Home > Music > Interlude

Interlude

 

I know, I know.  I’ve been absent around these parts for a while.  Work has a way of crowding out free time every once in a while.  Well my friends, after a long week of being away, I can finally breathe out a sigh of relief; my workweek is done.  I went to dinner earlier, and afterward decided to spend some time along the waterfront with a few friends to decompress and relax a while before preparing to return home tomorrow.

 

The day had been mostly cloudy and a bit chilly where I have been, but it felt good to be outdoors breathing in the sea air.  By the time we got to the waterfront it was already dark.  The cloud cover was breaking up however, and there was a nearly full moon peeking through the clouds and reflecting eerily on the water.  A fog was beginning to form at the waterline.  We sat on a park bench overlooking the moored ships and smaller boats.  The fog kept building up along the water, enveloping most of the ships that were fading out of sight.  Meanwhile, the moon above was shining through the cloud cover with increasing brightness casting a glow on the fog and the outlines of the ships.  The effect was rather haunting; the ships took on a ghost-like appearance as the mist swirled around them.  Eerie and supernatural.

 

I’m not in much of a writing mood tonight nor do I have the time.  I need to get ready to return home tomorrow.  I’ll leave you with some mood music that captures what it felt like at the waterfront harbor this evening.

 

 

Enjoy.  I hope to visit your blogs when I return tomorrow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. April 6, 2012 at 2:36 am

    Heavens, I wouldn’t blog either if I had the choice to sit on the waterfront watching the ships or sit at the computer watching the screen. Enjoy.

    • April 7, 2012 at 9:51 am

      Despite the beauty of the waterfront, I was happy in this case to be on my way home. It was nice however to get out and breathe a little – long week away from home.

  2. April 6, 2012 at 6:57 am

    Welcome back. On the other hand, take another break once you get home and decompress some more. You sound a bit tired. We’re patient and will await.

    • April 7, 2012 at 9:52 am

      Totsy, I’m always tired, but the way I figure it, we can sleep when we’re dead…

  3. April 6, 2012 at 10:33 am

    The clouds breaking up; the bright moon burning through the fog…sounds like an allegory about life to me. 😉 Then again, so do most things when I think about them long and hard enough!

    Glad you took some time to breathe and take in what the ocean had to offer. Safe travels, my good friend!

    • April 7, 2012 at 9:53 am

      Thanks Lorna. It is good to be home.

  4. April 6, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    fantastic pic phil havent had time for wp been really caught up on other things have a great easter xxjen

    • April 7, 2012 at 9:54 am

      Hoping you have a great Easter too, Jen.

  5. April 6, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Welcome back Phil, love the pix.

    • April 7, 2012 at 9:54 am

      Thanks Carol. What’s cooking at your place for Easter dinner? I’m sure it will be delicious!

  6. Androgoth
    April 7, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    That photograph would be a good graphic for one of my scripts as it has all the right ingredients for a good and wholesome scare 🙂 lol I am pleased that you are back Phil I was just about to send the Zombies round to look for you 🙂

    Well only the Lady Zombies but you still have to watch out for them as they like to strip a man down to his Evils in a flash of wickedness and if they happen to be in a hungry mood at the time of stripping, well even those could come off if you catch my drift? 😉 lol

    Anyway Phil have a very nice weekend and don’t forget to have at least two Easter Eggs in between dodging the Zombie Ladies fingers and those Bloody great Rabbits 🙂 lol

    Androgoth

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      I know I’m three weeks late responding to this comment, but it’s been a crazy month for sure. I’ll need to catch up at your place. I’m actually scared to go over there, for I might get a bit… er… um… well, distracted…

  7. April 8, 2012 at 10:26 am

    That picture is so eerie, walking along the piers on a dark and foggy night sounds more spooky than relaxing lol.
    Happy Easter Phil! I hope you have a really wonderful time this holiday weekend.

    Big hug, Nikki

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:23 pm

      Thanks for the Easter greetings. I know – three weeks late. I did have a nice weekend though. I rather enjoyed that spooky feeling at the time. I was happy to be returning home after a difficult week – the eeriness was the exclamation point on the mood for the week.

  8. April 8, 2012 at 10:34 am

    The wedding madness has been a little calmer this past week, Hopefully all goes well and calmly when your daughters plan their weddings, but if not you can probably take a few extra business trips away lol. And yes absolutely you can adopt me!! When can I start calling you dad?;)
    Nikki x

  9. April 11, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    —I swear,
    I was just going to email you, Phil. I was worried.

    I’m glad you are okay ❤

    Xx Love.

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:25 pm

      Hiya Kim. That’s rather sweet to hear you were worried about me. It’s been crazy busy, that’s all, but otherwise I’m fine.

  10. Red
    April 12, 2012 at 1:09 am

    Fab picture and great music. I hope you are managing to decompress a bit.
    Red.

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      Thanks Red.

  11. April 16, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    hi phil hope your well xjen

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:27 pm

      I’m fine. How was the Whitby Goth festival?

  12. April 18, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Hello Phil… I tag you! check it out here : http://allaboutlemon.com/music-passion/
    Join us whenever you are ready, this Music Passion will go on every month… Talk to you soon! I miss u 🙂
    Dolly

  13. finlaygray
    April 18, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    lorna wrote exactly what I was thinking!
    lovely photo at the top, quite mythical

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      Thanks Tom. I appreciate the sentiment.

  14. April 20, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Where are you???? Looks like a setting for a Steven King novel…

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      Hi Charly. Working in San Diego, but this was a smaller marina just north of the city where a friend moors their boat.

  15. April 24, 2012 at 10:55 am

    love the photo… it’s stunning. As was the writing piece. 😉

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:31 pm

      Thanks Jeanna.

      • April 30, 2012 at 3:39 pm

        Hope things are calming down for you some, I was actually thinking about you this morning… hope your world is GREAT!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

