Home > Sports > Derby Day 2012

Derby Day 2012

And down the stretch they come!!!

 

Ladies and Gentlemen, the 138th running of the Kentucky Derby is almost here.  The draw is set, post positions are revealed, and the field is large, with 20 contenders. Without further ado, here are the horses by post position:

  1. Daddy Long Legs (30-1)
  2. Optimizer (50-1)
  3. Take Charge Indy (15-1)
  4. Union Rags (9-2)
  5. Dullahan (8-1)
  6. Bodemeister (4-1)
  7. Rousing Sermon (50-1)
  8. Creative Cause (12-1)
  9. Trinniberg (50-1)
  10. Daddy Nose Best (15-1)
  11. Alpha (15-1)
  12. Prospective (30-1)
  13. Went The Day Well (20-1)
  14. Hansen (10-1)
  15. Gemologist (6-1)
  16. El Padrino (20-1)
  17. Done Talking (50-1)
  18. Sabercat (30-1)
  19. I’ll Have Another (12-1)
  20. Liaison (50-1)

If you need more information before making your predictions, click on the following link:
Meet the horses and their riders

So don’t forget, May 5, at 6:24 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time.  Ladies, do wear your finest hats.  Gentlemen, dress appropriately.  Let me know your predictions!  And may the best horse win.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. May 3, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    They are beautiful aren’t they? I love horses… 🙂 Enjoy it!

    • May 4, 2012 at 8:26 am

      Beautiful, very powerful, highly intelligent, loyal animals horses are; I should add a little high-strung for the Thoroughbreds. A good friend of mine is a future Hall of Fame Jockey, still riding competitively at 50, zeroing in on the top 10 total wins of all-time (nearly 6,500) over his career. 40 miles per hour bunched up so tightly on nothing more than a saddle with dirt flying everywhere. Not for the faint of heart.

      • May 4, 2012 at 8:30 am

        Yes, they are… I love them. My friends, when I was a kid, they raised standardbreds and I got to help train them for a little while. I absolutely love horses… just as you described too.

        That’s wonderful for your friend! How exciting! Yes, god forbid there’s an accident of some kind… they can get hurt… it’s such a thrill though I would imagine.

        I miss being around horses quite a bit. 🙂

  2. Ursula
    May 4, 2012 at 3:19 am

    The Angel, when pressed, took two seconds to glance at the names:: “Optimizer”, he said. Now he [the Angel] is a winner. Don’t play Monopoly with him.

    I myself, knowing how Lady Luck may show you her cold shoulder, gave it a little more consideration:: “Daddy Nose Best”? Some headline writers need to be shown the exit. “El Padrino” for the passionate among you. ‘Bodemeister’ sounds like the one for beerdrinkers. You, Phil, may find that “Creative Cause” fills your bookie’s pocket. ‘Liaison’ is for Lorna. The one who’d fit “Rousing Sermon’ shall remain unnamed. Then there is ‘Alpha’ commended for the simplicity of his name. Will he make it to Omega? “Daddy Long Legs”. What’s that fixation on fathers? Horses are horses. And no one likes spiders. After this exhaustive in-depth assessment please do ask me “Went The Day Well”. I don’t know. You tell me. Just pour me a double and “I’ll Have Another”. In order to keep things in “Prospective”.

    Good luck.

    U

    • May 4, 2012 at 8:37 am

      Optimizer would sure optimize the winnings at 50-1. Good gate position at #2 however. Perhaps he can place his bet with Monopoly money. I’d be happy to do the payout with same.

      Right now Bodemeister seems the odds-on favorite, and in Kentucky, where beer drinkers, bass boats, bodacious belles, and Bubbas in bass boats abound, picking a winner beginning with B isn’t so bad. (I now imagine I’ll get shunned by any Kentucky following – public apology to come later once I’ve given it to my P.R. people).

      I’m thinking I could give a Rousing Sermon, but given the odds, I’m sure I’ll only be looking at a congregation of horse’s asses. From afar. That ensure I’ll be Done Talking.

  3. May 4, 2012 at 8:49 am

    My family always gets together to watch the Kentucky Derby on TV. Last year, the women (well I started it) started a tradition of wearing hats to watch the race. I also channel my “Southern Belle” accent for the party.

    This year I spent WAY TOO much time making a fancified hat for the affair. I plan to write a post (including pictures) after the party. I hear we’re having a prize for the best hat!

    All that matters not. I love watching thoroughbreds do what they seem to love to do: run. I’m going with Take Charge Indy. Why? I like the name–my system for picking is rather unorthodox, but I never place money on my “bets.” I just want all the horses and jockeys to make it through the race in tact.

    Great post. I went to the web site you provided–something I was meaning to do anyway! 🙂

    • May 4, 2012 at 10:24 am

      I’m looking forward to pictures of the fancy hats, and tales of the merriment of the day. Take Charge Indy sounds a lot like you of late. Choosing by name can be as much fun as selecting by the various Jockey Silks. I do wonder however about some of the names that folks come up with – almost as bad as Pop Culture stars with their own children.

      • May 4, 2012 at 10:38 am

        Most times, the names are some combo of the mares and sires of the horse–an homage to their lineage–unlike children of celebs. Who knows what those people were on when they named their children Pilot, Apple, Kyd, Ocean, Blanket, Moon Unit, Diva Thin Muffin, or Moxie Crimefighter. I “kyd” you not! 😉

        Yeah, my memoir will probably be published by some Indy publisher and I’ve got to take charge of that book now that my fancy-pants hat is done. I’m telling you, Phil, I could wear this thing to the next Royal Wedding! 🙂

  4. May 4, 2012 at 9:36 am

    –Fabulous.

    I think I shall bet on “Daddy Nose Best ” because I love the name.

    Xx kiss for Phil.

    • May 4, 2012 at 10:25 am

      Kim, are you telling me you’re a Daddy’s girl? 🙂

  5. May 4, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    This is very interesting. I’ll bet on Optimizer, the Jockey looks cute, hehehe 🙂
    And by the way Phil, we are waiting for your Music Passion : http://allaboutlemon.com/2012/05/04/music-passion-a-recap-for-the-april-theme-music-passion/
    Thanks and see you around buddy!

    • May 4, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      I will post an entry for Music Passion tonight, when I get home from work. Thanks for visiting!

      • May 4, 2012 at 2:12 pm

        You’re very welcome Phil, and talk to you soon 🙂
        Take care!

  6. May 5, 2012 at 8:11 am

    Phil, just a thought (I can’t leave anything alone can I?) Lorna with her love for oxymorons may appreciate this: “May the best horse win”. Indeed. Which other horse would win?

    Wishing you all a great day. Am madly jealous to catch your derby’s excitement only from far away, kept away by that pond. And for those betting: May the best horse win. Insert smiley.

    U

    • May 5, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      I just don’t know Ursula. If we already knew who the best horse was, there would be no point in a race. And even after the race, with winner certain, the debate about who is best rages on as though no race was run at all. I just love the human condition…

  7. May 5, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Welcome back! And wow – what an amazing photo!

    • May 5, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      Thanks Ladyfi. It is good to be back to some semblance of normal.

  8. May 5, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    What did I say earlier this evening to Lorna: I’ll have Another One. Not that, by then, I had had even had a first. Just before the race started the guys poured me a most odd mixture, and for good measure another before they went out on their midnight prowl. Am delighted, if only that instinct proved me right once more. Or maybe I was just thirsty.

    U

    • May 5, 2012 at 9:13 pm

      It only seems appropriate, on Cinco de Mayo, a Mexican jockey wins the race with I’ll Have Another. I do think I’ll pour another. Will you join me? Bar’s open everyone!

  9. May 5, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Well, that was fun! I hope Lorna won her hat derby. And for those who wish to see the 138th Kentucky Derby on video, here’s the following link:

    Link to Video of the race

  10. Androgoth
    May 9, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    So this is what U was on about on her Space? 🙂
    Well I knew that you were back but I didn’t know
    that you were on a roll with your blogging 😦 Well
    I have turned all my updates off to clear my inbox
    of all the ridiculous clutter of WordPress and Fetish
    for e mails is definitely not my passion…

    Great posting by the way and nice to see you in
    full Kentucky Derby spirit… Have a fun evening Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

