Home > Random Conversations > Ad Hoc Random Dinner Party

Ad Hoc Random Dinner Party

February 11, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

I realize I haven’t been around much lately; you know – that blasted work and business travel eating into my WordPress time once again.  I’ve been missing out on a lot of good writing and conversation lately.  I have an idea, one that won’t require me to do a lot of writing of my own original material, and one that gives visitors something interesting to do even when I’m not immediately around.  So…

 

How about we have a casual dinner party at the Random Thoughts home?

 

No special time – just drop in whenever you wish, grab a drink, enjoy a little food and conversation with others who are around.  I’ve got White Wine and Beer in the fridge, Red Wine on the counter, an assortment of hard liquors on the buffet, and a bunch of other soft beverages for everyone else.  Help yourself, there’s plenty to be found.  Since this is a spontaneous gathering, I haven’t planned out any dinner.  We’ll order in whatever you want when you get here, and serve it up buffet style.  Casual and quaint.

 

Please!  Everyone feel free to mix and mingle with the others in the comments section.  Have fun getting to know each other as you please.  Any topics will do.  I’ve extended out the reply features so you can converse with each other on just about anything you’d like to discuss.  I realize that Blogs are not quite the vehicle to accomplish this, but I’ve never been one to really follow convention anyway.  Some of the more interesting blogs I visit have a lively comments section filled with banter and fun.  That’s far more fun than the perfunctory comments about how much everyone enjoyed my post or agreed with what I said.  Talk to each other!!!

 

OK, let me know what you want to eat – I’ll put in the order.  Can I pour you a drink in the meantime?  What’s your pleasure?

 

Someone, get the conversation started…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. February 11, 2012 at 11:53 am

    I’m not a regular here 🙂 That looks delicious! I would love a glass of white merlow if you have it.

    • February 11, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      Hey coach. Thanks for stopping by. If you want some white, I have a nice Riesling (semi-dry) or a Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc (dryer). Merlot is a red. They are all good though. Oh, I see you’ve already introduced yourself to Carol. Good cook that Carol is.

  2. February 11, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Normally a beer drinker, but I’ll take a glass from your reserve if you still have some. Oh, and pass the bread sticks…

    • February 11, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      Oh hey Carol! How have you been!!!??? It’s been such a long time! I wonder when our host is coming back… have you seen him? I think he went into the wine cellar about 20 minutes ago but I haven’t seen him since … (LOL)

      • February 11, 2012 at 4:23 pm

        You know how it is – got to sample the wine before serving it to guests… (hic) er… excuse me. 🙂

        • February 11, 2012 at 5:07 pm

          Oh … here, allow me… (you spilled a little on your cuff) … there you go, all gone. Oooh my! (sips wine) It’s a lovely choice ! What year is it? I’ve never had anything quite like it … mmmm….

          I hope you don’t mind, whilst you were gone, I ate some of the green pizza. It. Is. To DIE for!!!! You so must show me how you make it!

          • February 12, 2012 at 1:15 am

            Well, now that we’ve met and shared a cuff cleaning, I should ask you to tell me a little more about yourself. Or do you enjoy remaining our mystery guest? Some of the wine is hand crafted and made by me as a hobby. It’s a lot of fun to make, and lot more fun to share.

            • February 12, 2012 at 5:16 am

              What would you like to know? Well, first off, I smelled food … and then you said there’d be lively banter and good conversation I believe and I thought … YES! Partay! Food! Talking about things! I’m in!

              Oh you make your own wine? Very nice, very nice… my friend’s father used to make it. If I remember correctly it seems to be much stronger than the wines we’d buy in the stores. Maybe I should sip this or have more pizza 🙂 I have to drive you know … LOL

              I think you’ll have to ask me questions as to “more of myself” … I’m not sure what to include here. First I thought, hmmm… what to say? Well… he didn’t ask me anything… Maybe we should start there instead. What would you like to know?

              • February 12, 2012 at 10:06 am

                Well MC (can I call you that?), I do make wine every year. I start with the unpasteurized chilled juices, cutting out the steps in the mashing and pressing – the messiest parts. I usually get premium juices from California vineyards in the Napa valley and Italy in the fall and bottle in the spring. This year, in a counter-seasonal cycle, I bought some juices from Chile to make use of empty vessels sitting around. Nice reds from South America – very nice. The home-made wines are not necessarily stronger or sharper tasting. It’s all in the quality of the grapes. Since we use sterile glass vessels to age, I don’t have to add bisulfites like the commercial producers do to offset mold risk. So no bisulfite headache if you drink a wee bit too much, although the alcohol content will give you every bit as much a kick in the derriere. I should blog about this – thanks for giving me the idea.

                Questions? How about this – what makes you laugh? What makes you cry? What makes your blood boil? What melts your heart?

                • February 12, 2012 at 11:20 am

                  Yes, of course MC is fine. 🙂 You know quite a bit about wine making, this is very interesting Phil… Oh! I noticed you mentioned Mrs. Phil in another comment, hello Mrs. Phil, nice to meet you!

                  Red wines, I only recently became familiar with over the past couple of years. I try to steer clear of reds though, I seem to get a headache with them. Although, Malbec seems to not have the same affect on me. I like uhmmm… something smooth, and some what fruity. I couldn’t quote you as to which ones I really like because I’m forgetful… Yes, definitely blog about it. I wouldn’t mind learning. I once asked a waiter about the wines and my companion looked mortified. I thought he was a ninny, I was educating myself on how to order wine… silly boy. I ignored him and enjoyed my chat with the waiter.

                  Interestingly enough, the things that make me laugh are quite far apart. I have an off color sense of humor, reading a sarcastic frustrating story of someone’s day, makes me break out into hysterics! Not at their expense but because I’m not alone in those days … mean people. Manipulative biting people, liars, those who would take advantage of another makes my blood boil … depending on the infraction, depends on how quickly. I try like crazy to avoid people like that, although… at times there seems to be many around.

                  What melts my heart … a hand made gift. That’s for starters… my friends up state make my heart melt all the time. They’re very supportive of me and love me just for me. Puppies… 🙂 Puppies make my heart melt, I always feel better around puppies… horses, the violin… this is a good start I think.

                  And you? You know, the questions you’ve asked … how about you?

                  • February 13, 2012 at 1:22 pm

                    MC, I’m writing this reply and wondering exactly how narrow the column will appear, as it seems each successive reply narrows the margin more and more.

                    What makes me laugh? People. Humor is such a human emotion, rooted in wit and connected our unique ability to be self-aware. Someone with incredible wit, the ability to observe irony or something hilarious in any situation, and then running with it – well that’s a keeper for me. Make me laugh and I’m a friend for life.

                    Cry? Sure, I can be moved and known to shed a few tears. Not only in moments of great sorrow (death of my brother), but also in moments of great joy (birth of my children), and in moments of enormous pride (teams I’ve coached both in exhilarating victory and agonizing defeat). I try not to make a habit of it though, because I can lose my man-card for such displays, you know…

                    What makes my blood boil? People who would willingly take advantage of and harm the weak, especially innocent children. Disgusting, appalling, and inexcusable.

                    What makes my heart melt? Watching children revel around in the act of discovery. Also, a beautiful voice or piece of music can do it for me. Music is my elixir to relieve stress.

                    • February 14, 2012 at 4:45 pm

                      Hello Phil 🙂 Sorry It took me so long to get back to you. I know, this response will probably be about an inch or so wide. Mine does the same thing.

                      Oh I love humor… I have to say, I mirror you sentiment on this 100%. I had a boyfriend when I was younger, who could make me laugh, no matter how cranky I was at the time. I could be in mid vent, he’s say something and I would laugh at myself almost instantly. I like that, when it’s not maliciously intended someone makes you laugh at yourself in that way? I like doing it to other people too. Lightens them up … takes the edge off.

                      Oh, I’m truly sorry to hear of the loss of your brother. My condolences. 😦 Well, I’m not sure that men lose their man card for being human, which comes with human emotion. Oh yes, my daughter, she sings… I’m talking about how we can get misty as parents, and she’s up there singing and I’m just in awe of that. I’m so proud. She says, I’m not mushy enough because I didn’t cry at her 8th grade graduation. I told her she needs to wait until she moves out to college or something really big … then, she can get me a bath towel because tissues are not going to cut it. 🙂

                      Yup. We’re on the same page as far as things that make blood boil and then some. I wonder how some people can walk around making certain excuses for bad behaviors. On other levels I mean, I mean to me … I’m nice to you, you be nice to me. Mutual respect. The thing that gets me with some, is the fact that they don’t realize what they’re missing by toying with people or being cruel in any fashion. Personally? I just let them go… I’m too damned old to be putting up with mess.

                      Very nice 🙂 I tried to cover everything. LOL I made sure to open up a second window so I could respond all the way down the page.

                      I haven’t kept up at your party here, thank you for having me, considering I crashed the party. 🙂 Very kind host, thank you… 🙂

                      You know… Judging this picture you have here, you look a little cockeyed. ROFL! You have too much wine since I’ve been gone? LOL 🙂

                      Happy Valentines day to you, the misses and your family too!

    • February 11, 2012 at 4:22 pm

      Bread sticks coming up, fresh out of the oven. I’ve got some nice Cabernet from this year’s batch. I was disappointed with last year’s batch that I sent over to you. Hope it was OK. It was great when I first bottled it, but for some reason it didn’t age well.

    • February 12, 2012 at 8:53 am

      Carol, I see you’re a foodie type person too, with the whole cooking thing. I visited your blog and you were whipping it up over there. I shall have to see if there are any recipes I can hand over to someone to cook for me. 🙂

  3. February 11, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    You’ve got a nice little spread going on over here and all but I need to ask you this: Are we getting paid for this little experiment? So far, I don’t know none of these folk in here and it’s a little challenging to communicate with me in the only one in the room at the moment. Like, so far, everybody’s talking about the wine and food and I’m a recovering foodaholic. Hold on…I need to call my counselor ’cause I feel like I’m about to fall off this wagon….Damn, the wheel broke just when I got a whiff of that pizza pie looking dish.

    • February 12, 2012 at 1:11 am

      Hiya Totsy! Glad you dropped in. I just got back to my hotel room – I’m in New York on business, and my colleagues had tickets to the Met tonight. I got to see Diana Damrau in Il Barbiere di Siviglia (or just plain “The Barber Of Seville”, for most English speaking non-Opera folks). I’m not sure where the heck this random experiment is going to go, and it looks like only a few folks have dropped in so far. Reminds me of a few of the dorm parties – slow to start sometimes. Meh, it’s the weekend, and of course, I’m not a good host if I duck out to see a show…

      Let me introduce you to Carol. She’s a long-time friend who works her butt off harder than anyone I know. She cooks a lot, and she does a gazillion loads of laundry every week. Great woman. And well, Mystery Coach is a mystery, but she seems to like the wine, so we’re off to a good start. I was hoping Denzel Washington would make a surprise appearance, but apparently he’s busy.

      Not to be a drag on the party, but I’m rather bummed out right now – I just found about about Whitney Houston. How terribly tragic and sad. No mention of how, but the scuttlebutt is running rampant. I’m choosing to focus on how spectacular and special that gorgeous voice was. You know me and my love for beautiful voices. Tots, what do you think?

      • February 12, 2012 at 8:42 am

        I’m stunned. I know these things happen; death no matter how it comes but there were those of us who quietly rooted for Whitney to shine again. Yes, I’m choosing the remember the best of her. No one can dispute the presence she magnified on a stage.

        • February 12, 2012 at 10:41 am

          I too am stunned and trying to make sense of it all. Ursula makes a rather blunt but spot-on point about leaving behind a child in this senseless tragedy.

          • February 12, 2012 at 11:27 am

            You know, I loved her music. She just lite up everything, every where she went. What bothers me the most, is the very real fact that she fell for the wrong man and it went down hill for her from that point forward.

            To me, it speaks volumes that we’re all human at the end of the day and the choices we make in our lives need to be thought through, including trying a drug … and for what? I’ve never done drugs … although I smoke, which is an addiction by itself. However, I’ve seen so many lives on TV and in real life go down hill due to the affects of drugs and the choices people have made to “try it” just that one time…

            It’s a waste of an incredible talent like she was … incredible waste.

    • February 12, 2012 at 11:09 am

      You’re a foodaholic! Me too! Wait… My name’s M.C., and I have a remedy for foodaholicism. You eat smaller portions of whatever you want and THEN you work out… you know, indulge once in a while. I love to eat … I didn’t know they had meetings!

      uh oh… did I just become an enabler? My sincerest apology … tell me, how long have you been a member of FA? (Foodaholics Anonymous) I see you like someone to cook for you too! Meeee tooo!!!

      • Androgoth
        February 13, 2012 at 10:06 pm

        MC don’t be getting too naughty over Valentine’s Day or else? 🙂 😉 Be good too okay : 🙂

        Androgoth XXx

        • February 14, 2012 at 6:05 pm

          Andro! Hello there! I’ll be very well behaved. I didn’t know you were coming! I didnt’ know I was either… LOL … You have a nice Naughty Valentines day too Honey 🙂 Or ELSE!

          M.C., XO

          • Androgoth
            February 14, 2012 at 7:21 pm

            You are tooooooooooooo wicked you are MC
            but as it is Valentine’s Day and Evening I will
            hand you another glass of Champagne 🙂 😉
            Hey don’t drink it all at once there is plenty of
            that over there, indeed I saw a crate full 🙂

            Thank you phil, you make the perfect host…
            And I whispered that as there is a Vampiress
            loose in here somewhere and she has the hots
            for you me thinks 🙂 lol

            MC… I will have another slice of that Pizza 🙂

            Androgoth XXx

            • February 14, 2012 at 7:26 pm

              Hahaha 🙂 Oh yes, I’m thoroughly evil. (snicker) May I have a shot of grenadine with my champagne? No, no… I don’t drink quite so much, however would you like some more? I’d be happy to go get you another bottle if you like?

              Oh… SURE … here you go, one slice of Pizza just for you! Careful, the cheese is still hot, it’s fresh from the oven. Phil made more! Yuuuuuummmmm…

              Oh, s’cuse me Andro, I see someone I know over there! Be back soon! (trots away, gleefully … hahaha! I am SO corny.)

              • Androgoth
                February 17, 2012 at 5:17 pm

                Yes corny and cheeky too, fancy just handing me one measely slice of Pizza and the rushing off to chat some other bloke up over there, well I will just BITE my wat through this piece and grab something else later, you never know I might even have some more Pizza? 🙂 😉

                By the way I have added the grenadine to your Champagne
                and am just opening that fresh bottle, it is fizzing away like a
                Scarecrow on Weed… MC stop pouting at that guy in the pink
                and green striped party hat he is too drunk to notice you…

                I hope there is some Chocolate cake for later on? 🙂

                Androgoth XXx

                • Androgoth
                  February 17, 2012 at 5:18 pm

                  After reading those typos I think that
                  this Champagne is a lot stronger than
                  it looks 🙂 lol

                  Androgoth XXx

                  • February 17, 2012 at 5:22 pm

                    HAHAHAHA! aaaghhahaha! 🙂 I think this is the least wicked thing I have ever seen you say. LOL 🙂

                • February 17, 2012 at 5:26 pm

                  Ooh, what was I thinking? I’m sorry… (hangs head, looks up through lashes) Would you like more pizza? Oh… sorry, gave it to the guy over there. ROFL! 🙂

                  And who, pray tell, are you biting? Hmmmm?

                  Thank you for the grenadine! It’s delicious! Like a scarecrow on weed? HAHAHA! Oh man, you saw me eyeing him up huh? Well, it’s okay, there’s another one over there anyway. Can’t have just one choice now can we?

                  Oh yes! 7 layer, chocolate, chocolate mouse cake! no, no thank you, no whipping cream for me… If I don’t watch my figure, no one else will. (wrinkles nose and grins at you… THEN trots away to see that guy over there who is not so drunk!) Be right back!

                  (snicker… giggle… hehehehehe)

                  Sincerely wicked,
                  M.C.

                  • Androgoth
                    February 17, 2012 at 5:39 pm

                    It’s okay because as you walked past with his, I mean my slice of Pizza I dropped a Zombies finger into it, now being that he is sloshed he probably figured that it was a gourmet lollipop or a Valentine nibbling stick or something 🙂

                    Hey when you say that guy over there, do you mean that one in the corner who keeps waving, winking and smiling at you, I think he’s got the dreaded flatulence so be careful if you’re lighting the candles on that cake later or anything could happen…

                    Is there anyone else besides you being naughty at this party MC because there are very few guests around at the moment? 🙂 lol

                    Be good now or ELSE? lol

                    Androgoth XXx

                    • February 18, 2012 at 6:29 am

                      He probably thought it was an old dried out chicken finger. LOL ! Oh, he has gas? Well… I guess the good news is that I don’t have to meet anyone, I’m enjoying myself. OMG I think there’s a green fog around him… it’s coming this way! RUN! Run Forest! LOL 🙂

                      I think the rest of the group went out on a beer run or something. We drank all of Phil’s wine … (snicker) Yes, I’ll be good. As always 🙂

                      M.C.

  4. February 12, 2012 at 8:10 am

    There is always one, isn’t there, Phil, to spoil the party? If you let them that is. I never do [let them]. If I want to spoil something I am perfectly capable of doing so myself. A bit like Whitney.

    I have a soft spot for most humans, not least for those who are messed up like Whitney appears to have been on and off. Whilst no doubt a life cut short, her fans feeling short changed, is sad, I am amazed that (judging by how many tributes to her I have scanned so far) there appears little mention of her daughter. I have no idea how close they were but the real tragedy is not that Whitney died at 48 but that she left a child behind. It’s easy to die when you are childless, there is nothing more cruel than your mother dying (before you’ve flown the nest).

    So thanks, Whitney, for that. And there I was trying to make a grand entrance to your party by leaving it as late as possible. Clearly a mistake, because whilst virtual food will keep indefinitely, meanwhile the early birds are already flirting with you. I will revive you, Phil. If it kills me.

    Which reminds me: Where are the men (apart from your good self)? And the gate crashers? The noise police? Health and Safety?

    And Totsy, since I caught you in the flesh: Why are you not talking to me any longer? Did I frighten you by suggesting that if the Angel and your daughter fall in love we will have to share equal visiting rights to our grandchildren? Is that why you have severed ties before they were even tentatively knotted? I suppose we could always have a Tiramisu fight. It’ll be less fattening for you. I myself not putting on weight if you shoved a whole case of Sauvignon Blanc down my gullet.

    As to the admirable Carol: Since this is a party, Phil, and as games go maybe Carol and I could have an “iron-off”. May the crispest shirt win.

    Mysterycoach and I, as one does, occasionally, have already set off on the wrong foot: A white Merlot? What a tease! Let me give her the benefit of the doubt. She was just testing how big and wide both your grapes and imagination stretch. Trust me. I know her type.

    Whilst i drum up a few more guests over at mine I am quite happy with a divine Bellini. Don’t go to sleep in the meantime, instead fill me a glass with the demure yet versatile, the catch all. Yes, the delightful, multi talented/faceted Sauvignon. As white as driven dry snow.

    Mwah, mwah, mwah,
    U

    Do not RSVP: Where are my manners? Thank you so much for throwing your doors open. Was thinking of you only Friday, fishmonger’s, don’t come fresher than her, faced with a calamari. Somewhat bewildering in its beauty. A sort of Robert de Niro: Looking at me, punk? I opted for the humble Mackarel instead. That minute I wasn’t up for a fight. Though it was love at first sight.

    • February 12, 2012 at 10:59 am

      Ursula! So glad you could join us. I have just the Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc for you – it is from my 2008 vintage. Stubborn white it was in the beginning, fermenting at it’s own pace, a little slower than the others, and aging a lot slower than the others, taking it’s sweet time to clarify and settle. This late bloomer required me to transfer it to other holding vessels and continue the aging process to eliminate the cloudy look, but now it is finished, and what a delightful exquisite taste it has now that it is bottled up. Complex and quite satisfying. Reminds me of someone…

      Leave it to you to point out what others are overlooking with regard to Whitney. I’ll hand it to you, you have a way of cutting to the quick about matters. As a parent, I certainly see your point, and cannot argue about how the real tragedy in her passing has precious little to do with her fans, but the extraordinary loss and pain her child must be experiencing right now. Sad.

      Oy! I too find it interesting that so far, only women have shown up. Not that I’m complaining, although my wife might start giving me the evil eye if no other guys show up soon. Funny, because when I was an undergraduate in college, it seemed quite the opposite proportions. Seemed as though every party had about ten young men and occasionally a shy young woman would show up and get scared off, grab a quick beer and find the nearest exit! Well maybe you’ll rustle up some business for this gathering before it crashes and burns…

    • Androgoth
      February 13, 2012 at 10:05 pm

      Hello U,

      So nice to see you at this happy and most delicious party gathering… I hope that you are enjoying it so far? I am, well I would be enjoying it a bit more if the other guests were still here 😦 Never mind there is plenty to eat and drink so I am okay with that…

      Phil are you enjoying a happy Valentine’s Day? Well it’s already here, here sooooooooo, I will be going soon to sample the wickedness, well it is a wicked day after all…

      Have a great rest of Party now and be good 🙂

      Androgoth

      • February 14, 2012 at 9:09 am

        Andro, it’s Valentine’s Day. Stop sampling the wicked naughtiness and start feasting on it! That’s an order! 😉

        • Androgoth
          February 14, 2012 at 7:23 pm

          Okay no problemo, I have already sampled a few necks, I mean glasses of your fine wines, and Champagne of course 🙂

          You throw a mean party my good friend 🙂

          Androgoth

  5. February 12, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    –Hey, Phil,

    is that truly your dinner table?
    If so, I’ m on my way over right now. Please give my your address…
    And I shall bring you a bottle of you fave. wine. Okay?

    I have a feeling you’d be a FAB host with the MOST.

    btw, the table is exquisite, but I don’t observe any C H O C O L A T E.

    Xxx Kisssssssssssss From MN.

    • February 13, 2012 at 1:33 pm

      Kim, that is not my kitchen. I put the chocolates in the Great Room out on the coffee table.

      Here ya go!

      Enjoy!

      • February 14, 2012 at 6:08 pm

        Hi Kim, I apologize for intruding … but someone said “chocolate!”? Phil, would you direct me to the Great Room please? (looks around wide eyed … LOL)

      • February 16, 2012 at 12:24 pm

        Sweet, Phil,
        thaaaaaaank you for the chocolates.
        I already ate 3 of them. Ooooo, Baby. Xxx

        • February 16, 2012 at 1:12 pm

          Kim, you may as well enjoy them. I’ll make up a nice little tray you can bring back to enjoy at home later. Just make sure Little Bastard doesn’t find the stash…

    • Androgoth
      February 13, 2012 at 10:01 pm

      Don’t worry about the chocolate option my friend as we have got that one covered, it will be one of those surprises that will either thrill your senses, or have you feeling dizzy with guilt… Of course there is some cheese and wine on offer if the surprise is too wicked for you but do give it a try or you will always be wondering how yummy it was…

      Androgoth

      • February 16, 2012 at 9:40 am

        I can’t tell if this response is at my comment? However! I never feel guilty indulging in what I like… I assure you 🙂 I don’t like to wonder when I want something… so, by all means! Pass the cheese and the wine please!

        M.C.

  6. February 12, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    More wine. More cheese. Obviously the TV isn’t on and tuned to a football/basketball/soccer/rodeo…or else mor guys would be hanging out drinking free beer.

    • February 13, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      Barb,

      I should have known better than to throw a party the same day as Big Opal’s Valentine’s Day bash at the Sporting Parlor. I’m guessing all the guys are trying real hard to get that party favor after their ten drinks. I mean, how in the heck can this compete with Opal’s gals?

    • Androgoth
      February 13, 2012 at 9:59 pm

      Barb I have ordered a few drinks with a cheese and
      wine opt out clause so don’t miss out on that treat okay?

      What a great looking party 🙂

      Androgoth

  7. February 13, 2012 at 10:13 am

    What a lovely group of people you’ve gathered, Phil. But I’m such a wall-flower at big parties. Plus, I don’t drink anything but water or herbal tea and don’t eat anything but…well, I don’t eat anything that looks or tastes yummy. Carrot sticks, anyone?

    I’d be happy to collect people’s coats and direct them to the bathroom…or do you have someone to do that for you already? But I have to leave before dark unless someone is willing to give me a ride home.

    If you have a mirror ball and flashing dance floor, well, then, I’ll just have to pass entirely. Too much stimulation.

    Let’s just face it, even this cyber-party is giving me a panic attack!

    • February 13, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      Lorna,

      No need to usher folks around. Just mingle and have fun. Rest assured there is no mirror ball or flashing dance floor. I’m not sure that would be a good idea anyway with all the liquor flowing. I’ll get you a nice bottle of mineral water from the fridge, and I’ll look to see if we have anything gluten free around here. That’s pretty tough for an ethnic Italian household.

      • February 14, 2012 at 6:11 pm

        Hi Lorna 🙂 Nice to meet you… I’d be happy to drive you home, I don’t drink much, I’d much rather eat. They do make Gluten free Pizza dough now too, I saw it just the other day in the store! I’ve been considering shifting my own eating habits and the food doesn’t taste bad at all…

        • February 16, 2012 at 1:15 pm

          Gluten free pizza? That’s kind of like decaffeinated coffee! What’s the point? Poor Lorna, we’ll have to find her something good to eat around here besides the carrot sticks.

          • February 16, 2012 at 2:08 pm

            Nooooo, you would be very surprised honey, it’s GOOD… I had gluten free pasta one day? It was delicious, it really was and I had my reservations about it. And my body thanked me for that switch too … no aftermath of sleepiness or feeling overly stuffed which regular pasta does to me now that I’m older. Which is … odd because I was raised in an all Italian family too. You know, “eat, eat!” 🙂

            Now, the coffee… yah, that’s just wrong. 🙂

    • Androgoth
      February 13, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Lorna you are no wall-flower, oh no that cannot be and to prove it there is the dance of the seven Vampires next so if you will just go and get into costume for that one I will find a creepy violinist to accompany the pianist and the three flutists, the music will be set in D Minor with a hint of guitar to charm even the most coldest of party animals, talking of party animals where is everyone?

      Well there is a stripping Vicar on later so if the girls miss out on that one it won’t be our fault Phil and as a backup plan I have instructed a hoard of belly dancing ballet dancers, which is quite a tongue twister after one, two, three, no that is fourteen beers and a whiskey chaser, anyway they are calling in at midnight so watch out for those beauties…

      Did someone mention Pizza? I will warm you up a
      slice Lorna so how about that for being gregarious…

      Okay On With The Show…

      Androgoth

      • February 14, 2012 at 3:46 pm

        I just got to the party… but I really hope I didn’t miss the belly dancers or your whiskey chaser… sounds like I may have arrived just in time! And if it isn’t toooooo forward, may I please have a piece of that pizza as well?

        • Androgoth
          February 14, 2012 at 7:29 pm

          Of course you may, indeed I am already cutting you a nice slice as I waffle on about the costumes of those Belly Dancing Ballet Dancers, actually one of the girls has not shown up yet
          so if you need an introduction towards the art of belly wobbling
          whilst engaging in some Pizza tasting then you are welcome,
          but do watch out for any wayward Skeletons as they are always
          looking for a Valentine kiss or ten 😦 Yes they are ugly looking
          creatures those Skeleton types, but Phil has a novel way of
          eradicating them so don’t be too worried about them, of course
          Phil on the other hand might be a handful 🙂 lol

          Have a nice evening now Jeanna 🙂

          Androgoth

  8. February 13, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Never developed a taste for wine (except to cook with). but I’d not say no to a good stout or amber beer…

    • February 13, 2012 at 2:17 pm

      Here you go amigo. While I’ll admit I like a beer that has a good rich and full-bodied taste, that Guinness looks a bit like bottom of the barrel sludge. A little too much for me. Amber lagers and ales are more my favorite. Tell me, do you want it served cold or at room temperature?

      • February 13, 2012 at 2:41 pm

        I guess I’ll skip the Guinness then, perhaps a Sam Adams or Blue Point Toasted Lager, a bit below room temp if available.
        Was in an Irish Pub recently that I hadn’t been to in a while. New bartender that put perfect clovers in the foam on every Guinness pint.
        Delicious….

        • February 14, 2012 at 9:17 am

          OK, El Guapo, here’s a nice Blue Point for you. So tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from, and where do you find yourself at the moment? Oh, and let me introduce you to Ursula. She’s just getting warmed up – the life of the party indeed! Just look below…

  9. February 13, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Hey, I know a few of you guys. Don’t drink all of the good red – save a little for me. Beautiful tablescape. Will Ursula be dancing a little later? Gotta run but will dash back in later.

    • February 13, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      Hold on – I’m new here. Who is this Ursula of which you speak?

    • Androgoth
      February 13, 2012 at 9:44 pm

      It is much later already my friend so pull up a lid and sit a while… But beware the dark cloaked warrior, as he is a tad wicked in all of his guises 😦 Just kidding…

      Androgoth

  10. Androgoth
    February 13, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Well it looks like you have lots of party dwellers already here Phil but what about those spirits, I noticed a banshee with a wicked grin on her face but what about the nymph’s of naughtiness that frequent these late night social gatherings, or orgies of the damned if one wishes to add a few zombies into the mix?

    Of course if we are feasting on the blood red nectar then it has to be of a Vampire vintage and progressively scrumptious in all of its wickedness, oh yes and served by a half naked wench of delight, perhaps some, or all of those damsels will be savoured afterwards as the party develops, okay, no rush and while I kill some time I will sip a glass of chilled Champagne from a maiden’s chemise and wait until the lids slide off a tad easier for the tasting of the darkened Vampirella, well I will if there are none of those naughty and creepy girls, I mean naughty and creepy ghouls watching…

    Right, seeing as the merrymaking has dispersed somewhat I will just grab a slice of that ghoulishly offered pizza and hope that there is no garlic added into the formula…

    A nice looking party Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

    • February 14, 2012 at 9:22 am

      You know, this is an ongoing party with no real time limit, so I have to ask, will you be ducking out when the sunlight arrives? Do you need a dark room to rest up before the next night of folly? And how are Vampire Vintages determined? Is it something akin to, “Ah Tuesday – it was a very good night!” So glad you could stop by and add a measure of naughtiness to the party.

      • Androgoth
        February 14, 2012 at 7:36 pm

        Vampire vintages are classed in the bloody redness and varieties can be a tad wanting on Valentine’s Day so be careful where you pop the corks my wickedly good friend 🙂 Now as for the Dark Room that is a brilliant idea but what about the missing Belly Dancer, is she going to be adding to the thrills of the evening or are there some extra entertainments planned? Maybe we could tie up some of the guests and… Well it’s your party Phil so use some of your own wickedly tuned imagination? 🙂 lol

        Androgoth

  11. February 13, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Phil, Androgoth is drunk. Soon he’ll plunge us into darkness. Which is why I have changed my make up to a gothic glowing white to go with my preferred choice of wine. So you’ll know where to find me. Just follow the shine.

    Don’t worry about the self confessed wallflower, Lorna. Cloakroom assistant? What’s she talking about? Having been brought up in HER family, catholic to boot, there is little that’ll faze her. Which is why I have taken her under my wings. We are currently rabbiting over a carrot stick, comparing notes on camomile tea and diving into the murky underworld of sisters and priests.

    Will I be dancing, Renee? Of course. With you, Lorna, the Goth, the White Merlot, and everyone else who wants to do that terrible snake dance they do in Spanish tourist hotels and at the end of Dirty Dancing (is it the Conga or some such?). El Guapo who seems to have ample energy I’ll service separately.

    With our host I’ll do slow. I don’t do slow very well (this is what happens when you drink: You will spill – the truth). Yes, I know I am a woman. Still, I don’t do slow very well, being led. In fact, I am terrible at contact sport. You remember that marvellous scene in “Some like it Hot” when the smitten millionaire says to Daphne (Jack Lemmon in finery): “You are LEADING again, Daphne.” I know. That’s me. Terrible. Shocking. This is why I trust Phil: He has the gentle touch and, if all fails, he’ll step on my toe to stop me in my tracks and let him do what men do: LEAD.

    See you under the table.

    U

    • February 14, 2012 at 9:53 am

      Well Ursula, it’s about time everyone loosened up a little. Alcohol tends to do that. I’m really amused that our guests from the other side of the pond are the liveliest of the lot. Do try to remember where you kicked off and left your shoes though, as I imagine the clean up when we’re all done will be a lot of work.

      More wine for you?

    • Androgoth
      February 14, 2012 at 7:41 pm

      Drunk? How wickedly naughty of you to even think it U, did you know that Vampires never get drunk unless it is with the passion of a wild and wicked young maiden, and even then it is just a fresh feeling if you catch my drift? Back in 1470 there was a maiden with the largest… Hey wait for it U, I was going to say the largest crate of ale you have ever seen and how deliciously did she pour it, oh yes she had a knack for sharing the delights of her… Well I think that we will leave it there or you might want to try it, well maybe? Have you noticed that i have not added one smiley in this reply? I think that I deserve another slice of Pizza for that one… I hope that you are enjoying the party U

      Androgoth XXx

  12. February 14, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    …but but I shy!! lol
    and if I start indulging in all that booze you have here i’ll never get all my valentines delivered:P But I may need it by the end of the day!
    Happy Valentines Day Phil!
    I have a feeling you’re a huge romantic (being italian probably helps) 😉 so I hope you have a beautiful time with whatever special thing you’ve got planned.

    And thank you from the bottom of my heart for your wonderful comment (made me blush a wee bit:) There’s nothing like a big strong pair of arms wrapped around me to keep me warm, but in the meantime your comment and song helped alot. Nikki x

    • February 14, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      Well Nikki, with a little bit of luck, I’ll be on a plane in half an hour (still waiting…) and get home just in the nick of time to bring my Sweet out to dinner. Say a little prayer there won’t be any flight delays. Swing back and help yourself to all the wine you want later. The virtual dinner party goes on as long as guests want it to.

      • February 14, 2012 at 5:58 pm

        I’ll be crossing my fingers that you get home in time Phil.
        Hope you and your wife have a beautiful and special valentines dinner:)

        • February 16, 2012 at 1:18 pm

          I did make it home in time for a late dinner out with my bride. I was worried about leaving all the guests here alone when I dined with my wife on Valentine’s day, but it looks like the alcohol guests managed to keep the festivities going.

  13. February 14, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Phil I hope you don’t mind that I’m late… I would love a glass of chardonnay. Happy content sigh… such a great host you are 🙂 Where have you been traveling for work these days? What is keeping you from us? Please tell me it’s somewhere fantastic!

    • February 14, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      Hi Jeanna. I’m delighted you showed up! No worries about late – the virtual party has no time restrictions. Heck, we won’t even ask you for ID – you are old enough to drink, right? 😉 Go ahead, mix and mingle with some of the others.

      Last week I was in New York City, and worked through the weekend, although I did get tickets to the Met. Flew out to Boca Raton Sunday, and am at this very moment waiting for my flight to board in Fort Lauderdale airport. Normally, I like Florida, but right now I want to get on a plane and get the heck outta here!!! With a little luck (pray for me), I’ll be home around 7:30 in time to take my lovely wife out to dinner.

      If I’m late, do you think she’ll like a nice souvenir thimble or shot glass from the Airport gift shop? 😀 Yeah, maybe not…

      • Androgoth
        February 14, 2012 at 7:48 pm

        Phil if you are late then you are busted…
        I wonder if your Wife will let you off or will
        she have some form of dark punishment
        lined up? Stop licking your lips over that
        scenario I was joking of course…

        Blimey the lengths that some Valentine
        lovers will go to, just to take their wives
        out for a slap up meal these evenings 🙂

        I hope you have a wonderful Valentine’s
        Evening Phil and I hope you are treating her
        to a night of wickedness also 🙂 Okay none
        of my business and yes I am on my way
        out for some more Pizza 🙂

        Androgoth

        • February 16, 2012 at 9:42 am

          LOL 🙂 Aaandro…

        • February 16, 2012 at 1:19 pm

          It’s not polite to whip and tell… 😉

          • February 17, 2012 at 5:28 pm

            Agh! thaaaat’s funny! “not polite to whip and tell” … haha! Oh my, look at the time! Gentleman, I apologize, I have to go for a little while however I hope to come back and enjoy more festivities later! 🙂

  14. Red
    February 15, 2012 at 9:48 am

    Beyond fashionably late, but arrived nonetheless. I was lurking around the wine table, but have come to the conclusion you have far too little tequila. Hope you do not mind the cheek, but I brought a case, as I knew you would have a much better turnout than you originally told your wife about…She has already hired the carpet cleaner for next week, just after a word or twelve (hundred) of advice.

    Meanwhile, I have to make my way over to look at the food. I do not eat it, but it all looks so pretty.

    What is that song? I am horrid with the names of songs and the bands. Well, except for the four or five hundred albums I own which I can tell you down to production year. I have recently moved that knowledge to a much less used portion of my brain. I need a copy of the owner’s manual, though. I locked it on the way out and be damned if I can remember the combination to get it open again.

    You have such a lovely looking bunch of guests. I do so hope you bought the economy package of loo-paper. I mean, popping out the market for more wine or cheese or even edibles can be a fun pilgrimage for any random two guests, but who wants to the one left to fetch the loo-paper. Although, if given the choice between fetching and being the one stuck on the throne until it arrives, I am certain I would choose to hike to the store…

    Red.

    • February 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      Trust me Red, my wife makes sure we have more toilet paper than our nation has strategic oil reserves. We can hold out for a good decade if supply were interrupted…

      On the other hand, I should make sure there is a good working plunger in each of the bathrooms.

  15. February 16, 2012 at 9:20 am

    What a great idea! The food and company are great!

    • February 16, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      This is a lot zanier and much more fun than I had imagined. So glad you stopped by. As a few of the guests have had a wee bit too much to drink, I can only imagine the photos you could take! Good thing it is all virtual…

  16. February 17, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Phil, I always love reading your musings… hopefully nominating you for an award will bring you a few new readers. I love dropping in to see what’s going on in your world. http://xanaxorrunningshoes.com/2012/02/17/inspiration-and-german-love/

    • February 18, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Oy! First of all, thanks Jeanna for the award and the recognition. I’m flattered – I really am. I barely have enough time to write a few blog entries and make an occasional comment or two on other blogs I frequent, so I must let you know I don’t do the awards thing. It is a lot of work, and while I really understand the purpose to spread the love and introduce folks to others, I just don’t have the time, other than to put a bunch of my favorite blogs on the blogroll. I do hope you’ll understand. I likewise love dropping by your place to see what you are up to – always interesting to say the least!

      • February 20, 2012 at 10:58 am

        trust me … I get it. The award thing… mmmm. it’s frustratingly bittersweet when you get one. Hey if it just brought you a new reader or two, I am happy 🙂 I got two more yesterday, and I just don’t see it happening… I can’t even come up with an interesting blog about myself today, let alone other people 😛 hehehe.

  17. February 18, 2012 at 10:34 am

    You had me at Chardonnay…….

    • February 18, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Shucks Charly – I was hoping to practice some Italian on you…

  18. Androgoth
    February 20, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    It’s okay Phil I am just calling in for a slice of Pizza
    and a drink of that deliciously chilled Champagne, by
    the way it was a wickedly fine party, if only I arrived
    here at the right times 🙂 lol

    Have a great rest of evening Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

    • February 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Well Andro, we do recognize you must ensure there is sufficient darkness for your arrival and departures, so it does complicate matters a wee bit. I’m going to need quite the clean-up crew to run through this place once the party is all done. Folks keep showing up though, and I won’t shut it down until everyone has had their fill of food and drink.

      • Androgoth
        February 23, 2012 at 8:25 am

        Yes… Food, drink and the rest,
        you should have seen what that
        ballet belly dancer got up to with
        your organ player, actually she
        has the hots for the flutist too so
        perhaps you should slap an 18+
        certificate on your next gathering,
        well that is if you are having a
        follow up party for all of the more
        seasoned party animals? 🙂 lol

        Have a great day Phil 🙂

        Androgoth

  1. February 12, 2012 at 9:37 am
  2. February 22, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Tell me, what's on your mind?

