Home > Moon, Music > Rose Moon 2012

Rose Moon 2012

Another full moon tonight.  June’s moon is called the Rose Moon or sometimes here referred to as the Strawberry Moon.  With precious little time to write, I thought I’d instead celebrate another full moon with a Beethoven’s Piano Sonata no. 14, op. 27 no. 2, more commonly known (and more easily remembered) as Moonlight Sonata.  Here it is in all three movements:

 

 

 

Enjoy.  I’ll be scarce most of this week.  Until we meet again…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. June 5, 2012 at 2:11 am

    Funny old world, Phil. When you suggested the theme of ‘moon’ as part of the music competition Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata was the first piece that popped into my mind.Then I thought to myself: No, that’s too obvious. So I kept schtum.

    Needless to say that I always look forward to the uplifting ‘Presto”, the third movement, after a gentle and rather melancholic beginning. That’s both the trouble with and the joy of music: It induces a mood. One minute you feel tearful, the next you feel ready to conquer the world. Or at least not drown.

    U

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Ursula, I would go mad if I could not listen to music. It is the balm that soothes my soul. I too wondered if Moonlight Sonata would have been too obvious, and since I’m a bit of a moon child, I figured I’d save it for this post instead. Given the cycle, the next Blue Moon (the semi-rare occasion where a second full moon that occurs in the same month) is August 31. Thank you for ensuring I have a topic that I should play with!

  2. June 5, 2012 at 2:19 am

    Phil, as an afterthought: Considering your continued, or rather intermittent, absence may I suggest a title for one of your future posts: “Once in a blue moon”. Looking forward to see how you’ll work that one.

    U

  3. June 5, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Lovely to hear from you. My son is currently practising this piece on the piano so my head is full of it. How lucky am I!

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:11 am

      Lucky indeed you are. It’s a lovely piece. And considering how late I am in getting to this response, I assume you’ve listened to it countless more times. The one thing about having a music student in the home is the wonderful sounds that permeate the home – well sometimes. A few sour notes here and there don’t ruin the overall joy.

  4. June 5, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks for sharing Moonlight Sonata with us. Lovely!
    And everyone is waiting for your Flower Song, our Music Passion- June Edition.
    We can’t wait to hear your Music Passion Phil… check out the details here: http://allaboutlemon.com/music-passion/
    Cheers 🙂

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:12 am

      Dolly, I am so sorry I didn’t get to the Flower theme in time for June. I had a few really good selections, but didn’t have an opportunity to squeeze in a post. I’ll play along with the Bird theme this month. I’ve a few ideas in mind already.

      • July 7, 2012 at 11:10 am

        Okay, Phil, and you’re very welcome. We can’t wait to hear you Music Passion this month 🙂
        and about the Flower theme, you could still Tag yours and post it , so I can add it in our Music Passion Collection. Thank you so much dear and Have a great day!

  5. June 5, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    last night we sat next to the jubilee beacon on the hill above our village.. the moon was amazing…. a better shoe than any of the beacons flickering ontop of the distant hills

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:14 am

      That sounded lovely, John. Sometimes there is truth to the saying that the best things in life are free.

  6. Red
    June 6, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    I have neither heard nor played this piece in years. It is one of my favorites, although I much prefer Chopin and Tchaikovsky. The rendering of the moon is spectacular. I hope you got to enjoy at least a wee bit of it before you had to dash away to another whatever it is.
    Red.

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:22 am

      Thanks Red. I didn’t know you played piano – how sweet! Oy! The travel and busy-ness is a bit maddening. It will slow down and I’m looking forward to some vacation time for sure. There is little hope of me catching up with all you’ve written this past month. I’ll start with the current stuff and work backwards, time permitting.

      • Red
        July 8, 2012 at 1:25 am

        Use the tabs on the lower menu bar to find the features. It is far simpler than scrolling through the pages 😉 Glad you are scheduling something quiet, at least for a little while. I am working on an escape plan, wait, I mean, vacation soon.
        Red.

  7. June 10, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    hi phil hope your well the moon lights our way on dark evenings sometimes wish i was sat on it lol xjen

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:23 am

      Jen, I can picture you sitting on the moon crescent with that wry smile on your face. I hope you’ve been well. So much catching up to do!

  8. Androgoth
    June 12, 2012 at 4:47 am

    Have a great time today Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:24 am

      You know I always have a great time. If it isn’t, I make sure I change it so it does become a great time. Sometimes you have to take matters into your own hands. Something also tells me you’re having a great time today, and every day for that matter.

  9. Androgoth
    June 17, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    Have a great start to your Monday Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

  10. Androgoth
    June 18, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Thank you for calling by Phil
    and do have fun this evening 😉

    Androgoth

  11. Red
    June 25, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Just so you know. This is my official visit according to my Muse for Monday post tonight. You fit the bill.
    Red.

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:25 am

      I know, I know… I’ll report straight to detention. (I hope the detention monitor is HOT!)

      • Red
        July 8, 2012 at 1:26 am

        I hear she carries a paddle instead of a ruler.
        Red.

        • July 8, 2012 at 7:52 am

          Well now, that seems like a nice reward er… I mean stern punishment and discipline for the naughty folks.

          • Red
            July 8, 2012 at 11:27 am

            *Grins*

  12. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    July 1, 2012 at 5:21 am

    This was utterly beautiful – the image & the music. Utterly beautiful. And to think, I would never have been exposed to this, if not for wordpress…. Thank you for the experience.

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:26 am

      Why, thank you for such a kind compliment! Comments like these make it all seem so fulfilling to write, knowing that someone else was actually touched. Thank you for stopping by and visiting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

