Home > Thank You > Thank You Totsy Mae!

Thank You Totsy Mae!

About a month ago I was reading through a blog I regularly visit, Totsy Mae  and I participated in a little gift-giving contest fun she planned to do over the course of a few blog entries that would follow.  The original article is here: Six Word Saturday: Tis the Season to be Giving. It was all in good fun. I never expected to win anything, but surprisingly, her son drew my name out of a hat and I wound up one of her winners.  Yay me!

Totsy had several winners with specific prizes.  My prize was a portrait:

 

Totsy, you did a terrific job!  It occurs to me that I am officially a full-fledged, self-centered narcissist now that I have my own portrait!  With more than two dozen people following this blog, I will soon rule the Internets!  Bwahahahahahaha!!!

OK, all fantasies aside, let me tell you a little bit more about Totsy.  Her blog is fun and amusing.  She writes with a raw and direct style that pulls no punches, yet somehow manages to slip in that Southern sweetness that tames the initial kick from her drink of words.  Her artwork is incredibly good!  All her blog entries have a nice sample or two, and occasionally she treats us to more of her artwork sitting in her paint room.  There is an amazing assortment of styles in various mediums that they are all created on.  I will come back and edit this post to provide links to where you can find more of Totsy Mae’s art offerings, but for now I wanted to make sure I got my note of thanks out there to Totsy right away.

Totsy Mae, thank you so very much for your generosity and for this very special personalized gift that was created from your hands.  I’m truly grateful to know someone like you!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. December 7, 2011 at 3:53 am

    Naturally, I first read “terrible” likeness, rather than “terrific” likeness. No, not because my mind works like that but because my vision blurred.

    Yes, I too like Totsy. Very much so: Both her wacky writing and her terrific(!) portraits, the colours she uses. For some reason I imagine her to have a big bosom that she’d clasp me to should she ever lay hands on me. Totsy, whatever you do, please please please do not disillusion me by telling me that both you and a storm easily fit into an A-cup.

    Well, Phil. What a looker you are. Totsy most certainly got those lovely warm eyes of yours right.

    U

    • December 7, 2011 at 8:30 am

      Ample bosom, aye? Oh yeah, I’m so sufficient up yonder, I need somebody to lean me forward. I should’ve been one of those “working girls”. 🙂

    • December 8, 2011 at 8:40 am

      Ursula, thank you for the compliments, although I’m struggling with how to respond now to everyone without appearing overly vain and self-centered. This post has created its own special torment. Oh, and I probably ought to avoid any discussions of Totsy’s bosoms in the interest of my own sex life with my wife, for I’d have lots of explaining to do to a woman with crossed arms, feet tapping, and a rather cross expression on her face…

  2. December 7, 2011 at 7:35 am

    I’m honored to have painted such a cool and handsome guy (wink, wink). That you’re pleased with the portrait is great and I appreciate this special mention on your blog.

    By the way, I know you’re not a narcissist. It was a simply one of those few times that you did something for yourself. Now that you’ve been immortalized, who knows, you may end up ruling the internet after all. I’m behind you all the way.(Shaking my pom poms in the air) Go, Phil!!

    • December 8, 2011 at 8:44 am

      Totsy, the portrait is such a unique gift. So very special. I really do appreciate it and your kinds words. So I am thinking, now that I’m so famous and about ready to rule the Internets, should I have a statue commissioned? 🙂

      • December 11, 2011 at 1:37 pm

        Yes and put it in the yard of the White House so everybody can ask, ‘Who’s that guy?’ 🙂

  3. December 7, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Phil! You look wonderful and you couldn’t possibly be a narcissist simply because of your innate caring and compassion for all those around you.

    Love the blog ❤

    • December 8, 2011 at 8:49 am

      Carol, thank you. I happen to know a rather caring and compassionate person, far exceeding my own abilities… 😉

  4. December 7, 2011 at 9:48 am

    How awesome!!! New Gravatar maybe?

    • December 8, 2011 at 8:50 am

      Now that’s an interesting idea! Although I’ve grown rather fond of my irreverent Bill the Cat.

  5. December 7, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Wonderful portrait! This is a tribute to both the model and the artist. Could things get any better? Now, when I put that picture up of Paul Newman as my vision of you, was I that far off, ladies and gentlemen? Anyone doubting my psychic abilities can apologize now. Just think it. I’ll know… 😉

    Really, this is superb and illustrates the generous souls of two special people: Totsy and Phil.

    • December 8, 2011 at 8:57 am

      Thank you Lorna. Your comparisons of me to Paul Newman are making a grown man blush. Even if they aren’t true… 😛

      Gosh, any more of this ego stroking and I’ll have to get a bigger “I Love Me!” wall from which to hang all these compliments.

      Totsy really is a generous soul.

  6. December 7, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Totsy is amazing, talented and creative. Congratulations to you … the artwork is awesome.

    • December 8, 2011 at 8:58 am

      Lafemme, I totally agree with you about Totsy. What an amazing talent.

  7. Androgoth
    December 8, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Congratulations on your winning entry, and… Well for one thing it is very nice to have a glimpse of the real you, well a portrait view is good enough for me Phil and thank you for offering it…

    Have a wicked one Phil and get ready for Santa 🙂

    Androgoth

  8. Androgoth
    December 11, 2011 at 5:54 am

    Have a great start to your week Phil
    and don’t forget to put your Christmas
    stocking on the wall or Santa won’t
    be filling it for you 🙂 lol

    Have a fine day today 🙂

    Androgoth

    • December 15, 2011 at 11:47 pm

      Thank you Androgoth. I need to add a new posting, because seeing myself stare back at me is rather unnerving…

      I’ve been out of town on lots of travel, so I’ll need to catch up a bit on all my reading and your antics. Take care my wicked friend.

  9. jennygoth
    December 12, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    handsome portrait phil and a lovely pressie have a delightful xmas xxjen

    • December 15, 2011 at 11:48 pm

      Hiya Jen. I do hope you have a delightfully naughty and somewhat nice holiday too. Happy Christmas!

  10. December 14, 2011 at 8:52 am

    WOWW! I love it Phil. You do look like Paul Newman 🙂

    Tots, You are SO very Gifted.

    Xxx Kisses for both of you today….

    • December 15, 2011 at 11:50 pm

      Kim, I don’t know about this Paul Newman stuff, but I’m grateful that Totsy softened up my look and made me presentable. She is very gifted indeed.

  11. December 16, 2011 at 2:57 am

    How cool!! So that’s you! I had no idea what you looked like but now seeing the portrait it seems a perfect fit for who I thought you were..if that makes sense?
    Well your friend is very talented and you Phil are a very handsome man.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    • December 21, 2011 at 8:19 am

      Totsy Mae is indeed very talented, Nikki. That she could make me look good is a talent in and of itself…

      I wonder, what kind of image did you have prior to seeing this?

  12. December 20, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Glad to see you…..! And glad I found my way to your blog. Looks like you’ve created a good one and have a great community of followers too. Count me in.

    • December 21, 2011 at 8:21 am

      Welcome! I have no idea how I managed to assemble such a following, but I’m glad to know each and everyone that swings by and brightens my day. Glad you’ll be around.

      Now I feel all this pressure to actually write something… 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

