Home > Music > Music Passion – July is for the Birds…

Music Passion – July is for the Birds…

I was so busy last month, I missed out entirely on Dolly’s Music Passion game, whose theme for the month was Flowers.  So here we are in July, and June’s winner, Sarah Potter, selected Birds as its theme.  I see my favorite was already taken by Jaz, who posted Eva Cassidy’s rendition of Songbird – you beat me fair and square to the punch.  Hopefully, I’ve managed to come up with a solid alternative choice.

 

Rules to play along are simple:

  • Find our theme song
  • Post it in your blog.
  • Tell us something about it.
  • Your post title should be “Music Passion”
  • Always link your post with the Music Passion page.

 

OK, so my pick for this month’s theme of Birds is an old favorite by Jackson Browne from his album The Pretender, released in 1976.  The song’s title is Linda Paloma, Spanish for Beautiful Dove, complete with Mexican Mariachi accompaniment.  This kind of music makes me feel like I’m sitting on a tropical beach watching the sunset with a refreshing drink in my hand.  Enjoy!

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. July 8, 2012 at 4:26 am

    Reblogged this on allaboutlemon and commented:
    A Beautiful Dove by Phil… Let’s all hear his Music Passion and sit with him on a tropical beach watching the sunset…. 🙂 Enjoy!

    • July 8, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      Thanks Dolly.

  2. July 8, 2012 at 4:35 am

    Thank you so much Phil… I enjoyed listening to it, just like you said on a tropical beach watching the sunset 🙂

    • July 8, 2012 at 10:29 pm

      Dolly, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I just noticed your comment – for some reason it was sent to WordPress Spam folder. I have no idea why that happened, but once again, thanks for hosting this fun blogging activity.

      I rather wish I was actually sitting on a nice tropical beach watching a sunset instead of imagining it…

  3. Red
    July 8, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I had completely forgotten about this song… To be honest, I had forgotten about Jackson Browne altogether. Glad to see you in the blogosphere again. I hope you are working toward some schedule which is not trying to stuff 18 weeks worth of work into a month. You know what they say about that all work gig. More play. More birds. More music. More married life.

    Makes me remember why I retired 😉
    Red.

    • July 8, 2012 at 10:02 pm

      Who, me over commit??? Oh wait, that’s right…

      I was just taking advantage of some open time. This is the time of year I would typically step back from all online activity, due to vacations and travel (for pleasure). But as luck would have it, I had some time and it was too damn hot to do anything outdoors other than water the garden, so I had more free time to play here. Music posts are easy for me – I do a lot of listening as it is. I’m pretty sure my dominant sense is aural.

  4. July 10, 2012 at 10:46 am

    My Theme song: Big Big Bang…by Rock Mafia

    • July 11, 2012 at 10:39 pm

      I should ask you to explain. Oh wait. I just clicked on the song… Glad to see you around Charly. You’ve been missed.

  5. Androgoth
    July 11, 2012 at 11:02 am

    It is nice to see you back
    here and posting again Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

    • July 11, 2012 at 10:40 pm

      It’s good to be back, my wicked friend. And thanks for the new link.

  6. July 13, 2012 at 1:58 am

    I’ll have to listen to this when everyone is awake…

  7. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    October 6, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Ah, mercy, what a tune. Really holiday freedom beauty happiness stuff 🙂

  1. July 31, 2012 at 1:00 pm
  2. August 31, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Tell me, what's on your mind?

