prompts.

  9. November 9, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Ha! Ha! Impressive blog reading! Congratulations!

    And thanks for hooking me up with the whirling vortex. 🙂

    • November 9, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks Emily. I tried to book the Whirling Dervishes but they were busy, so I guess the next best thing was a Whirling Vortex. Hope you don’t get carried away…

  10. November 9, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    Congrats on your 15 minutes of near-fame! And thanks for the laugh.

    • November 10, 2011 at 9:11 am

      Thanks! I’ve been trying to stretch this fame and adulation thing out beyond the 15 minutes. Gosh, I sure hope I can fade into anonymity gracefully now that it’s over. I wouldn’t want to show up on some Blog entry titled, “What Ever Happened to…”

  11. November 10, 2011 at 9:03 am

    –Congrats, Phil.

    You. R. Awesome. Xx

    • November 10, 2011 at 9:12 am

      No where near as awesome as you are, Kim. Not even close. But thanks.

  12. jennygoth
    November 11, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    i think your avators wicked lol a bigger ones just being greedy enjoy your fame phil il have to check my hits thank god i got that right hmm have a fun weekend xxjen

    • November 11, 2011 at 11:04 pm

      Ha! Have a fun weekend too Jen. Try not to tie up Andro for too long… 🙂

  13. November 11, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Finally, I’m mingling with famous people. Btw, I can’t find a sign up button on your famous blog 😦

    • November 11, 2011 at 11:10 pm

      I normally click the “Follow” button located at the top of the WordPress Blog Frame. I think you can then manage the subscription if you wish to be alerted by e-mail or not. I’m not a tech guru for sure. I also think you can subscribe using the RSS feed button on the upper right.

      Worst case, you can always wait for me to post a snarky comment on your blog and then follow it back here…

      Thank you for stopping by!

  14. November 12, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Luck or fate? You are famous now 🙂 Can I get your autograph?

    • November 13, 2011 at 11:48 pm

      Where would you like me to sign??? 😉

      Yeesh! I’m starting to act like a famous celeb too. Won’t be long before I wind up broken and in rehab…

      • November 14, 2011 at 12:14 am

        Well … my B.A.D. Club is looking for some dudes with some clout … 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

