Home > Dizzying Heights > Afraid of Heights?

Afraid of Heights?

Doggone it! I left my wrench down on the ground…

 

In answer to the eternal question of how many men does it take to change a light bulb atop a 1,786 foot tower, I came across this hair-raising video.  Apparently the answer is two incredibly brave souls, who have no fear of heights whatsoever.  And you thought your job was tough and demanding???  I have no idea how much these fellows are paid, but it can’t possibly be enough money.

 

Lorna, fair warning about vertigo and dizzying heights.  You may not want to click on the following video.

 

 

I’d write some more, but my hands are clammy with sweat and cramped from the death grip I had on my desk and mouse while watching this.  From the comfort of my ground level seat, I wish you all a terrific day!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. October 2, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    as someone who was once led off the observation deck of seattle’s space needle by a middle aged Japanese tourist…i watched only a few snippets of this video before feeling very ill and faint

    • October 3, 2012 at 2:11 am

      John, I was mesmerized and couldn’t stop watching, though I was gripping my mouse and my desk tightly watching it.

  2. October 2, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    Phil, I should have taken your fair warning. My brain is whirling like a dervish–I assume dervishes spin rather devilishly. Whew! My only consolation is that these brave souls are afraid of something that I’m not…like spiders. Yes! That makes me feel better. 😉

    • October 3, 2012 at 2:13 am

      Acrophobia, arachnophobia… What’s the difference between a few letters? Yes, I’m sure these guys scream like little schoolgirls when they see spiders. At least they won’t be afraid to jump onto the chairs for fear of heights.

  3. October 2, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    Thanks, Phil. I think I’ll pass on this delight. When I want to feel sick all I need to do is look at that famous photo of construction workers having lunch sitting on a girder (New York, early 1930s).

    Given the choice I’d rather do the Tango.

    U

    • October 3, 2012 at 2:18 am

      Ursula, I’ve seen that photo. Remarkable courage those iron workers had, as well as a good sense of balance. Speaking of balance, you need a lot of it to execute a good Tango. And probably a lot of courage too!

      • October 3, 2012 at 6:46 am

        I have got the courage [to dance the Tango – forget about a ‘good’ one. Let’s not get above ourselves]. What I do lack is that most important ingredient of all in life: Skill. And patience. Though can do head jerks.

        As soon as funds allow I will take classes. Just in case.

        Unbalanced,
        U

        PS Anyway, Phil, don’t believe all you see. To my utter chagrin have heard, as of this morning, that that photograph was staged. A clever marketing device. An early attempt at photoshop – maybe. Whilst that makes me feel slightly better in terms of those guys’ safety my stomach is not interested in detail: It’ll still turn.

        • October 3, 2012 at 7:30 am

          I would agree that the photo is shopped, but the video on the other hand was taken from a head cam while the communication tower workers are actually climbing. You know, that video you are reluctant to click open, though I do understand why you wouldn’t want to lose your lunch.

  4. October 3, 2012 at 6:47 am

    No way José! You’d have to chase me up there with a flamethrower.

    • October 3, 2012 at 7:35 am

      Tom! Good to see you. I wouldn’t call what you did while in the armed services a walk in the park either. What was it you said about the color of Adrenaline?

      • October 3, 2012 at 8:06 am

        That is why we had 12 bore shotguns as part of the team kit on Bomb Disposal. If I screwed up, the the Number Two would keep the seagulls away until they had collected up enough of me to send home. If I fall off a tower, I have a lot more time to think about it.

  5. October 3, 2012 at 7:22 am

    Amazing! I’m not cut out for such work, but ride the elevator inside to the observation deck. Guess I’m a bit chicken.

    • October 3, 2012 at 7:41 am

      Yes Renee, I love the views from on high such as observation decks in skyscrapers, but as Ursula mentioned, I like some form of boundary or barrier, be it a retaining wall, or enclosure of some kind.

  6. October 3, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    My father died from a fall over the edge. I asked a MAN to hold my hand while I went to an edge to look over. The idea was he was to stay back while I went to the edge. He held my hand & PULLED me to the edge. Horrors

    • October 3, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      First of all, sorry to hear about your father meeting that kind of fate. Wow. Was this man doing it on purpose or was he just eager to get you near the edge and didn’t realize he was terrifying you in the process?

  7. October 3, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    It never occurred to him my purpose in holding his hand I’m sure. He wanted to see over the edge so that’s where he went. Men aren’t afraid. I added “Horrors” for effect, not really, but I didn’t show I was afraid.

  8. October 4, 2012 at 11:01 am

    OH goodness – I’m terrified of heights! But I guess someone has to do the job…

    • October 4, 2012 at 12:08 pm

      I know I’m crossing that job off my list of possibilities.

  9. October 4, 2012 at 11:28 am

    I’m working up to the video. Just the first photo is bad enough…

    • October 4, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      The photo I’m sure is shopped for effect. The video on the other hand is a mounted helmet-cam and the movement it captured during the climb is gripping – literally.

  10. October 4, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    I just climbed to the top (of the video) remembering I’m sitting at my computer. OH!

  11. Pat
    October 10, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Er, I jibbed and didn’t watch. But I love the photo. I don’t mind the heights if a) I don’t go near the edge b) don’t look down c) nothing moves. Decided the video would fall into the latter category.
    However Tweeted it. Might appeal to braver souls than me! 🙂

    • October 10, 2012 at 1:17 pm

      Yes Pat, there was a lot of looking down and a lot of movement as the camera was affixed to the climber’s helmet. Wise choice! Thanks for stopping by and thanks for tweeting it. I’m not sure even the birds tweet this high…

  1. October 3, 2012 at 12:33 am

Tell me, what's on your mind?

