Home > Classical Music, Music > What Better Way to Unwind?

What Better Way to Unwind?

 

Another busy weekend here at my home, as I wrestled with all my electronics of the computer in order to move my home office to another room better suited and more comfortable than my old work area.  Now that all my children are out on their own, I’ve reclaimed a spare bedroom and turned it into my new space from which I will ponder all those random thoughts and put them on the screen.

 

However, it is rather late now, and I’m tired of all the prep, painting, disassembling, and reassembling the computer, and of course the requisite problems of getting it all to work.  Too tired to write all that much for this evening, and as midnight draws near, I’d rather unwind and get ready for bed.  So how about a little Chopin?   I was thinking a couple of Nocturnes ought to be nice and soothing to this weary soul.

 

 

 

So delightfully soothing.  Sweet dreams everyone.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

  1. July 16, 2012 at 7:29 am

    They say a change is a good as a rest. Do not be fooled. A change is fraught. A rest is a rest.

    Good luck with the cables. Rather you than me. That’s how selfless I am.

    Thank you for sending me into nocturnal reverie on waking up the opposite side of the pond which keeps us apart. I still do have no sound – however, my memory serves me well.

    May you, on waking, find the right key to keep your weary soul on track this Monday.

    U

    • July 21, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      Still putting the finishing touches on all the little details of the room, but it is so nice to have a window in my home office once again! I’m going to put up a collection for you so we can get your sound back, no matter how good your memory…

  2. July 16, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Oh Phil, you really need to hang around with me. I’ve learned to slow down and enjoy the fact that I’m a “human being,” not a “human doing.” (And not feel guilty about it!) On some deep level, I know you know this, too. You just can’t seem to stop “doing.” At least that’s the impression I get. I’m glad you have your music to soothe you into a softer, more gentle pace of living.

    May you enjoy your new work/creative space…I’m sure we will if it means you’ll be popping in around here a bit more! 🙂

    • July 21, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      I do manage to self soothe and relax. Meditate even. But I’m afraid I’ve taken after my father and grandfather, both who seem to have had the motto, better to wear out than rust out.

  3. Red
    July 16, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    Chopin is by far my favorite of the classic composers. And I love the Nocturnes. Fabulous performances, you picked out.

    How your new space gives you unfettered creativity. Get some rest!
    Red.

    • Red
      July 21, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      Just stopped by to have another listen. Your place is far easier to find than digging through YouTube.
      Red.

      • July 21, 2012 at 9:49 pm

        Perhaps, but only if you like whatever music I happen to select. I am really liking my new space.

  4. July 16, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    S W E E T
    D R E A M S,
    Lovely Phil. X

    • July 21, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      Thank you, my sweet one. Hope all is well in your world.

  5. July 21, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    General note – I must have unwound rather nicely, for I haven’t responded to comments in over a week. Sorry!

  6. Androgoth
    July 21, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Nocturnes and nocturnally excellent Phil
    of course I rarely listen to any classical music
    these days but I should set aside some time
    for that sometime soon 🙂

    Be very well my fine and wicked friend 🙂

    Androgoth

    • July 21, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      What on earth are you doing up at this ungodly hour? Oh, that’s right – I keep forgetting that vampires don’t like daylight… 😀

      • Androgoth
        July 21, 2012 at 10:00 pm

        No we hate the searing of the flesh
        but burning the candle at both ends
        also adds to the trappings of wicked
        delights so we tend to stay up all of
        the night, hmm I could have worded
        that a little better but you know what
        I mean? 😉 lmao

        Have a wicked one Phil 😉

        Androgoth

  7. July 26, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Chopin is so soothing.

    Hope you enjoy your new office space.

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:03 pm

      I know I’m late with this reply – by about a month and an half, but thank you ladyfi. I’ve been too busy to enjoy my new office space, until now it seems. I’ve much catching up to do!

  8. September 12, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    Loved those… 12 minutes of rapture; now that’s worth a comment… 🙂

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:05 pm

      Thank you Carolyn. You do realize you are distracting me from that Blues post I’m supposed to be working on… 😀

      • September 12, 2012 at 11:21 pm

        Haha… All the best with it, Phil.
        I look forward to checking it out; should you choose one…! As I realized, over the past number of days, that’s not an easy thing to do…!

  9. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    September 13, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Utterly, utterly beautiful. They are special people, they who can take the manuscripts of composers past and bring to life the music from the inky page. The way her hands flow, is like water over rocks down a stream – just flowed; her long fingers, the gentleness, and then the intensity.

    Chopin in fact is my absolute favourite. I do not know much re classical music, but I remember when I first heard Chopin, I sought to hear more… & more.

    The ending is just so…. so…. touches and dissipates.

    • September 13, 2012 at 9:48 am

      Noeleen, I’m delighted that you enjoyed the selections. I love to listen to this kind of music as a means to relax and self soothe into a peaceful state of mind. I’ve always connected with music and the aural sense within me. It appears as though it resonates within you as well. I know we use the designation of category as classical music, but really, music like this ought to be put into a category of beautiful, or perhaps your term, utterly, utterly beautiful music. Thanks for stopping by and kicking off your shoes.

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        September 13, 2012 at 9:56 am

        🙂 Pleasure, Phil. Chopin really is the best (to me)…

  10. October 8, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    hi phil thanks for visit got a bit confused thought you had turned into a lorna lol xjen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

