Home > Music > Random Jukebox – Billie Holiday Edition

Random Jukebox – Billie Holiday Edition

February 22, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

It’s getting late, the Dinner Party has run its course and appears to be long done, clean up crews have scrubbed and detailed the Random Thoughts home from top to bottom, and the place seems a bit quiet and empty.  All the rowdy guests migrated over to Mardi Gras, and I’m happy to report all had fun with no serious problems, save for a few morning-after headaches experienced by a few of our followers.

Me?  I’ll be traveling the next few days.  I’ll be scarce around these parts, but tonight I think I’ll pour myself a nice elixir from the bar and toss a few coins in the Jukebox for the evening as I unwind a little before turning in for the evening.  Come on and join me.  Go ahead, walk over the the bar.  There’s a guy in a white jacket and black bow-tie waiting to serve you.  Kick off your shoes and put up your feet, or, if you are so inclined, grab your sweetheart and spend a few moments dancing cheek to cheek.  I’ll start it off with a few from the Billie Holiday songbook – such a hauntingly soulful voice.

 

 

 

 

 

While I’m gone, feel free to throw a few coins in the ole Jukebox and dial up a song of your choice in the comment section below.  Anything goes – any style, artist, and genre.  I’d love to hear what you pick out.  I’ll try to peek in whenever I can to get a listen.  In the meantime, enjoy the company of each other and behave.  Or maybe not…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. February 23, 2012 at 6:22 am

    Nice picks for a romantic snuggle.

    Won’t be the same around here without you, Phil. Never is. You’re kind of like a host on one of the mystery dinners–you keep disappearing and then bodies start appearing. You aren’t in a library with a secret passage way are you?

    Don’t work too hard, my dear friend!

    • February 24, 2012 at 8:43 am

      A secret passageway in the library? I love that idea and image. I just hope the special book-end bust that rotates into the secret chamber doesn’t get stuck, leaving me here in isolation for too long…

  2. Androgoth
    February 23, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Work is one thing but playing is much better Phil
    so keep the working to a minimum and the playing…
    Well you can experiment with that train of thought
    but don’t over indulge, unless it’s an orgy 🙂 😉 lol

    Have a great rest of
    day and a wicked evening 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    • February 24, 2012 at 8:52 am

      I like to think I can get a lot of work done and have some playful fun doing it. Some times it catches a few of the stodgy old folks off guard, but most seem to enjoy a light atmosphere to relieve the stress. Now I’m not sure I can mix in some of the naughtier fun you might have in mind however… That will have to take place after the workday is done.

      Enjoy your indulgences, my wicked friend.

      • Androgoth
        February 27, 2012 at 7:08 pm

        Perhaps a little wickedness just before lunch
        with strengthen your appetite, however what
        you will then be craving for could be extremely
        ravishing for the senses so choose wisely 🙂 😉

        Have a dark and ghoulishly
        excellent Tuesday Phil 🙂 😉

        Androgoth

  3. Red
    February 23, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I love it 🙂 Be safe. We will keep the place clean (relatively) while you are gone. I may have to circle back to leave you a song.
    Red.

    • February 24, 2012 at 8:53 am

      Thanks Red. I’m pretty sure I can trust this group to have a ton of fun and not completely trash the place.

  4. February 23, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Enjoy your time, where you can fit fun in, that is.
    Thanks for Billie and her sultry blues.

    • February 24, 2012 at 8:58 am

      Fun can be fit in just about anywhere, if you let it. I’m glad you enjoyed the Lady Day selections. She just phrases like no other can, straight from the soul like an arrow to the heart. I also like the musicianship of her band – skillfully understated, letting her unique quality shine through.

  5. February 25, 2012 at 7:19 am

    Jukebox? You’d like to know what I’d choose? Difficult one, Phil, considering that my taste ranges from Mozart to Motorhead. A lot before, in between, and after. That I am totally in love with Russian male choirs and the Blues. I once even went to a jarring Stockhausen. I was only 18 at the time. The only reason I didn’t walk out was because it was a small hall, and I sat in the front row only a couple of meters away from the man himself directing his orchestra. I do have manners. And my patience paid.

    I think the jukebox for a full length Beethoven symphony or an opera has yet to be invented. In the spirit of your Billie I’d choose Edith Piaf’s “Je ne regrette rien”, not because I don’t regret anything but because I love her voice, the atmosphere. Same with Peggy Lee’s “Is that all there is?” Again, not because I am inclined to ask her question but because, like Piaf, she evokes a wistful melancholia. And because she advocates to never take the easy way out instead “let’s keep keep dancing … and having a ball”.

    Cheek on jowl,

    U

    • February 25, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Ursula, you’re in luck, as the Random Jukebox works from just about anywhere. I love Édith Piaf, a female equivalent of a Frank Sinatra, with a voice immediately recognized, and a flair for being her own person doing things her way. Most Americans would certainly recognize her most famous work, “La vie en rose” but are not as familiar with many of her other equally famous anthems, including the one you chose. So for their benefit, here you go!

      Nice pick!

      As for Opera, you will have to wait until I complete that Rigoletto entry in my Opera blog that has been willfully neglected of late due to a burdensome workload. This dark work has been in the edit stage for far too long. Maybe I’ll work on it some when I return home.

  6. February 25, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Thanks. I need to hear some Billie Holiday. She is always good for the soul.

    • February 26, 2012 at 8:54 am

      You’re quite welcome. Stop by anytime you wish, mix and mingle with the others who are here, and feel free to add a few song selections of your own. I’ll peek in while I’m gone.

  7. February 25, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    What a perfect host. You’ve left us something to do and something to talk about. Be safe. We’ll miss you. Now we’re going to raid the liquor cabinet.

    • February 26, 2012 at 8:58 am

      No need to raid the liquor cabinet – I hired a bartender for everyone. He’s the guy with the white jacket and black bow-tie waiting for your drink order. Should I worry about Big Opal crashing the place with her gals?

  8. February 28, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Mmm, love me some Lady Day

    • March 3, 2012 at 11:42 am

      I’ve been out of circulation for a while, so I am late getting out this comment, but I’m glad you enjoyed the song selection. I really enjoy her voice and style.

  9. March 3, 2012 at 11:24 am

    if im on your blogroll list try clicking there . always as somehow wp has messed up and got deleted old site tied in with new one can you let me know if it works from your blogroll xxjen

    • March 3, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Jen, all I have is the following that used to be on my blogroll link:

      Jennygoth

      Clicking on it, I get sent to a WordPress main page that says the blog doesn’t exist anymore. Do you have an alternate web address for your blog?

      EDIT: Never mind, I was able to find the alternate link and put you back on the blogroll. The site is marked private though, so you will need to approve guests as they visit.

  10. March 4, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    –I’ve always loved Billie. One of the greatest talents we ever had.

    fabulous, interesting, tragic woman. Thank you, Phil.. xx

  1. February 23, 2012 at 8:01 pm
  2. March 17, 2012 at 9:07 am

Tell me, what's on your mind?

