Home > Music > Music Passion

Music Passion

 

I’ve been swamped with work and travel, but a frequent fan of this blog, Dolly from All About Lemon popped in the other day and asked me to play along in a fun post game Music Passion. Since I generally like music, I thought I might join in just for the fun of it.

The basic rules are pretty simple:

  • Find a song consistent with the theme of the month
  • Post it in your blog
  • Say something about the song
  • Title your post “Music Passion”
  • Link it back to originating blog, in this month’s case Dolly’s All About Lemon

This month’s theme is a song from the 50’s with the word “Love” in the title.  Well, since I’m a huge Billie Holiday fan, this was an easy choice for me, even if my choice is not mainstream.  Without further ado, here’s my selection:

 

Comes Love – Billie Holiday (1957)

 

 

I grew up with a house full of music – all genres.  My father liked old jazz standards, and there were a number of Billie Holiday LP’s around to listen to as a child.  I never tire of her voice.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. April 24, 2012 at 3:22 am

    Wow Phil thank you so much for joining in my Music Passion… I like this song, it’s only now I’ve heard of it… it’s good to sip a wine and slow dance with its tune 🙂

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:05 pm

      Thanks for the idea Dolly. It was fun. Glad you enjoyed the Billie Holiday song.

      • April 28, 2012 at 10:12 pm

        You’re very welcome Phil 🙂 we’ll have the voting soon… hehehe and I enjoyed the Billie Holiday song. Great choice! See you around 🙂

  2. April 24, 2012 at 3:27 am

    Reblogged this on allaboutlemon and commented:
    Hello friends, let’s hear Phil’s Music Passion- Comes Love by Billie Holiday (1957)
    Share with us your Music Passion too 🙂

  3. April 24, 2012 at 7:54 am

    Swanky. And the horns added a bit of tartness to the tune. Perfect for the theme. And glad to see you resurface, my friend!

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      Swanky! I love that description.

  4. April 24, 2012 at 9:04 am

    The irony of it, Phil: I can’t hear you. No, I am not deaf. But my computer is. No matter: What do we have memory for it not to replay what’s stored in there?

    U

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      The irony indeed! What strange hell is it to come and visit this blog, where over half the entries have some kind of music attached, and then not have the ability to hear the pieces? We’ll have to dispatch the computer fairy and see if she can solve your dilemma.

  5. Alex Fyffe
    April 24, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    I’ve always loved Billie Holiday. “Am I Blue” is a particular favorite. Of course, nothing beats the raw power of “Strange Fruit.” Great post.

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:12 pm

      So many good songs. So difficult to pick out an absolute favorite. Her voice in the 40’s was especially good, even if the recordings were not quite as high fidelity as those in the 50’s.

  6. April 24, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    What a “love”ly choice. I love her voice! It makes me think of rainy afternoons with my family!

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      I love her voice too. Glad you enjoyed it!

  7. April 24, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    Really love this song!! Thanks for posting!!

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. Red
    April 25, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    This is a great one. It is as though she is doing a duet with the trumpeter. I think it is perfect for the theme. Don’t work too hard,
    Red.

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      Red, so nice of you to swing by and listen in. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Most of the hard work is now behind me, and the travel schedule should be waning. I hope to catch up at your place soon. Looks like you’ve been rather prolific this month

      • Red
        April 29, 2012 at 8:56 pm

        A to Z had me going. Between that, taking off five days for the wedding and now the garbage this weekend, I was beginning to wonder if I would pull off all the alphabet. If you want to catch up in rapid fire, drop by The Map. The top link should be the A to Z, which has a link to each of the posts. I thought I would help out those who got lost or busy or sucked into the challenge themselves.

        I will be around when you catch up!
        Red.

  9. April 30, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Hello Phil, I have good news… it’s your turn to tag us with your Music Passion theme for the month of May and we will tag along with you. http://allaboutlemon.com/2012/04/30/music-passion-and-the-music-tagger-for-may-is-phil-of-random-thoughts/
    Thank you so much 🙂

    • May 4, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      I will, when I get home from work tonight.

  1. April 29, 2012 at 2:48 am
  2. April 30, 2012 at 10:51 am
  3. May 4, 2012 at 12:10 pm
  4. June 4, 2012 at 9:25 am
  5. March 6, 2014 at 10:11 am

Tell me, what's on your mind?

