Home > Blogging > Home At Last!

Home At Last!

Ah, dear readers (if I have any left), I’ve returned home after a rather long stretch of work related travel that has kept me preoccupied and away from all your sites, which I miss reading so much. With a little luck, these weekly trips away will subside shortly.

 

It is so good to be home!  Why, just looking out the window I can see…

  • Lawn in serious need of mowing
  • Vegetable garden in need of tilling
  • Fence in need of repair and a section to be relocated
  • Weeding – why the hell can’t lawns be as hardy as weeds?
  • Flower beds in need mulching and weeding
  • Landscaping plants to be put in

Yes, good to be home all right.  Dammit!

 

Perhaps if you stumble upon this posting, you could help me out by suggesting a topic or two I might write about when I return here later this evening, or perhaps tomorrow, completely exhausted from my outdoor chores.  I could use a little motivation and inspiration.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Categories: Blogging Tags: , , ,
  1. April 28, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Why not write about your travels 🙂

    • April 28, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      Normally I’d consider that a great idea MC, but since most of the travel has been work related, I’m afraid it might remind me of… well, work. Maybe when this month is a distant memory, I might mellow enough to write about my destination without it triggering thoughts of work.

      • April 29, 2012 at 4:44 am

        Oooh… EUW! Bad idea then ! Carry on! LOL 🙂

  2. April 28, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    I have a suggestion: What has changed? I know your blog banner has and your yard has, but I have a feeling other things have, too. Kind of version of what I learned over summer vacation… 😉

    Welcome back, Buddy!

    • April 28, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      Ah, changes. So much to chronicle and talk about for sure. Good fodder for future posts. I wonder though if I should allow some time to pass, if only to let these changes age and finish just a touch – I am a winemaker after all…

  3. April 28, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    Welcome home Phil! However, I’m sure that “Honey Do” list is waiting….Visit with us soon!

    • April 28, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      Carol, I’m convinced there is some evil night fairy who sneaks in stealthily and adds items to the Honey Do list while I’m sleeping.

  4. April 28, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Since you’ll read this having battled the elements (your garden), trying to beat weeds into submission, keep your meadow under control, rake the leaves, possibly having used spray as promoted by the likes of Proctor & Gamble (!), shot a squirrel digging up your freshly planted bulbs, sworn never to keep a cat again, retired to the garden shed in need of respite, why not write on the futility of life as represented by keeping your acreage up to what’s expected of you. Which is a lot. There is a good reason gardeners are, on the whole, a miserable lot.

    If you want to know how best to battle the elements not under our control you are in good hands. There was a time when I could be found – like someone out of a Wilkie Collins novel – in my flowing nightgown collecting snails devouring my up and coming plants at five o’clock in the morning. Yes, the morning dew. Should you follow my path and hand over a bag of fresh snails, unadulterated by poison, to the friend who appreciates butter and garlic (and a bit of rubber) do not omit to point out that snails need to be starved for about 24 hours before cooking. This is to clean their digestive tract.

    Other than that you may wish to ponder on why all of the above rarely (make that never) feature in opera. Not even in Fidelio. But then, I dare say, Beethoven wasn’t a gardener. It would have stretched him to the limits of his short in supply patience.

    U

    • April 28, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      You know something Ursula? I believe you’re onto to something profound here. The whole concept of gardening and nature is turned up on its head as I ponder your statement. After all, what would be more “natural” than to let mother nature decide what plants and weeds ought to grow and where to grow? Yet we become enslaved to work, till, fertilize, transplant, cultivate, weed, mulch, move dirt around, carve out long sweeps, and plant non-indigenous varieties of vegetation, and then marvel at what is supposedly “Nature’s beauty.” It is crazy, isn’t it Ursula?

      I had to laugh at the notion of an opera based entirely on the futility of gardening. The libretto would be full of expletives and mostly soliloquy styled arias. I’m not sure if it would be a comedy or tragedy. But of one thing I am absolutely certain; such an idea would ensure a worse reception and even smaller following than that which already defines modern-day opera.

  5. April 28, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Welcome back Phil
    Now that I live in a condo I miss my yard and garden so much, It’s worth all the work to have a beautiful garden but maybe think about hiring a neighborhood teen to do the mowing, thus less work and more enjoying for you:) Nikki x

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:04 pm

      I’m afraid the concept of a local teen looking to make a few dollars by working to mow lawns in the neighborhood is a foreign concept. When my son used to live at home before college, I made him cut the lawn and do the landscaping work with me. He’s away at school now, and I keep telling myself I enjoy doing all this. I’m just not sure I’m doing a good job of convincing myself though… 🙂

      Condos are starting to sound very inviting.

  6. finlaygray
    April 30, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    still here philip and glad you are back
    I think you should write a piece entitled
    ” Glen close…did ANYONE fancy her in FATAL ATTRACTION”
    AROUND 1000 WORDS SHOULD SUFFICE
    x

    • May 3, 2012 at 7:00 pm

      John, so nice of you to stop by. Let me ponder the Glen Close question. Let’s see. Um… No one I can think of immediately. (That’s 7 words, 993 to go…)

  7. April 30, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    ive just had a word with alan titschmarsh somehow think ive spelt that wrong lol but you know who i mean he said he can help out an hour next week lol great your back phil stop giggling at my spelling whitby was fantastic have a good week xjen

    • Androgoth
      May 1, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      Yes well I am not surprised, actually I
      might have got that spelling wrong too 😉 lol

      Androgoth XXXx

    • May 3, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      I imagine you need to be careful typing the name into Google as well…

  8. May 1, 2012 at 10:06 am

    im back lol think im on an elastic band hellooo phil xxjen

  9. Androgoth
    May 1, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    hey it’s about time you got back oh
    wanderer of the plains of wickedness 🙂 lol
    I hope you enjoyed the break 🙂

    Androgoth

    • May 3, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      I actually missed being here, although I wouldn’t mind going on holiday should the opportunity present itself. Good to see you stop by Androgoth

  10. Red
    May 2, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    So, glad you are back. I think the yard and the job would just remind you of that miserable “w” word. I say find a texture which feels wonderful and see where it leads.
    Red.

    • May 3, 2012 at 7:06 pm

      I think I may take Ursula’s advice and simply embrace the local broadleaf flora. I’ll come up with some exotic name for the weeds and just sip some drinks from the Patio…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

