Home > Horse Racing, Sports > Preakness Stakes 2012

Preakness Stakes 2012

This Saturday, May 19 will mark the 137th running of the Preakness Stakes.  This is the second jewel in the Triple Crown of horse racing here in the States.  This race is the shortest in length, measuring in at 1 and 3/16 miles, favoring the sprinters.  Combine this with the Kentucky Derby’s 1 and 1/4 mile run, and then finishing in two weeks with the Belmont Stakes 1 and 1/2 mile marathon, and it becomes clear why the triple crown is so elusive, the last one claimed by Affirmed in 1978.

The Preakness is a big event here in my home state of Maryland.  The race is practically in my backyard, a mere 15 miles from where I live.  I thought you might enjoy getting into the mood of the race.  While the Kentucky Derby is the run for the roses, here in Maryland, the state flower is the Black Eyed Susan, and the winning horse will be draped in a blanket of this smaller species in the sunflower family.  Grab a nice bouquet and give them to your sweetheart:

Of course, next you’ll need to pour yourselves the official drink of the race, appropriately named the Black Eyed Susan:

Women, please find another outrageous hat for the day.  I’ll leave the details to Lorna, as she seems to have the most experience in the mad hatter department. Should you need any proof, just click here!

 

Now that everyone is in the spirit, without further ado ladies and gentlemen, I give you the slate of horses for your review and possible wagers listed by post positions:

  1. Tiger Walk (30-1)
  2. Teeth of the Dog (15-1)
  3. Pretension (30-1)
  4. Zetterholm (20-1)
  5. Went the Day Well (6-1)
  6. Creative Cause (6-1)
  7. Bodemeister (8-5)
  8. Daddy Nose Best (12-1)
  9. I’ll Have Another (5-2)
  10. Optimizer (30-1)
  11. Cozzetti (30-1)

So there you have it.  Eleven entrants in the 137th Preakness Stakes.  If perchance you do not like any of the names of these horses and want to offer up a name of your own, please drop by Ursula’s place and offer up a few creative names you might fancy if you were an owner of one of these magnificent thoroughbreds.

Tell me, what is your wager? Enjoy!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. Sean Breslin
    May 18, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Nice read!

    • May 19, 2012 at 7:11 am

      Glad you enjoyed it Sean.

  2. May 19, 2012 at 12:53 am

    Wonderful action shot of those horses. And such gorgeous flowers.

    • May 19, 2012 at 7:16 am

      My friend is a jockey, and I’m always amazed at how much dirt is kicked up in the mass of horses. His silks are just full of dirt and the goggles have multiple layers of visors that can flipped up if the visibility due to dirt and mud kicked up is impaired. It takes quite a bit of courage to ride like that. As a result, I always like to find images that capture the thrill and the danger.

  3. May 19, 2012 at 3:04 am

    I dare say we all have a Susan in our life. Though most are a little dull. That’s why it pays that all Suzannes/Susans are abbreviated to Suzy or Sue. Like blancmange it takes the boredom out of the tail. Puts the Marsala into the custard.

    Naturally, most of you commentators, those with dubious blogging names will now tell me that they (and their husbands and wives) are called Susan. Don’t blame me. Blame the parents.

    There was a time in my life, my son drew this to my attention, when – to me – all mothers at the school gate (dropping off apples of our eyes, picking them up later) were ‘Jenny’. It didn’t wash with the Angel that I felt it a safe bet.They were Jennies. No bull. I had the last laugh when mother of one of his bestest friends turned out to be, yes, a true Jenny. HA!

    Will come back to the horses. Feeling clever with the winning “I’ll Have Another” the last time round I am now of a dither.

    Ursula

    • May 19, 2012 at 7:20 am

      Ha! Speaking of safe bets, my oldest daughter is a Jennifer. Really long story about selecting that name – a whole topic unto itself and probably a good blog entry some day.

      • May 19, 2012 at 8:27 am

        Thank you, Phil. Where better to put my foot than right into it? If it weren’t a curse it’d be a gift.

        To be clear of my hazy facts I have just dug out (it’s small) The Oxford Mini Dictionary of First Names. it’s not good news: “Jennifer. Of Celtic (Arthurian) origin. Cornish form of King Arthur’s UNFAITHFUL wife (see Guinevere)…”

        It gets worse: “…enormously popular all over the English speaking world. One factor in its rise was probably George Bernard Shaw’s use of it for the Jennifer Dubedat in the ‘Doctor’s Dilemma’ (1905), See also Gaynor.”

        Whilst I do have a first edition (1934) of GBS’s essays i am not familiar with the doctor’s dilemma. Which shall be rectified once I have cooked lunch.

        Jennies of the world unite. Though will no longer meet you at the school gate.

        Hug,
        U

  4. May 19, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    Considering their post positions, the horses to watch are #5 Went the Day Well , #6 Creative Cause, #7 Bodemeister, #8 Daddy Nose Best and #9 I’ll Have Another. They will be my choices for my exacta, trifecta and superfecta. #2 Teeth of the Dog will be my long shot and should not be taken for granted.

    • May 19, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      What a race! Good selection of all the contenders.

      • May 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm

        Hi! Phil
        It’s always exciting to see a down the wire finish with both jockeys matching strides. The forthcoming Belmont Stakes will be more exciting.
        I think Bodemeister, Dullahan and Union Rags will be out there to spoil I’ll Have Another’s dream. “Marvelous” Mario Gutierrez, will try to set (a very rare) record in the history of horse racing.
        Goodluck! and Happy racing.

  5. May 19, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    I’m getting ready to watch the race (or pre-race hoopla) as I type this. Every year I hope for two things: that all horses and jockeys come through the races safe and sound; and that maybe I’ll see another Triple Crown winner in my lifetime. The last time was when I was 20 and toasted on whatever it was I was drinking at the time. 😐

    Have you ever gone to the Preakness? You said a friend of yours is a jockey…

    • May 19, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      Lorna, I’ve been to the Preakness half a dozen times. Just once in the Infield when I first moved down to Maryland – and once in the Infield area is enough for a lifetime. We’ve been in the Grandstand areas a few times, and once I got to know Mario Pino, we went a few times to the clubhouse seating area. I’ve coached his two daughters in sports. He’s now retiring 10th on the all time win list. Remarkable athlete considering he’s almost our age and has had to keep his weight identical to when he was 20. More than 39,000 races! Great guy. Great family.

      Recent Article Here

      • May 20, 2012 at 7:28 am

        Neat. I’d love to go same day. I live close enough to Saratoga Springs to go watch some races, but haven’t. I’m not a betting gal, just a horse-lover.

        That was some race, huh? Maybe this is the year that Affirmed gets to be second on the list of most recent T ripple Crown winners… You can bet on this: I’ll be watching the Belmont Stakes!

  6. Androgoth
    May 19, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Have a great weekend Phil…

    Androgoth

    • May 19, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      So far, so good Andro. Hope you’re having a terrific weekend as well, my wicked friend.

  7. Red
    May 19, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    I wonder who from #9’s team hacked off the officials…Awful pole position for the favored mount. Should be between 5 and 7. Hmm.

    I think it is absolutely hysterical your state flower is the Black Eyed Susan. Most everywhere I have lived, they are considered weeds. The drink is definitely worthwhile. Cheers!
    Red.

    • May 19, 2012 at 10:02 pm

      All in all, the number 9 post position seemed to work out well. And well, your comments on our State Flower have me howling with laughter. You’re right – it is a rather hardy and invasive species! Thanks for swinging by and making me chuckle.

  8. May 19, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    In a most exciting neck and neck finish by a nose, it was I’ll Have Another, doing just that. One step away from the Triple Crown, not accomplished since 1978.

    Here’s the race, for as long as YouTube keeps the video. Watch the excitement – what a finish!

    • Red
      May 19, 2012 at 10:56 pm

      Seriously excellent race. Horses are simply amazing.
      Red.

      • May 21, 2012 at 12:38 pm

        I often wonder if the horses communicate with each other, talking some smack on those last few furlongs…

  9. May 20, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Well, Phil, what can I say? I had ‘Another’ first time round, I had another yesterday, now I feel sea sick. There is something oddly cruel about that three time win. I dearly hope he’ll make it if only to make Lorna happy (during her lifetime).

    Two questions: Why do I always “win'” when I haven’t put money on my bet? Secondly, do you and any of your readers believe in leaving best to last? Say, on your plate. I do. That’s why I love it when the winning horse belts past at the last minute; Few things will make my pulse race faster (and make me feel faintly sick in my stomach) than when ‘your’ horse suddenly gathers speed and pushes through. So the moral of my story is: Put your faith into the horse you believe in and, if you are me, do NOT put real money on it. If you had even ‘Another’ wouldn’t have won.

    U

    PS This goes to Red: You made me laugh. Here, in England, and indeed anywhere in Europe, Black Eyed Susan is cherished. I have grown it myself. Like sunflowers they brighten even an overcast sky. But then, as we established recently, the definition of a weed is “a plant in the wrong place”. And, that could be any. I once had to take down a Sycamore. Hated doing so. A tree is a tree. Still.

    U

    • May 21, 2012 at 12:37 pm

      Sea sick, on only two drinks? I think it will take quite a feat for I’ll Have Another to take another. A few of the better Derby horses were pulled from the Preakness and rested for the Belmont, and Bodemeister will not be there. Still, against all odds, I would love to see a triple crown winner. I do love I’ll Have Another’s heart – he stared down Bodemeister in the last few gallops and lunged forward on the last two strides. Sheer will and heart. Fun to watch.

      • May 21, 2012 at 2:27 pm

        No, Phil, sea sick on two safe bets I didn’t place. Few people will DRINK me under the table. It’s genetic – nothing to boast about.

        Considering your reply to “My Inner Chick” you do know how to make a woman jealous, don’t you? And I am not even the jealous type.

        U

  10. May 21, 2012 at 9:24 am

    Phil, I need your address, please. Xxxx

    • May 21, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Kim, check your e-mail.

  11. Androgoth
    May 25, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    It is almost the weekend again Phil
    and I hope that your plans are wicked
    and frighteningly ghoulish 🙂

    Androgoth

    • May 29, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      It was an excellent weekend. A tad on the hot side, but summer is summer, and there’s little complaining from me.

      • Androgoth
        May 29, 2012 at 3:23 pm

        Yes it was hot here too, which makes a pleasant
        change from all that rain we have had recently 🙂

        Have a wicked Hump day next Phil 😉

        Androgoth

        • May 29, 2012 at 3:29 pm

          You know, between all the naughtiness, wickedness, and hump day humpiness, I may never find the time to write, although methinks it might be a pleasant distraction nonetheless.

          • Androgoth
            May 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

            Wow… Wildman 🙂

            A distraction of any kind of wickedness
            is worth every minute, just don’t be too
            frisky as you have all week to survive it,
            mind you the thrill is exceedingly sweet
            depending on the energies of your nymph
            of desire 🙂 😉 lol

            Androgoth

  12. May 27, 2012 at 5:08 am

    Hello my dearest friend, You Are Loved … Please accept my gift for you here: http://allaboutlemon.com/2012/05/27/all-about-lemon-is-beautiful-and-versatile-yay-toothsome-and-you-are-loved/
    Thanks so much!
    Dolly

    • May 29, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      Dolly, thank you so much for the wonderful gift of recognition. I think I’ll enjoy it for what it is and not have to worry about passing it along. Much appreciated.

      • May 29, 2012 at 3:33 pm

        Yes Phil and it’s yours to enjoy because You are Loved!
        mmmwahh

  13. May 28, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Hi Phil, your blog inspire me, I nominate you to receive very inspiring blogger award. Find it here: http://kofegeek.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/new-award-on-may-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    • May 29, 2012 at 3:26 pm

      Hi kofegeek. First let me thank you for thinking so highly of me and bestowing an award for these random thoughts that make it into posts. I don’t know if you are aware, but I’ve stopped doing awards, for I barely have enough time to post here and more importantly comment on the blogs of others. I appreciate their usefulness in helping others find new blogs and promote the sites of others, but I simply do not have the time to do this. I hope you’ll understand. I am very flattered nonetheless.

      • May 31, 2012 at 8:44 am

        Of course I understand Phil, blogging look simply but people who don’t do blogging can not understand how much time and patience we have do to maintain a blog. The most important thing in this blog is to make you and other nominations know that I love their blogs. Another way to receive this award is to make your blog more awesome, although it is already awesome now 🙂

        • May 31, 2012 at 8:47 am

          By the way, I do not take any awards on my other blogs (kofeart.wordpress.com)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

