Home > Nature > Ground Hog Day 2012

Ground Hog Day 2012

Cloudy - promising for Ground Hogs afraid of their shadow

 

Well, no sunshine and no shadow for that furry critter that forecasts the severity of winters.  It was quite warm today 60 degrees (15 degrees C for my Fahrenheit-challenged friends across the pond).  The cherry blossoms are confused enough to think Spring is already here.  Let’s hope they are not wrong.

 

 

What do you think?  Ready for Spring?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. February 3, 2012 at 4:59 am

    Lovely photographs Phil. It’s nice to see the cherry blossom – my vote is ‘yes’ we’re all ready for Spring to be sprung!

    • February 4, 2012 at 8:49 am

      Those poor cherry blossoms are not likely to survive this weekend’s weather of snow and sleet rolling in. The were nice to see though in this most unusually warm month. I’m ready for Spring as well.

  2. Red
    February 3, 2012 at 5:53 am

    I think the sleepy rat was just protesting leap year and SOPA.
    Red.

    • February 4, 2012 at 8:53 am

      I’m thinking that once he emerged from his hole, an onslaught of all political candidates swooped in and tried to persuade him for his vote this fall, and tried to get a photo-op with the varmint. They scared the crap out of the poor creature, and he scurried back into his hole, and disconnected his phone to avoid the onslaught of robo-calls. Can’t blame him.

  3. February 3, 2012 at 10:41 am

    So, you’re a photographer? Nice work. I’m ready for spring. Love hearing the birds coming back this way from Florida. 🙂 But oh, how spring flares up the allergens. But I’ll take it any day.

    • February 4, 2012 at 8:58 am

      Thanks Totsy. I can’t draw a lick, so I need a camera to capture what I see. Thank goodness for the technology. It makes me look like a much better photographer than I otherwise would be. If the blossoms open up now and then fall off with the next cold snap, you won’t have to deal with much of an allergy problem come real Spring. There won’t be nearly as many blossoms and pollen.

  4. February 3, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Beautiful shots, Phil. Are you going to enter Dark Globe’s contest? Hope so!

    Cherry blossoms in February? This is one wacky winter! Up here is cold and windy. But tomorrow it might be just chilly and windy. Barely any snow. So odd. I have heard Spring birds singing, so we have some confused winged critters up here.

    I just hope the heat isn’t too oppressive this summer. I’m much better with the cold than I am with the heat.

    I have a feeling that along about the end of March (maybe middle of March) we’ll see some major wet, heavy snow. Mother Nature seems snarky these days.

    • February 4, 2012 at 9:03 am

      Lorna, I will try to enter Dark Globe’s contest if I can find some time to squeeze in some photos worth entering. I’ve never seen the Cherry Blossoms open up this early before. The folks in DC and the Tidal basin are in full panic mode now, as the Cherry Blossom festival in the first week of April is in jeopardy. Looks like we might get some snow this weekend, and that will be the end of the blossoms.

      You lived down here for some time. I don’t have to tell you how awful hot and humid it can get. Like you, I prefer the cold over hot, but really love our spring and fall weather the best around here. That is, if you can stand the allergies.

  5. February 3, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Ready for spring? Looks like you are. So am I.

    Here winter is a non event. Nondescript. Bland. I used to love winter. But then we had snow. Proper. All winter long. And sun. With a bit of luck here at the South Coast we will have one day of snow in February. which will throw these isles into chaos. Every year. Come hail or high water.The country grinding to a halt. How they managed the Blitz I do not know. Makes me and all the Polish around here smile. Whilst the British groan (we are not talking snow meters high, we are talking a bit of sludge) those of Middle/Eastern European extraction will reminisce about that which we miss: A time when snowmen where real snowmen. Two meters high. With a carrot nose to match. Two pieces of coal for eyes. Three for buttons down his front. A scarf. A hat. Have you ever watched “The Snowman”, story by Raymond Briggs, with music to die for? I do so every December. You’ll know at which point there will be tears welling up in me. Yes. And then … come February little snowdrops pushing their dainty heads through the still cold soil. Must be my mother’s birthday soon.

    U

    • February 4, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Ursula, I too grew up in a colder climate than where I find myself now. And I had to chuckle at the panic that sets in around here whenever we get snow forecasts. It’s almost like Armageddon whenever any significant precipitation is called for. They cancel anything and everything, save for maybe the political campaigns. Those are beneficial as they are a good source of hot air.

      It has been several years since I’ve built a good snowman. As we have no coal lying around the house, we improvised with Oreo Cookies. The birds and squirrels loved the sweet delights as eyes and buttons on said jacket. The carrot, not so much. So even our wild animals seem to have a sweet tooth (well, maybe sweet beak might be more accurate for our feathered friends).

  6. February 4, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Our zoo, lacking a ground hog pulled out a hedgehog to check for shadows. This week of winter in Oregon is great. No rain. Looks like spring is coming early to you.

    • February 4, 2012 at 9:12 am

      Go figure, the one day you might want a little rain and you don’t get any – in a rainier part of the Country. I’m guessing you don’t deal with a lot of snow unless you’re up in some high altitudes. As for us here out east, I’m pretty sure Mother Nature is just toying with us, getting us all excited before thumping us with a nice doozy of a snowstorm.

  7. February 4, 2012 at 1:48 am

    Lovely spring blossoms!

    Over here we’re covered in snow and ice. It’s minus 20 C this morning, so yeah – I’m ready for spring!

    • February 4, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Yikes! I’ll take whatever warm weather comes our way in the months of January and February. I don’t mind a little bit of cold weather here and there, as long as it’s not an oppressive extended spell. In the meantime, stay warm.

  8. February 4, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Lovely Pink Blossoms, Phil!

    Yes. Spring. Has. Sprung.
    don’t you think?

    Hoping you are well, Dear. Xx

    • February 5, 2012 at 8:24 am

      No sooner has Spring sprung, than we get a wintry mix with snowfall last night. I’m glad I caught those blossoms before they met their fate. After dealing with a nasty extended cold virus and bronchitis, I’m glad to say that I’m feeling terrific now – thanks for asking Kim. Hope all is well out your way too.

  9. Androgoth
    February 4, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Unfortunately here in the Uk we are having a bit of a cold snap and it is already snowing like crazy, even the Zombies are clutching on to things in fear of them snapping off as it were:( lol Those pink blossoms look rather nice don’t they Phil?

    I am not sure about Spring but before this snow arrived the flowers were blooming here too… Never mind it will soon be the Summer and plenty of opportunities for fun and frolics 🙂

    Have a great rest of weekend my fine friend 🙂

    Androgoth

    • February 5, 2012 at 8:29 am

      Yes, I hear that Europe in general is having a good taste of a Siberian styled winter. Good thing you have your cadre of wicked characters around. I’m sure they will find a way to fan the flames and stoke the heat of um.. er… well, let’s just say I’m sure you’ll manage to find a way to stay warm with all that heat around you. 🙂

  10. February 5, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    I love cherry blossoms! Beautiful photos Phil.
    Yup I’m ready for spring, i’ve been ready for spring for about 5 months now, I dont do so well in winter…snow, cold, ice….horrible all of it! lol
    Thanks for all you said on that last post, i’m going to give it another go and hopefully be able to forget the whole ugly thing, problem is she still slithers about wp so…I dunno.
    But I appreciate your great advice and btw…I’ve grown rather fond of you and your page too:)

    ”*°•~ Nikki•°*”˜.•

    • February 6, 2012 at 9:55 am

      Nikki, thank you for the kind words. I am delighted to hear you will hang around. Don’t let anything that slithers give you worries or troubles.

  11. jennygoth
    February 6, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    ive seen crocus out and daf bulbs sprouting i think the weather has confused us all phil thermals on one day bikini next lol no not me the mad neighbour next door xxjen

    • February 7, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Well it is a mad world after all, so why not have a mad neighbor or two?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

