Home > Travel ideas > If You Were Me…

If You Were Me…

I have returned from a most restful and peaceful holiday getaway.  Of course, the irony is not lost with my previous post, which proclaimed “I’m back!”, whereupon I then immediately proceeded to disappear from it all.  While I certainly needed and enjoyed a semi-comatose uneventful existence in a tropical setting, it was refreshing only in a way a good nap or night’s sleep may be.  Naps and sleep are necessary, but now I’m awake, refreshed, and full of energy, looking to do something that will stimulate my incessant curiosity.  There are places to go, people to meet, things to discover.  And that, my dear readers, is where you have an opportunity to stimulate me.  (I can only imagine what the google search engines will do to direct spam my way with that last sentence)

So… if you were me, what kind of things would you plan to do in this very young, new year so full of hope and promise?  Where would you go?  What would you see?  What would you want to do or accomplish?  And most importantly – Why?

I’ll leave it to you dear readers (that is if I have any left after my prompt disappearance) to give me some interesting vacation and touristy ideas to ponder and stimulate my imagination.  Who knows, I might wind up with a few holiday getaways I could never have imagined myself, and that’s what seems so delicious about it all.

I thank you all in advance for your thoughts – random ones of course…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. January 7, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Look at you. Coming back all rested up and prolific and whatnot…(Folding my arms and rolling my neck). I just want you to know, I am not a virtual revolving door for you to walk in and out of. It’s either me or real life on vacations with the family and all…

    On the other note, glad you enjoyed your time away, which, if you’re a coffee drinker, is like a boost of caffeine.

    Welcome back, Dr. Phil or Frank SInatra. 🙂

    • January 8, 2012 at 10:09 am

      You sure are a demanding one Totsy! Actually, I kinda like it when you’re all bossy and whatnot.

      I’m afraid that I am neither a good Dr. Phil (haven’t mastered the art of Southern styled metaphors in my lexicon) and Frank Sinatra (love the voice, but mine’s rather plain and ordinary). Oh, and that Paul Newman thing – you sure know how to charm a guy, though I’ll have to remember not to pass by any mirrors.

      And now, if you don’t mind, I’m gonna pour me another cup of coffee.

  2. January 7, 2012 at 10:04 am

    No, it was Paul Newman, not Frank. Or can you sing?

  3. Joni
    January 7, 2012 at 10:06 am

    If I were you, Phil, I would journey to the magical land of San Antonio, Texas. I would see the Riverwalk, the Alamo, possibly Sea World and one of my biggest fans. I would want to accomplish nothing more than experiencing some good friendship and conversation OH and maybe educating some poor helpless family on wine etiquette and possibly cook for them. Why? Just because it would be fun.

    • January 8, 2012 at 10:14 am

      San Antonio and the word magical – is that a first. You may be able to coin that slogan. A nice stint in San Antonio might be a delightful though though. So… do you have a good supply of Solo Cups and Ice for that wine? 😀

  4. January 7, 2012 at 10:12 am

    Go to Germany, but find an American family stationed there to see the sites with.
    Skydive. You know you must.
    Stay in an underwater hotel. Not because you really want to, but because I really want to and I will live vicariously through you. 🙂

    • January 8, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Germany is definitely on a must do list. The skydive thing, oh my – not so much, although you just never know with me. So where exactly would I find an underwater hotel?

  5. January 7, 2012 at 10:43 am

    It’s that special spark you have that keeps you filled with wonder. Ya need to bottle some of that! I know you’ll figure out all on your own where and what you want to explore next. We can’t wait to find out.

    • January 8, 2012 at 10:20 am

      I’m not sure I can bottle up that stuff, but I intend to bottle up some of the wine, and should make it a point to swing over to the Eastern Shore and swap some of it for that delicious cooking of yours.

  6. maturestudenthanginginthere
    January 7, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Spend all, if not part of your days doing something that make you smile. As for travel visit Florence – it’s wonderful. But hey wherever you go and whatever you do have fun. Life is too short as they say. 😉

    • January 8, 2012 at 10:23 am

      Good advice, both on the smile part as well as visiting Florence. What a beautiful city! I’ve been there before, but would definitely like to return again. Grazie signora!

  7. January 9, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Since you appear to like seafood, Phil: The world is your oyster. And wonderful. By which I mean “full of wonder”. I am in love with so many places, most of which I am unlikely to ever see, explore in detail, I wouldn’t know where to start recommending one in particular (other than my address). However, I can tell you places (a much shorter list) I have no interest in whatsoever. Not because they are not interesting but because I am not interested in them. Fine difference.

    Reminds me of some (English) friends of mine who knew nothing, and I mean nothing, of Europe. Never set a foot onto Europe’s mainland. Never. Instead any opportunity they got they’d be off to the Cayman Islands and some such. The further the better. Their (in my opinion) limited outlook on our cultural heritage, indeed their lack of curiosity about what’s at our doorstep, severely tested my friendship with them. Needless to say they eventually emigrated to Australia. Lost touch now.

    Travel, the fodder of dreams. Though did point out to one of the Angel’s friends who appears to be on the run from his parents and himself that even when in transit there is baggage we can’t leave behind. Which will follow us like a shadow. Bright and shiny, dark and dank. Our very own self.

    Good to have you back, back, Phil. Let’s hope you stay that way. Back.

    Not being backward in coming forward sending you greetings not so much from my armchair as my vast sofa. And should you ever find yourself somewhere in Europe (such a small continent) let me know. I am only a short flight away. Not that I wouldn’t fly round the globe for you.

    U

    • January 11, 2012 at 12:57 pm

      It is unimaginable to me to think folks in England might not ever have set foot on mainland Europe. I live in a Country that is the size of a Continent, but Europe offers so many different (strikingly different) experiences with regard to culture, traditions, and history, when compared to the US. Europe has been beckoning and I do have a desire to see it again. Soon I hope. Perhaps I’ll be consulting you about some must-see or must-do places along my itinerary.

  8. January 9, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Welcome back, Phil! And you’re already thinking about your next get-away? That had ME curious.

    Ever go to Montreal? I know this guy, Phil, who knows his way around that great city… 😉

    • January 11, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      It does sound a bit odd that I’m already looking forward to another get-away. I guess I’m just a constant dreamer careful planner when it comes to these things. 😉

      I’ve never been to Montreal. What a good idea! Thanks!

  9. January 9, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    –Hello, Phil,
    Welcome Back, dear.
    I can feel your energy & excitement all the way to Minnesota!
    Have you been to London yet?
    This is one of my fave cities….overflowing with cuture, history, great food from all over the world, & of course, LOTS of Beautiful Brits ( Which I Love )
    It’s like a melting pot of everything one desires.
    I could just see you now walking in Trafalgar Square with your Paul Newman looks and your Groovy scarf wrapped around your neck flowing in the London Breeze…..

    Xx

    • January 11, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      My daughter is considering the possibility of getting a grad degree at the London School of Economics, so a visit to London is most certainly in order. Lots to do and see there for sure.

      Groovy scarf? I’m not sure I’m ready to have that picture plastered on the Daily Mail with a caption reading: Aren’t Americans the Dorkiest Lot? 😀

  10. Androgoth
    January 9, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Perhaps a vacation into one of my horror poems
    would give you a wicked insight into how the mind
    of the Skeleton or Ghoulish Phantom might enjoy
    a bit of this, that and… Well not the other as they
    are just bored as a stiff on most of their holidays,
    and not stiff as a board as some peeps often say,
    anyway there is this Naughty Nymph that hangs
    around the Graveyard of an evening and she is a
    bit of a wicked type if you catch my drift? 🙂 One of
    those creepy but awesomely good looking ladies
    that are just itching to scare the hell out of a guy 🙂
    well if you ever fancy a change to the norm then
    that could be your holiday of a lifetime, well either
    that or a quickie with a Zombie in a trance, but it
    is not recommended as they eat people you know?

    Have a great start to your new year of 2012 and do
    have lots of funtastic moments exploring the realms
    of wickedness… Have lots of those scares now 🙂 lol

    No Skeletons or Zombies
    were harmed in this comment…

    Androgoth

    • January 11, 2012 at 10:25 am

      No, Androgoth, I am sure no Skeletons or Zombies were harmed by your comment: I was.

      Don’t lead Phil astray. Look at that sweet little boy at the top of his post: Good enough to eat, don’t you agree?

      U

      • January 11, 2012 at 1:07 pm

        But Ursula, being naughty is so much fun! Besides, I can’t go around looking like a sweet little boy all my life now, can I?

      • Androgoth
        January 11, 2012 at 4:44 pm

        I am sure that Phil can
        handle himself in the dark 😉

        Have a wicked one u…

        Androgoth

    • January 11, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      I’m guessing the life expectancy in your gothic world is rather short. Unparalleled in excitement, delight, naughtiness, and fright, but rather short. Eh, it is certainly tempting – no? 😀

      • Androgoth
        January 11, 2012 at 4:46 pm

        Yes Phil there are some dangers involved
        but that is the adventure don’t you think? 🙂
        Welcome back to blogland and I hope that
        you find time to visit some of the wonderful
        locations offered within these comments 🙂

        Even the trip to see ‘U’
        sounds too good to miss 🙂

        Androgoth

  11. beverlydiehl
    January 11, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    There’s generally an “around town” feature in most newspapers, even the online versions, for “stuff” around the neighborhood. I used to try to do/see/participate in at least one thing per month I’d never done before. Now I’m not so rigid as far as HAVING to do it once per month, but I’ve taken the bus downtown to see a mermaid-themed art exhibit. Gone to see the Tuba Christmas concert. Walked in various gardens and museums and historical sites. Gone to the park and fed the ducks stale bread. Gotten a tattoo. Taken a 700+ mile solo road trip. Visited the Grand Canyon. Gone to a Civil War re-enactment. Went to a dinner theater murder mystery. Poetry readings. Little League games. Lots more new experiences I can’t wait to try on for size.

    • January 13, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      I very much agree with your approach to all things local. It’s rather amazing how much there is to discover right in your backyard, as long as you make an effort to get out and do something. Thanks for reminding me to do things like that.

  12. January 12, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    I can sum it up in three words: Italy Italy Italy.

    works for me.

    • January 13, 2012 at 12:53 pm

      Cara Mia,

      Si! Si! Si!

      Grazie.

  13. Red
    January 15, 2012 at 10:01 am

    I just got back from a whirlwind tour which included Atlanta and Memphis (with a strange detour through South Carolina…read the post. It is easier.). I can guarantee I will be doing it again soon, which does nothing to dispel the masochistic rumors about me.

    Glad you are back. And yes, it is odd you are already looking for an escape, but truly understandable. After my vacations, I always need a week off to recover 😉
    Red.

    • January 17, 2012 at 8:49 am

      Thanks Red. I’m still trying to get my footing. This time of the year is crazy busy for us Finance folks, and it does eat into my play time here on WordPress. I’m guessing I’ll be a bit more scarce the next few months, but I’ll manage to stop by and make a snarky comment or two whenever I get a chance. Thanks for swinging by!

  14. January 15, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    I would love to visit Lala Land where there are no malfunctions of the universe … or I’d like to go to Sweden …

    • January 17, 2012 at 8:50 am

      Sweden! Now there’s a place I’ve never been. Great idea!

  15. jennygoth
    January 16, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    visit whitby town of the goths steeped in history and excitement dark narrow cobbled streets harbour full of charactor and seagull just waiting to leave theire mark lol xxjen

    • January 17, 2012 at 8:51 am

      How far from London is Whitby? It sounds fascinating – except for maybe that pesky seagull…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

