Home > Blues, Music > Music Passion – September Blues

Music Passion – September Blues

September 12, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I know, I know.  It’s been a long time since I posted around these parts, but what better way to get me to crawl out of the woodwork than a throw-down challenge to participate in the Music Passion game on Dolly’s All About Lemon Blog?

This month’s theme is the BLUES, posed to us all by Jaz, a musician herself who posts on My Buddha Blog right here at WordPress. I’d like to personally thank Jaz for tormenting me about this month’s category.  I LOVE the Blues, and have what must be a gazillion songs within the genre, dating back to the turn of the 20th Century through today.  How in the world do I pick one song?  Gaaaaaa!!!!  This is all your fault Jaz!!!  She suggested I keep it old-school.

It’s been a hot summer here – scorching in fact, so I thought maybe we should go for something cool.  OK, so how about some Sonny Boy Williamson, playing “Nine Below Zero“?  You can’t get much cooler than that – brrrr!  Sonny Boy Williamson was often referred to as the King of the Harmonica.  I don’t think anyone got more sound with a feeling out of ten little holes than he did.  His voice has a lot of feeling to it, and he just oozes of cool.


Go on over to Dolly’s Blog and check out the other entries for the month.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. September 13, 2012 at 2:46 am

    I love love it Phill 🙂 It really is sooo cool. Thanks for sharing your Blues with us!
    Dolly xoxo

    • September 13, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Thank you Dolly. As always, it is great fun to play along in this thread. Thanks for hosting it, and thanks for the re-blog. Just what I needed to come out of hiding.

  2. September 13, 2012 at 2:49 am

    Reblogged this on allaboutlemon and commented:
    Let’s hear this so so cool Blues shared with us by Phil of Random Thought… Enjoy!

  3. September 13, 2012 at 3:08 am

    Oh wow; bless Jaz Fagan… Love this Phil; you know your Blues man…!

    • September 13, 2012 at 9:29 am

      Thank you Carolyn. Yes, bless Jaz for picking this category – I’ve spent countless hours sifting through listening not only to my own collection, but that of others playing along. It’s such a delight to both see what others like, and to find a nugget or two that I haven’t heard.

  4. September 13, 2012 at 4:18 am

    I feel for you, Phil. How the hell to choose? I tend to go for a little faster than your above example – still, reminds me of my grandfather who played the Harmonica. As did Charles Bronson. Getting carried away here.

    U

    • September 13, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Ursula, I am intrigued to know your grandfather played the harmonica. I love all tempos within the blues. The slower ones tend to dig deep into the soul, while the more uptempo are incredibly uplifting, making it hard not to feel good paradoxically. You know I’m tempted to put some more links in my comments section now… Must resist the temptation…

      Oh who am I kidding? Let’s go mid-tempo with Etta James, who despite a career in mostly the pop genre, was really saucy and spicy whenever she sang the blues (I dare you not to smile):

      • Red
        September 19, 2012 at 2:16 am

        This is one of my favorites of hers.

  5. September 13, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    A triumphant return, Phil, my man! I told you there would be a lot of happy bloggers when they finally got to see that lil’ ole tiger pop up. Nine Below Zero…nice. I’ve seen it colder around these parts, but that’s one cool music selection… 😉

    • September 14, 2012 at 9:10 am

      Thank you Lorna. Not sure about the triumphant part, but it feels so good to be poking about the place and having some fun. I know you might have seen some cold up in your neck of the woods, but really now, with that warm heart of yours, the immediate environs are quite comfy. OK, so I should continue to post another blues song, because, well, you just can’t have one. How about something more contemporary, by Gregg Allman going solo after all these years?

      • September 14, 2012 at 10:45 am

        You sweet-talker, you! Just my blushing is warming up the atmosphere. Like we need more global warming…

        Nice selection. And I thought the Allman Brothers were all rock and roll…

  6. September 13, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    The blues takes our feelings and turns them into music.

    • September 14, 2012 at 9:42 am

      Yes Ladyfi, the Blues reach down deep inside the soul, embrace and indulge the feelings and pain, and give it a voice. Paradoxically, it has an uplifting quality – that pain shared is pain lessened. How about one from the Eva Cassidy songbook – while not a traditional Blues singer, she’s got so much soul and feel whatever she tackles becomes an instant classic. Stormy Monday Blues is a workhorse classic covered by so many, but I love this version:

  7. Androgoth
    September 16, 2012 at 10:35 am

    So you are back and adding some more of your wicked finds, actually I thought that you had gone AWOL for good this time so the Zombies sort of closed the Gates on you, not to worry though as the Skeletons were out in force and have opened a gap just wide enough for you to squeeze inside, however be careful as somewhere, hiding amongst the tombstones there is a naughty Banshee with the hots for you, no idea what she looks like but I think that she will eat you for breakfast if you don’t do exactly as she commands 😦 Anyway… You have been warned 🙂 lmao

    WELCOME BACK PHIL

    Androgoth

    • September 16, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      Androgoth, so nice to see you around once again. I am delighted to know I can peek into your realm once again, and of course, I’m a little frightened at what might be in store there. I suppose that is the attraction…

      For such a wicked friend, I think I need to post up a wicked blues selection from old, called “Me and the Devil Blues” by Robert Johnson:

      • Androgoth
        September 17, 2012 at 3:21 am

        Well I am liking the
        sound of this already 🙂 🙂
        Have a very nice day
        today Phil, here the
        Sun is shining but the
        forecast is for rain and
        lots of it sooooooooo
        we will have to see if
        the weather peeps are
        right or whether they
        have got it wrong again,
        I favour the latter 🙂

        Androgoth

  8. September 17, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    hi phil just calling by xjen

    • September 18, 2012 at 10:29 pm

      Hi Jen! So good to see you around these parts! I’ve been rather absent lately – life keeping me preoccupied quite a bit, but I’m peeking in here occasionally as time permits. I’ll venture off to pay you a visit soon.

  9. September 17, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Hey Phil, here’s hoping that you’ll sign up and be in the tag for Dolly’s new story tag game… I’ve done my duty and added my 5 words… Now, my man, it’s up to you, should you decide to join in the fun….. 🙂
    http://abcofspiritalk.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/toothsome-story-game/

    • September 18, 2012 at 1:16 pm

      Yes Phil, you have been tagged by Carol 🙂 Check it out here also : http://allaboutlemon.com/2012/09/17/toothsome-story-begins/
      We couldn’t wait to hear your toothsome story 🙂

      • September 18, 2012 at 10:34 pm

        Hi Dolly. As I just told Carolyn, I log on here rather infrequently lately, with all that is going on, so I’m not the best person to tag in these games. 🙂 I’ll pop on over and see what I’m supposed to do.

    • September 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm

      Carolyn, I’m probably not the best person to tag for these kinds of games, as I don’t log into my WordPress account with any sort of regularity these days! Just noticed this now – hope I didn’t leave the thread hanging.

      • September 18, 2012 at 10:36 pm

        No, not at all Phil… I’ll relieve you of this and send it on to someone else…. Enjoy…! 🙂

  10. September 18, 2012 at 2:21 am

    Hi Phil,
    I would take part in this music challange but I know very little about blues and even less about jazz. I have a feeling you’ll do very well with it though:)
    I hope you’ve had yourself a wonderful summer. Mine was a mix of things that kept me away from wp too, its good to be back now and visiting you here again.
    Big hug, Nikki x

    • September 18, 2012 at 1:12 pm

      Hello beautifulcha 🙂 We will be happy to hear you Blues… share your Music Passion with us. Check it our here: http://allaboutlemon.com/music-passion/
      Hope to hear from you 🙂
      dolly

      • September 19, 2012 at 8:19 pm

        Thanks Dolly, I’ll pop over to check it out.

    • September 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm

      Nikki! So very good to see you! I’ve had a wonderful summer overall, just incredibly busy, keeping me away from here. I’ll pay you a visit later this evening, and catch up on the goings on in your life as well. Thanks for dropping in!

  11. September 18, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    so hard to get into your space phil are you ever going to visit me xjen

    • September 18, 2012 at 10:38 pm

      Jen, just noticed this comment – of course I’ll come visit. Heading over there right now in fact. I’ve been knocking on your front door – someone needs to let me in! LOL.

  12. Red
    September 19, 2012 at 2:22 am

    I love when you post something which leads to a long list of songs. You are steadily becoming my personal playlist. Speaking of which…I need to be browsing your YouTube channel. As you may expect, mine is RedofM3. I have a sneaking suspicion I would see you more there than here.

    Hope everything is wrapping up to some sort of calm conclusion. You are so in need of a break and a vaca. I am, too… I worked through my last one. 😉

    Red.
    xxx

    • September 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

      Thanks Red. I definitely can use a vacation, and we had planned some over the summer, but we’ve had to deal with some illnesses and deaths in the family that toppled those plans. That’s life sometimes, and it’s OK – I don’t want to whine about my life, for when I see what others have to endure, any complaints I have look rather petty and self-indulgent.

      I’ll check out your Youtube channel. I don’t have much in the way of original content in mine, but a bunch of playlists and favorites, whenever I’m listening. But be forewarned, it is an eclectic collection of stuff, with a fair amount tilted to classical. Like me – all over the map. 🙂

      Oh, and I shouldn’t let another opportunity to sneak in a song slip by. People who cannot see have this heightened sense of hearing, and with regard to music, well it sometimes is just magical. Here’s Ray Charles in his later years collaborating with Chris Thomas King to do a blues song used in the movie Ray:

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m still trying to get my legs back in this blogging stuff. I’m hoping the fall will be a bit less hectic. Well, right after I make my wines…

      • Red
        September 19, 2012 at 10:08 am

        I have the same attitude…until I get on the tele with customer service. *grins*

        • September 19, 2012 at 10:19 am

          No worries Red. I don’t find your rants about customer service to be petty at all, especially since they relate directly to what is supposed to be putting bread on your table. That is an entirely different matter altogether. For what it is worth, I rather enjoy reading about those adventures in your life, though I’m sure you don’t find them amusing at the time. Hopefully Bear keeps a bit of distance or gives you some space at those moments… 😀

          • Red
            September 19, 2012 at 11:05 am

            I have gotten better about that. Somehow, laughing at them whilst I am on the tele with them makes a huge difference in my stress level!

  13. September 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Hi Phil,
    It was great to hear from you again, so good to read your kind words of encouragement too.
    Thank you. Now I’m off to check out the music passion game at Dollys
    Wish you a beautiful night dear Phil.
    Nikki x

    • September 21, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      Aw shucks Nikki, it was nice to catch up on what was going on in your life. How about an oldie from Elmore James (aka the King of the Slide Guitar) playing a classic Dust My Broom? You can really see where the Blues heavily influenced the Rock and Roll movement in the 50’s.

  14. September 20, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    hi phil hows life treated you today well i hope have a lovely weekend im off to watch ghost stories next xxjen

    • September 20, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      I’ve been fine Jen. I was able to log on to your site. Halloween is just round the corner.

  15. September 20, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    It’s hard to spend time on your craft and on your blog and on the thousands of other things that demand our attention. I’m glad you’re back. Must agree on the terrific Etta James. So smooth.

    • September 21, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      I’m relegated to sneaking on here during my lunch break to add a few blues songs. If you like smooth, how about a classic from Billie Holiday. Here is Lady Day singing Stormy Blues:

  16. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    September 21, 2012 at 9:03 am

    I loved that – that was fantastic! You are pulling names out of the hat I have never heard of. This is a wonderful education for me!

    Also, I’m now just about to go to the videos of your commenters! That Etta James looks worth pressing ‘play’ on….

    • September 21, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      Noeleen, I’m delighted to hear you are enjoying the music. I just love Blues. Let me look into the hat and see what I can pull out… Ah! Albert Collins (the Master of the Telecaster) playing a haunting slow tune called If Trouble Was Money:

  17. September 21, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    hi phil thanks for coming by im terrified of spiders and this time of year they are coming in every night aww save me please lol have a great weekend xjen

  1. September 15, 2012 at 7:46 am
  2. September 20, 2012 at 3:00 am
  3. September 28, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Tell me, what's on your mind?

