Home > Holiday Sentiments > I’m Back!

I’m Back!

December 16, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

Er… um… well… sort of anyway.

I’ll be brief.  I’ve been out of town the past several weeks on some pressing business matters. I am exhausted, the paperwork is sky high in my office, my social calendar is completely filled with holiday parties, and my wife and I are hosting one next week as well.  She has been diligently working all by herself to prepare for our holiday dinner party without my help, since I was out of town.  There are Christmas lights that need to be strung outdoors, a home to prepare, errands to run, menus to plan, and a number of other things I need to do to ensure I stay out of the dog-house with my wife, not to mention that awful pile of paperwork awaiting me in the office.  In other words, I’ll be rather busy and rather scarce around these parts the next few weeks.

I did however feel the need to update my blog.  I was feeling rather self-conscious of that portrait of me on the screen from the last post staring back whenever I came here.  Since I don’t have much time to write, I thought I’d put everyone in the holiday mood with (you should know me by now) something musical that is just a little bit off the beaten path.  I hope you enjoy it.

 

 

To all my friends and followers, I truly wish you all the very best this festive holiday season.  Peace.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. December 16, 2011 at 2:48 am

    Wow you have a very full schedual!! I thought I was busy these days but I feel like a slacker compared to what you’re up to lol.
    I will be back in plenty of time to give my christmas and new year wishes…promise.
    and you come back here soon too, maybe somewhere between the tree lights and the holiday dinner? Have a wonderful wonderful holiday season dear Phil.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    • December 20, 2011 at 8:53 am

      Thanks Nikki. I cannot remember a holiday around here that hasn’t had an element of chaos. You get used to it I suppose. Just in case I don’t get here beforehand, have a Merry Christmas and a Happy Holiday season.

  2. December 16, 2011 at 6:23 am

    Make sure you take time to breathe, relax and just enjoy!

    • December 20, 2011 at 8:54 am

      Chaos seems to be a part of the Holiday festivities. I will enjoy it though. All the best to you and yours this Holiday season Ladyfi.

  3. maturestudenthanginginthere
    December 16, 2011 at 7:26 am

    Wow, you ARE busy, busy, busy. Welcome back and thank you for the beautiful music and festive wishes. Same back to you!

    • December 20, 2011 at 8:55 am

      Thank you Jacqueline. Happy Christmas to you!

  4. December 16, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Merry Christmas, my friend!

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:01 am

      Sher, so nice of you to stop by. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

      Folks, Sher just got her first book published! You can find it here:

      Wiping the Crazy Off My Face

      Congratulations Sher.

  5. Joni
    December 16, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Merry Christmas Phil and welcome back! 🙂

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:02 am

      Thank you Joni. I’m still trying to get caught up, but it’s a little like shoveling sand against the tide…

      Merry Christmas to you and your family. Send some of that nice warm weather our way – OK???

  6. Androgoth
    December 16, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    It is always nice to see you back here phil,
    just don’t be getting too bogged down with
    all that paperwork or you won’t be able to
    enjoy your Christmas Nymph’s, I mean the
    Christmas treats 🙂 Anyway if I don’t see a
    second posting, you just have a very Merry
    Christmas and a great start to the New Year
    also, and don’t forget to be wicked too 🙂 😉
    I always am 🙂

    Androgoth

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:06 am

      Christmas Nymphs, as in more than one? At my age, I might be in need of prescription drugs to be able to handle that kind of Christmas treat. In fact I might need other prescriptions to revive me afterward… 😀

      Happy Christmas to you, my wicked and naughty friend.

  7. Red
    December 16, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Glad to see you today. I hope you have enough time to get your home chores done. Hate for your wife to make you sleep outside in the cold! Have a joyous Noel.
    Red.

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:08 am

      Thanks Red. After 31 years of marriage, I’ve got an official nameplate, fully engraved with my name on the dog-house. But so far, I’ve managed to do my part to help out in this incredibly active week.

      Merry Christmas to you and yours, Red!

  8. December 16, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    –Phil,
    What will you and your wife be making for your holiday dinner?

    I want details 🙂

    What parties are you invited to? Office parties? Do you drink martinis?

    Xx Have fun, Dear.

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Every night is a Holiday party this week. One is our office party, a few others are office parties of major clients, and we are having some neighbors over later this week as well one night. Christmas Eve will be with extended family and their significant others. Lots of seafood on Christmas Eve – you know us Italians. My father cooks the scallops and shrimp, my wife cooks the pasta with clams and mussels, and I’m responsible for cooking the shrimp scampi, and making a calamari cold salad. Mamma does all the baking, so we’ll have delightful pastries, cheesecakes, and tiramisu.

      I love martinis, and also love cosmos. But mostly, there will be lots of wine – I make it with my father, and we drink not only prior years’ vintages, but we crack open a few bottles of the new stuff just made this fall.

      Nothing beats being around the family for the holiday.

      Wishing you and yours a blessed Holiday season Kim.

  9. December 17, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Oh, who are you kidding? You’ve been living the high life of a jet-setting wheeler and dealer. You’re like Maryland’s version of a financially savvy James Bond (without the violence but with oodles of charm and your signature “blirting”). 😉

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Maryland’s version of James Bond? Why yes, except for maybe the great looks, incredible savvy, oodles of money, and the jet-setting part. But otherwise, just like him…

      Happy Holidays Lorna. May the New Year bring you continued success and a wealth of happiness in your life!

  10. December 18, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Well, you’re out filling up on your bag of fun stuff. Are you helping to cook? Nevermind. You’re the guy who thinks he’s hot on the grill. 🙂

    Have a jolly holiday!

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:25 am

      I’m actually pretty handy with a saute pan as well. I’m in charge of the Shrimp Scampi and Fettuccine. Although I do love to grill. It’s a guy thing – love the idea of fire!

      I will have a jolly holiday Totsy. Wishing you a terrific and joyful holiday as well.

  11. Androgoth
    December 19, 2011 at 8:09 am

    You have a great Christmas Phil and enjoy every minute of it, now
    for your christmas box, well this will either get me deleted from your
    Space or enrol me into a life long membership of the jelly club? 😉

    Have a wicked one my good friend 🙂

    Androgoth

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:31 am

      Oh my! Er… um… oh! This reminds me: If I wind up in the dog-house, I should make sure I have wireless… 😉

      Happy Christmas my wicked friend. 😀

      • Androgoth
        December 20, 2011 at 8:38 pm

        And a very Happy Christmas to you too
        my fine and truly distinguished friend Phil 🙂

        I do hope that you
        are not in the Dog House 😦

        Androgoth

        • December 21, 2011 at 8:15 am

          I was only kidding about the dog-house comment. Your links and pictures are rather distracting, and if I spent too much time drooling over them instead of helping around with the holiday parties, I would most certainly be in the dog-house. Of course if there was wireless there… 😉

  12. December 20, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Hope all the hustle and bustle and festivities make for a very Merry Christmas! If not, then you’ll have a few ideas for some New Years Resolutions!
    Happy Holidays from The Red House!

    • December 21, 2011 at 8:17 am

      Thank you Margie. It’s a bit crazy around here right now, but I rather like the chaos, so no worries. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you!

  13. jennygoth
    December 22, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    chill have a lovely xmas xxjen

  14. December 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Merry Christmas to you Phil!!
    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas, all the best to you and yours this beautiful holiday season.


    Big hugs, Nikki

  15. December 24, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Hi Phil,

    Stopping by to wish you a happy holidays season and a very Merry Christmas. Looks like your week have been busy as mine. Take care and have a great weekend also.


    Love, Peace, Happiness
    Bev

  16. Androgoth
    December 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I hope that your Christmas was a very enjoyable one
    Phil and that the New Year 2012 will be even better my
    wickedly fine great friend 🙂 Happy Holidays 🙂

    Androgoth

  17. December 28, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Have a Happy New Year and here’s to more time for getting things done and for having more fun in 2012 …

  18. December 29, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Hello Phil, I nominated you for the 7 X 7 Link award, check it out… 🙂
    http://allaboutlemon.com/2011/12/29/seven-x-seven-link-award/
    Happy New Year!
    xoxo
    Dolly

  19. Androgoth
    December 31, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Happy New Year 2012 Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

  20. January 1, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Happy New Year Phil!!

    All the best to you for 2012.
    Big hugs, Nikki

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

