Home > Music, Occupy Blogosphere > Lighting Up The Blogosphere – One Flicker at a Time

Lighting Up The Blogosphere – One Flicker at a Time

 

As an avid reader of Lorna’s Voice I am awakened every Thursday with a regular entry of hers titled “Lighting Up the Blogosphere – One Flicker at a Time”, which is part of a campaign aptly named “Occupy the Blogosphere” started by another WordPress blogger, Soul Dipper. It is a rather refreshing and optimistic counter to all the stress and negativity that manages to creep into our lives, and being the eternal optimist, it strikes a resonant chord in me.

 

Since I’m away in a totally different time zone, and I’m wide awake due to my internal clock telling me morning should be long gone even when dawn is only now breaking into my window, I thought I’d try my hand at this uplifting kind of thing and showcase someone who really does light up the world in his own magical way. Have you guessed yet that it will probably be a topic about music? I know, so predictable sometimes, but hopefully you’ll be surprised.

Music is the universal language of mankind

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

So very true.  In order to demonstrate both the universal appeal of music and the joy it can evoke from everyone, I have selected a few short videos of one of my favorite people on this planet when it comes to music, Bobby McFerrin, doing what he does well – playing the instrument that is his voice, and likewise playing the audience, engaging them to create magical moments through music.

Bobby McFerrin was born with mad vocal abilities.  The son of Metropolitan Opera Baritone Robert McFerrin Sr. and regional opera and Broadway singer and Professor Emeritus of Music Sara, he certainly had the genes for vocal abilities.  He is most famous for his 1988 hit, Don’t Worry, Be Happy done entirely a Capella with only his voice. But his real gift is how he shares that gift and joy with his audience.

I dare you to watch the following videos and not manage to crack a smile or feel a bit of happiness sweep over you, if only for a moment while you forget all else in the world:

Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. October 11, 2012 at 11:52 am

    Right, Phil. You (and Lorna) of all people will know that we need balance in life. Which is why I have taken it upon me to cast a shadow and darken the blogosphere. Soon. As best I can. Which won’t be very good because I have misplaced my torch.

    U

    • October 11, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      Oh U, you know you’re smiling…even if it’s on the inside. That counts, you know! 😉

    • October 12, 2012 at 12:57 am

      Ursula as the Dark Goddess of the blogosphere? I don’t know about that. I imagine you more a Goddess of Light, shining that brightness white-hot into areas of relative darkness. Please, come on over to the bright side – we’ve got cookies and milk.

    • Androgoth
      October 17, 2012 at 3:55 am

      Yes keep shining it U

      Andro xxx

  2. Jaz
    October 11, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Fabulous!

    • October 12, 2012 at 1:00 am

      I agree, though if I said fabulous, I’d have to forfeit my man-card. What with all the Opera and touchy-feely dramatic arts stuff I do around here, I’m already under sever scrutiny. But yeah, Bobby McFerrin is really something!

      • Jaz
        October 12, 2012 at 4:07 am

        LOL thanks Phil, you’re such a cat! 😀

  3. October 11, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    All of these videos were wonderful, but that last one was amazing. I’m still smiling and the audience had pretty great pitch! Loved it. And thanks for joining this delightful movement, Phil! Hugs…

    • October 12, 2012 at 1:02 am

      It’s rather amazing to watch how he connects the audience to music so that they just “get it.” Not sure I can do a weekly installment like this, but I’ll definitely do more posts from time to time whenever time permits.

  4. October 11, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    I really like that quote from Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. He is so right. Where would be these days if it wasn’t for music? The largest portion of the entertainment business would be non-existant, making it hard for many performers.

    • October 12, 2012 at 1:05 am

      I cannot imagine a world without music in it.

  5. October 11, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    I so love this!

    • October 12, 2012 at 1:06 am

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for dropping in.

  6. October 11, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    I have just fallen in love again!! I cannot believe how much I enjoyed this. Thank you so much for giving me such a gift AND for participating in the Occupy Blogosphere. A perfect contribution.

    • October 12, 2012 at 1:08 am

      I’m delighted that you enjoyed this. Thanks go to you though for promoting this wonderfully positive idea, and for your kind words.

  7. October 12, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I just spent the last hour or so trying to get a video into my new post but I couldnt, finally have up and just put the link…so frustrating, I don’t know how you do it Phil, I press all the right buttons to upload media into post but nothing:(
    I see you’re off on your business travels again, sounds like you must be on the west coast now, by the time you get over the jet lag you’ll probably be back on a plane headed home lol.
    Have a great night,
    Nikki x

    • October 13, 2012 at 9:01 am

      Nikki, are you using the “Add New” from Stats or “QuickPress” feature from you Dashboard? I’ve had similar problems with it whenever I use the shortened forms. Instead I select “Posts | Add New” from my dashboard menu. It seems to work more reliably.

      Thanks for stopping by. Hope you have a great weekend.

      • October 13, 2012 at 3:20 pm

        Thanks for trying to help:) I tried it all ways, at first yes I tried the quick way from the button at top right, but after that didnt work I tried the add new post and still nothing, so now I’m thinking maybe its because its not a youtube video? its an msn video. Hope you have a wonderful weekend Phil.
        Big hugs, Nikki x

  8. October 13, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Oh, I do love the music of Bobby McFerrin!

    • October 14, 2012 at 10:46 am

      I love the sheer joy he seems to derive from the audience’s energy as he shares his musical gifts. And that joy is infectious.

  9. October 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Thanks for the lift this afternoon, Phil ,:-)

    • October 14, 2012 at 10:49 am

      My pleasure Bella. The post itself was spontaneous, not planned at all, yet it lifted me up as well.

  10. October 15, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    I am smiling :)) Xxx

    • October 17, 2012 at 11:35 pm

      Kim, just knowing you are smiling makes me smile. It’s contagious.

  11. October 16, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Hi Phil, are you back home and back to your normal hours now? Must be a hard thing to get used to…being in different time zones all the time when you travel.
    Thanks so much for your compliment on the new post, I’d say happy halloween to you too but we have loads of time to go. I didn’t have time to plan a guestbook event for it this year, but I’m thinking of doing it for xmas, what do you think?
    Nikki xo

    • October 17, 2012 at 11:37 pm

      Nikki, with me there is no normal anymore. The toughest part is exactly what you said, just getting used to the time shift, then jetting back. I think a guestbook Christmas is a wonderful idea.

  12. October 16, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    oops a another typo in there, bad nikki:P

    • October 17, 2012 at 11:38 pm

      Fixed it for you…

  13. Androgoth
    October 17, 2012 at 3:57 am

    A very nice tribute my great friend
    and I hope that the darker side of
    wickedness is adding pleasurable
    sequences as a Halloween shudder
    beckons 🙂 Well I know how much
    you enjoy those semi-clad Witches 😉

    Have a wicked
    Hump Day Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

    • October 17, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      I wonder, are the semi-clad witches nice or naughty? I hope you too have had a wicked hump day, my wicked friend.

  14. October 18, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    hi phil listen to ozzy he always cheers me up xjen

    • October 18, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      Here you go Jen…

    • WordsFallFromMyEyes
      October 19, 2012 at 8:12 pm

      Hi. This is weird Jenny – I clicked on your gravatar and it didn’t go to your blog. I just thought I’d let you know. Cheers.

  15. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    October 19, 2012 at 5:21 am

    CHOICE collection of videos here, Phil. I have NEVER seen Ozzy like that. I don’t know, I never saw that side….

    And Larry & the ‘expectations’ with the audience video re the science festival – that was just FANTASTIC to see.

    But re your words, & the lightening up the blogosphere – that is just great. I still am amazed that I met NO NEGATIVITY EVER, NOT ONE SINGLE COMMENT – the most ‘negative’ comment being about my use of semicolons in writing & they didn’t think it necessary … UNTIL, my estranged sister had hunted me down. And I do mean hunted me down! Her own words in comment show she has checked on me on the internet for the last 11 years – & this year, I finally did something that apparently warranted the pounce she was so ready, like a cat intent, on making at the ‘right time’. Ah, mercy me….

    Phil, it’s Friday night here in Melbourne Australia, I am SO relaxed with my feet up, the cat purring nearby, & I have to tell you – loved this post 🙂

    • October 19, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Well Noeleen, it is always gratifying for me to know someone was delighted by something unexpected such as the Ozzy video. I try hard to keep a child’s sense of wonder and discovery at new things. The key is to keep all your senses open and available to the possibilities and experiences that cross our paths each and every day. Strange place this Internet is – you never know what you will find. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      It’s Friday night here near Washington, D.C. and I’m relaxed with my headphones on, so perhaps I’ll venture off to my other blog that has been woefully neglected…

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        October 19, 2012 at 11:49 pm

        I agree it’s strange, this place, the internet, Phil. Strange, but wonderful …

  16. Red
    October 20, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    This was wonderful. You accomplished the lighting rather adeptly. Makes me wish I could carry a tune other than on sheet music in a bucket. Happy weekend, Phil.
    Red.
    PS I love Dreamer as well.

    • October 22, 2012 at 9:08 am

      Thank you Red. Despite my love for a voice singing with such delight, my own voice is not so blessed, forcing me to enjoy it all from the seats as part of the audience.

  17. October 22, 2012 at 12:55 am

    It seems like it’s a gift to the audience, and the audience is a gift to him. I love how the music carries across all boundaries.

    • October 22, 2012 at 9:10 am

      There really is a synergy taking place whenever he is onstage.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

