Home > Holiday, Music > Be Back Soon – Part # … (I forget)

Be Back Soon – Part # … (I forget)

November 23, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

This time of the year is always hectic for me under the most normal of circumstances.  Take a combination of my normal workload in the field of Finance, combine it with my favorite hobby/avocation of coaching High School basketball, add in the Winter Holidays of Thanksgiving and Christmas looming ahead, and voila!  Overload.  I’ve been out of town on unplanned business matters the past week and have just returned from my travels (memo to self: do NOT travel ever again on Thanksgiving week!) to an office piled high with paperwork needing my attention; all before I return to my home and my wife, both in high need of some lots of attention before dozens of guests show up for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow.  Crazy week for sure!

So dear followers… if you’ve missed me, I apologize for the inconvenience; it isn’t because I don’t love you all.  I’m just a little crammed for time.  I’ll catch up with my reading and comments after I resurface from the food coma that is Thanksgiving dinner in our home.  I’ve much catching up to do!  Meantime, I hope you all don’t mind if I take five from my WordPress duties…

 

Dave Brubeck Quartet – Take Five

 

Wishing all my American friends a most Happy Thanksgiving Holiday, and all my other friends a splendid Thursday.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. November 23, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Whew, I thought you joined the “Occupy Wall Street” Movement or something. I knew you weren’t boycotting my blog in particular, because: 1. you find me too irresistible and 2. I haven’t seen you comment on the blogs I know we both follow.

    You’re lucky you posted this “What’s been going on” notice, because I just got two awards and I was seriously thinking about tapping you on the shoulder by giving you both awards–just to make sure you are alive and kicking. But since I know you are, I’ll leave you alone. You dodged a major bullet, my friend! 😉

    • November 29, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Thank you Lorna, for both your concern, and more importantly, your leaving me untouched with yet another one of those award presentations! 🙂

      • November 30, 2011 at 10:36 am

        Phil. Take a deep breath. Okay. You’re getting a “Reader’s Appreciation Award” from me BUT you don’t have to do anything with it–it says so in the rules. It’s the best kind of award to receive. Don’t hate me because you love my blog…

  2. November 23, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Don’t mind? Of course, I mind. What do you think? Your devoted readers being left on the breadline whilst you gorging yourself on your wife’s lovingly prepared turkey – using excuses that you had to make money to keep everyone in gravy? I ask you.

    Should you need to mop up any excess try camomile tea: It’s my remedy of choice. You might sniff at it but it does the job. Trust me – I am not a doctor.

    Phil, with you and your wife in the squeezing of a lemon (no, that’s Easter),
    Happy Thanksgiving indeed,

    Ursula

    PS I don’t like pecan pie – too sweet

    PPS I object to you loving ALL of us. It’s too indiscriminate. Being the sacrificial lamb I am I offer myself as top dog

    • November 29, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Ursula, I too am not a fan of pecan pie. Since moving to my area from further north many years ago, I was introduced to many a sweet treat that the Southerners living my area are prone to eat and drink. If you think pecan pie is sweet, you should try what is known in the South of the States as Sweet Tea. I think it is capable of putting someone into a sugar induced coma within minutes. There’s sweet, and then there’s Southern!

      Hope Totsy doesn’t call me out on this…

  3. November 23, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    We understand if you can’t come out to play. Enjoy your family. Don’t want you in the dog house or nothing. 🙂

    • November 29, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Totsy, I’ve been in the doghouse so many times, that I’ve got my own engraved nameplate to hang there…

  4. November 24, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Life does tend to get busy in November and December.

    Enjoy.

    • November 29, 2011 at 12:08 pm

      Thank you ladyfi. I did enjoy Thanksgiving holiday, despite the chaos. In fact, I rather enjoyed the chaos.

  5. November 24, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving Phil. It’s good your back home in time for your holiday. Hope you enjoy a wonderful time. Big hug, Nikki

    • November 29, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      Thank you Nikki. I appreciate the sentiments, and of course the hug. 🙂

  6. November 29, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    We’re here when you re-surface from your coma 🙂

    • November 29, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      The coma is over. Now I just need to get caught up with that pesky work… Sneaking here for a quick comment or two though. 😉

  7. November 30, 2011 at 9:16 am

    The same for me, I was away for a few days with friends and family and I cant get back to my normal routine, aka writing.

  8. Androgoth
    December 4, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    This posting reminds me of that film called ‘Planes, Trains and Automobiles’ as they are trying to make their way home for Thanksgiving and getting into all kinds of mishaps 🙂 I hope yours weren’t anything like theirs though and if you haven’t seen that film yet then I definitely recommend it 🙂 You will soon kniow what I mean when you see it 🙂 lol

    Have a great rest of afternoon and a superb evening Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

