Home > Holiday, humor > It’s Mardi Gras – Is Your Mojo Working?

It’s Mardi Gras – Is Your Mojo Working?

February 21, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

It’s Mardi Gras once again. Fat Tuesday, the official finale in festive and inebriated manner of the Carnival season – one last day of reckless, wanton behavior before everyone gets all spiritual on Ash Wednesday, the official start of lenten abstinence. Yes, whoop it up one last time, and whoop it up good!

 

 

As a public service announcement, since so many of you may be imbibing in excess, I thought I’d pass along some helpful information dealing with the morning after.Ā  See, you may not remember much the following day, after a long night of whoop ass drinking and carousing er… festivities. When you do finally awaken from that drunken stupor and, if you believe you’ve gone to church to get your ashes, just make sure the markings look something like this:

And not like this:

Enjoy the festivities!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. Joni
    February 21, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Cute, Phil. šŸ™‚

    • February 22, 2012 at 8:10 am

      Aw, shucks now Joni. I’m probably too old to be cute…

      oh… Oh! OH!!! You meant the post was cute?

      er… um… never mind. šŸ˜›

  2. February 21, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    lol! Good warning. Imagine a tattoo of that on one’s face … yikes!

    • February 22, 2012 at 8:14 am

      I had a few classes in college that always put me to sleep. I could have used that wide-eyed look with my eyes actually shut. Plus, I think the professor would have been to scared to call on me.

      I think if it were permanent, it would qualify as a major tattoo fail. And yet, I get the sense there may be someone out there crazy enough to give it a go. That’s scary.

  3. Red
    February 21, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    I so want to be home šŸ˜¦

    My little brother and his lady fair are at a ball tonight after the 1800 parade. Did I mention I am homesick?

    *Slinks off for another cognac*
    Red.

    • February 22, 2012 at 8:16 am

      I can only imagine a few of those stories when you lived there! Please consider sharing them on M3 if the mood strikes you! Mardi Gras – Red style.

      • Red
        February 22, 2012 at 8:25 am

        May find occasion to slip in a few of them. What is not to like about a 6-week, statewide party which is two paid days off? There is a deep political lesson to the learned there.
        Red.

  4. February 22, 2012 at 5:10 am

    Mardi Gras? My Mojo forgot to make pancakes. My omelets are divine.

    U

    • February 22, 2012 at 8:22 am

      I bet they are. Save me some please. Do you serve them with an English muffin (which begs the question if they are indeed called English muffins in England or is that an American thing) or perhaps a nice little croissant? Tea or coffee?

  5. February 22, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Phil, I love the way you always make me smile…especially about what NOT to look like the day after. You are the best!

    • February 22, 2012 at 8:42 am

      I don’t know about the best, but I’m always happy to make you smile Carol. Have a terrific day now!

  6. February 22, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    I’m a little behind, sorry! And I’m retired, so I don’t have much of any excuse. Oh yes I do, and you’ll find out soon enough.

    Odd that there’s a big decadent party before a time of deprivation in the name of being holy. Kind of like pigging out before going on a diet in the name of being healthy. Humans are irrational–fun, but irrational.

    I don’t have much to give up for Lent, so it’s a good thing I’m Buddhist and I don’t observe Lent (I just observe everything in the present moment). šŸ˜‰

    • February 25, 2012 at 11:05 am

      Never apologize for your being a little behind. It’s certainly better than being a big behind. Oh wait, hmmmm, that didn’t sound right. Er… OK, well, whatever your reasons, I enjoy the drop in, whenever you are able. I know what it’s like to be buried in a boatload of other distractions.

  7. Androgoth
    February 23, 2012 at 8:13 am

    Phil I hope that you had lots of fun
    and didn’t end up with the second
    graphic creativity as a reminder šŸ˜¦

    Have a great rest of day and don’t
    be working too hard, save some for
    the other guys šŸ™‚

    Androgoth

    • February 25, 2012 at 11:07 am

      It’s been a while that I’ve had soooo much fun that I would risk awakening that way. I do enjoy myself and can get a wee bit carried away occasionally, but I don’t do the “crunk” thing, as kids this generation refer to it.

  8. February 23, 2012 at 9:35 am

    OMG,
    Can you imagine awakening w/ a tattoo on your face?

    that is soooo very Mike Tyson!

    are you in New Orleans? what do you do for a living? do you travel?

    I wanted to tell my daddy.

    Xxx Love to you, Sweet sweet Phil.

    • February 25, 2012 at 11:09 am

      Kim, I was not in New Orleans this year. I’ve been traveling on business. I work as a financial executive. It requires me to travel from time to time. I used to enjoy it more when I was younger, but now really only enjoy travel if it is for pleasure. I don’t care much for living out of a suitcase all that much.

  1. February 21, 2012 at 7:12 pm
  2. February 22, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Tell me, what's on your mind?

