Home > Music > Music Passion – October “Morning”

Music Passion – October “Morning”

 

Another month, another musical topic for the Music Passion game hosted on Dolly’s Blog, All About Lemon. Carolyn, who writes and blogs on ABC of Spirit Talk is September’s winner and has selected “Morning” as the theme for October. Congratulations Carolyn!

 

I’ve selected a Cat Stevens singing an old hymn “Morning Has Broken” for my entry this month. Many mistakenly credit Stevens for writing this, but the song itself has a long history. If you are interested and wish to read more about it, click here.

 

 

Enjoy.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. October 5, 2012 at 2:10 am

    Oh Phil Cat Stevens is one of my favorite song writers and performers. This song is beautiful πŸ™‚ Thanks for your Music Passion contribution for this month :)…

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:21 am

      Dolly, I’m delighted to hear you enjoy Cat Stevens. Thanks for reblogging and thanks for hosting the Music Passion event on your blog.

      • adollyciousirony
        October 9, 2012 at 2:40 am

        You’re very welcome Phil and it’s always a pleasure to hear yours and other’s Music Passion πŸ™‚
        Enjoy your weeekdays! xoxo

  2. October 5, 2012 at 2:13 am

    Reblogged this on allaboutlemon and commented:
    Phil, a music lover is sharing with us his Morning Music Passion… Let’s all hear it folks and enjoy!

  3. October 5, 2012 at 2:57 am

    Reblogged this on time2sh1ne.

  4. October 5, 2012 at 3:42 am

    πŸ™‚

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:21 am

      πŸ™‚

  5. October 5, 2012 at 6:19 am

    Reblogged this on OyiaBrown.

  6. October 5, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Since you’re a music lover, you should check out this link: http://doninmass.com/2012/10/04/mitt-romney-dancing/#comment-22950

    I do feel a little more edumacated after visiting your music posts, even after taking a Jazz History course.

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:22 am

      Who’d a thunk Mitt could bust a move like that?

  7. October 5, 2012 at 11:32 am

    When I saw your title with “Morning” in it, that’s the first song I thought of. A modern classic (if you consider the 1970s (or the original hymn written in the 1930s) “modern.” πŸ˜‰

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:24 am

      Lorna, with my tastes in classical music, a 100 year old piece is fairly modern…

  8. Androgoth
    October 6, 2012 at 9:42 am

    I hope that your weekend has
    started with a wicked smile Phil πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:27 am

      The wicked and naughty intentions were there Androgoth, but the landscaping projects that took me all weekend to do put a dent in the wickedness.

      • Androgoth
        October 9, 2012 at 3:19 am

        Always make time
        for the wickedness Phil πŸ™‚
        I hope that your Monday
        was exciting πŸ™‚

        Androgoth

  9. October 7, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    My church choir used to sing this song occasionally. I absolutely love it.

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:28 am

      It is a lovely song. Do you sing in the choir?

  10. October 8, 2012 at 10:42 am

    One of my absolute favourites! The words are fabulous.

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:29 am

      Thank you ladyfi.

  11. October 9, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Phil, there is a reason why, more often than not, I do avoid music. Unless someone makes me sit down to listen.

    U

    • October 10, 2012 at 3:26 pm

      Here’s hoping it wasn’t too rough an ordeal to be made to sit down and listen.

  12. October 10, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    I love Cat Stevens and this song reminds me of sixth grade graduation. The entire sixth grade performed it. We practiced for what seems like months. I remember that every time I hear it.

    I love this Music Passion idea. I’m so glad to have found you.

    • October 14, 2012 at 11:07 am

      Hippie, thanks for the kind words, and thanks for visiting. I’ve had fun with the game – it leads me to many a new little golden nugget of songs I may never have heard before, and refreshes my memory of older favorites that were gathering dust in my mind.

  13. October 13, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    Great choice, Phil… Always loved this one..!

    • October 14, 2012 at 11:08 am

      Thanks Carolyn! You picked a nice theme for October.

  14. October 15, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    Phil,
    I missed all of these posts because I cannot sign up for your blog. Please sign me up: siammuse@msn.com

    Thanx!

    • October 18, 2012 at 12:26 am

      Kim, I’ll need to play around with my homepage template and see if I can set it up, as soon as I get some time…

    • October 18, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      OK Kim, I did it, but you’ll need to click on the “Follow Random Thoughts” button located near the upper right of page.

  15. Red
    October 20, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    Excellent song. Its storied history gives it a new dimension. Makes me wish music history was a required course for everyone.
    Red.

    • October 22, 2012 at 10:08 am

      I wonder why or how we cannot seem to find the time to add a slice of the Arts into a curriculum because we supposedly are falling behind academically in the Math and Science. Yet, curriculum changes aren’t having a drastic effect – a topic entirely unto itself.

      • Red
        October 22, 2012 at 12:35 pm

        Music is math in motion. Science is math applied. It is like trying to drive a car with only one wheel. *shakes head*

  1. October 26, 2012 at 1:25 am
  2. October 29, 2012 at 8:24 am

Tell me, what's on your mind?

