Home > humor > It All Fits in There?

It All Fits in There?

 

After weeks of business travel, I am finally home to rest and recover.  Well, except that Spring Break at my son’s college coincided with my arrival back home.  I arrived home around 11:30 p.m., unpacked all my things, and thought I’d kick up my feet as I waited for my son to get home from his drive back from campus.  He is spending his Spring Break flying out to Colorado to visit friends who live there, and since his college campus is three hours from the middle of nowhere um, rather isolated with regard to sizable airports, he booked his flight from a much larger Airport near our home.  Yes, swing by the home to drop off his car and lure me into bringing him to airport at 0 Dark Hundred, official military time for long before the crack of dawn.  Son arrived around 1 a.m.  I was happy to see him – almost as happy as I was to turn in for the night.

 

I’ve forgotten how little sleep college kids actually need.  He brought home a car full of laundry, which he then proceeded to do in the early hours so he would have a fresh cache of clothes.  At the conclusion of the laundering, washer and dryer buzzers continually disrupting my sleep, Son awakens me at 4 a.m. to inform me his carry-on is torn, and might I have a have a carry-on he could use.  What luck!  I had no loaded weapons near my nightstand… er… I mean, I just unpacked my carry-on case a few hours ago.  I walked into his room and noticed the enormous pile of clothes, all winter weight and bulky, since he is heading to the mountains, sitting atop the bed waiting to be shoehorned into my carry-on.  I came to the conclusion that my carry-on must have been a really bad person in a former life to be subjected to this kind of punishment.  I was intrigued to see how he could possibly fit all he intended to take into that little carry-on.

 

While the following video clip is not my son, it went something like this:

 

 

Half an hour later, in the wee hours of early morn, we arrived at the airport.  He thanked me for the ride, I wished him a safe journey and a fun-filled week, and he asked me for money – again.  All is well in my world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. Red
    March 3, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    I am apparently still a mother. A month with only two pairs of jeans. Hmmm.
    Red.

    • March 5, 2012 at 7:51 am

      LOL! Only a mother would notice that. On the other hand, that assembly of clothes would have probably lasted a full semester back when I was in college. The magic pile of clothing waiting to be laundered oftentimes supplied another night’s clothing if it managed to pass the “smell” test. No wonder we didn’t get nearly the action we thought we would… 😀

      • Red
        March 5, 2012 at 8:15 am

        Oh. Eww. In typical boy child form, though…all socks and all underwear went. Priorities, I suppose.
        Red.

  2. March 3, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    You’re such a great Dad. Hope you’re catching up on your sleep and that your life has you staying put for at least a little while. Believe it or not, we miss you around these parts! I bet there are some others around your parts who miss you, too. (I don’t think that came out exactly right, but you know what I mean…)

    • March 5, 2012 at 7:53 am

      Better to have me missed around my parts than to have my parts missing, I suppose. I’m glad to be back, even if it is to an enormous pile of paperwork – my reward for being away from the office…

  3. March 3, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    I loooooooooooooove GREAT dads!

    Such a turn on….

    Mr. Liverpool is Awesome, Too.

    Phil, That video was great & SO R U. Xx Kisses from MN.

    • March 5, 2012 at 7:55 am

      Kim, my wife thinks a guy running a vacuum cleaner occasionally around the house is a big turn on. Huh – go figure… 🙂

  4. March 3, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Amazing how time and space efficient collegiates can be 🙂

    • March 5, 2012 at 7:57 am

      And those may very well be the only two things at which college kids are efficient. He’s sent pictures by phone – Colorado is looking magnificent this time of year.

  5. March 4, 2012 at 3:19 am

    Glad you’re home. It is amazing how little sleep young men need. That packing. VIdeo was amazing. I think I’m a good packer but that’s amazing.

    • March 5, 2012 at 8:00 am

      The foldover technique seems to work very well, as it helps keep the corners filled and compacts the clothes rather nicely. The only problem would be if you are asked to open the bag if requested by security to have the contents checked…

  6. March 4, 2012 at 5:13 am

    I used to get by with very little sleep when I was at college. But not anymore!

    • March 5, 2012 at 8:16 am

      I know what you’re saying! In my case, the travel and time changes affect my sleep pattern as well. Not quite as resilient as I was in my twenties.

  7. March 5, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    The joys of fatherhood:) But it sounds like you handled it all wonderfully,and sounds like you’re a wonderful dad. I have a feeling your carry-on will never be same lol.
    Nikki

    • March 6, 2012 at 7:35 am

      You’re right about that poor carry-on. 🙂

  8. March 5, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Hi Phil…I caught your blog on the Valentine/wine virtual party…sorry I missed all the fun…Since I am new at this stuff on word press..bare with me.

    Your son is so blessed to have a father as considerate as you..(glad he doesn’t really know what you were thinking…:) Life in the fast lane when you have college kids. Don’t make any plans as they change them on a dime for you. Now that I am retired and am hanging out with my daughter (two doors away) and her 5 energetic under 17 bunch) I don’t make plans unless I check in with her just in case I might miss out on something amazing. I have to drag my hubby since he prefers posting and movie viewing instead of grand-kid viewing. My drug of choice…grands growing up in their world of wonderment.

    Any dinner guest hanging out…those who never leave? Gotta love them uh! Maybe I could drop by for a short one.

    • March 6, 2012 at 7:39 am

      Hi Em – or is it Emily, or Emily Ann, or…?

      Thanks for stopping by. Pleasure to meet you. I’m pretty sure the cleaning crew removed all the incriminating evidence scrubbed up, put away all the food, and hid the alcohol for the Random Dinner Party. Blogs are not a good vehicle to have an ongoing thread that never ends, but I encourage you to feel free to comment directly to others who comment here and strike up side conversations on any of the current posts.

      Look at this as a playground to get to know folks.

      • March 6, 2012 at 4:15 pm

        It is Emilie actually since Mother had to be different in 1949…not many Emilie’s or Emily’s at that time…but now they are all over the place with half dozen of different spellings..but I am tickled to meet all the Em’s of the world..I googled it once to find we “Emily’s became number one several years ago 2002? but in Norway (Mom’s stomping grounds) Emilie surfaced in 2006 or so..and Emma (my grandmother’s name) came in first the next year. We are taking over the world so beware. We are showing up in commercials (AllState Ins) and movies..several lately and course when Robert (Bob) and I were married the Emily and Bob Newhart show was playing in 1970…I even met an author Emilie and Bob Barnes (christian author) at a retreat on the Oregon coast. Sweet….but here is the best story of all…Robert found out he had a half brother Jack who lived in Michigan (who was less than a year older) a big oops! on Dad..When we finally talked to him but never met he said he had always had a Bob and Emily in his life…Bob was his truck and Emily was his German shepherd. Amazing uh? He course had no idea we existed. So sad tho he had never married and was in poor health so we did not met him.

        My son in law wants to call me Emmer’s UH????What ever it takes I’l answer to anything..grannyma is the newest tag…Enough about Em’s

        Working on a road trip story…Sarah…. in the editing mode now as I struggle with keeping focused and not sidetracked…..Reutreads blogger seems to have a good eye for good “starts” as she review new books/ authors.

        Any pointers? I’m new at this so seek advice where ever my cursor leads me….

        I’ll play later at the swings…
        ….thanks for your reply

        • March 7, 2012 at 9:29 am

          Well then, Emilie I am pleased to make your acquaintance. Quite a story about your name.

          I don’t have any real advice I can give you regarding Blogging. I write here with no other purpose than the sheer joy of putting thoughts swirling around in my mind to paper (or I should say electronic monitor). I keep my more private thoughts in a journal for my eyes only, and when time permits and something more innocuous occurs I come here and write. Otherwise, I am not on a quest to gain readership, or to publish, or to rule the world someday. That I have a following is a mystery to me, although I treasure every one that takes the time to comment. Each is a treasure, although I try not to feel obligated to have to write something for their sake.

          Ultimately you need to decide what your raison d’être for establishing a blog is, and just go for it. I’m sure other more prolific bloggers can give you better advice than I can.

          Have fun at the swings – they are still my favorite after all these years.

  9. Androgoth
    March 8, 2012 at 5:46 am

    This is the power of thought, and with a wicked
    interpretation he manages to fill the carry-on in
    a rather excellent fashion… Now who says that
    boys are not well versed in the art of packing 🙂

    A fine posting Phil and while I am here I will just
    say that I am pleased that you have enjoyed the
    more revealing side of some of my postings 😉 lol

    Have a wicked one today…

    Androgoth

    • March 8, 2012 at 7:21 am

      Yes Andro, some of your posts in the naughty category have me likewise wondering how “it all fits in there”… 😀

  10. March 9, 2012 at 4:24 am

    Thanks Phil…you are a gracious host. I know I love to write and ramble but it can be a time consumer if I have nothing to say like now. My son’s don’t like to talk on the phone just in case I start rambling and have a hard time shutting me up…Or they say Sorry Mom,,,talk later which could be much later…Exit…stage right……………..:)

  11. March 9, 2012 at 4:26 am

    Hey that time is wrong….I’ve got 1:24…never noticed it before..ummmm.

    • March 9, 2012 at 7:52 am

      That’s because my location (and therefore my blog) is East Coast, so it is 4:24 am local time. You caught most of us sleeping…

      • March 9, 2012 at 1:08 pm

        But not you…I finally hit my pillow at 2..and needed to get up before 9 and I almost made it. Of course! it is real time..but post from emails are my time when posting…but blogging is set on your time…go figure..uh? Virtual living is a crazy world. You have a great day Phil.

        >>Just a side note my drummer son is Phil Andrew plays in a local Eugene, OR band called “Basin and Range” just put out their first CD…Course they have a web site…Instrumental only with sound from another “world”..Good stuff..course it is my son! 🙂 It is that name thing again! I tend to connect to plus your quirky pic is sweet…like my son..’s (I have 4)

        Stage—–right!

  12. March 9, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Oops..you were asleep..up by 8! good for you.

    Stage….right!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

