Home > Weather > Waiting for Hurricane Sandy

Waiting for Hurricane Sandy

Batten down the hatches, laddie!

 

I’ve been busy these past few days.  Hurricane Sandy, or what the weather forecasters in full Armageddon mode are calling the Perfect Storm, part deux, is bearing down on the Atlantic States waiting to take a left turn and make landfall on a pathway pretty much where I live.  I am far enough inland to be spared the Tidal brunt of the storm surge, but the forecasters are calling for very heavy precipitation as the storm stalls and intensifies, along with high gusting winds.  Likely result – flooding and power failures with fallen trees.

 

As a result, most of the weekend was spent in preparation of the storm’s wrath.  This is the height of falling leaves, and I cannot begin to estimate how many cubic yards of leaves were raked up and mulched.  All the drains were given a good cleaning, and I also had some fun up two and a half stories on a ladder cleaning out the gutters.  Anything not bolted down was brought into the garage.  The generator was brought out of storage and tested – all systems go.  Batteries all stocked up, lanterns ready to go, and plenty of candles as well, just in case.  I made the mistake of running out to the grocery store to pick up a few items last minute – big mistake!  The place looked like a throwback to the Soviet Union.  I was amazed at the empty bread shelves, no milk to be found, and eggs all gone.  No wonder folks need to stock up on toilet paper in large amounts!  I left, for it wasn’t worth waiting an hour for coffee creamer.  Black will do just fine in a pinch.

 

I decided to get out and take advantage of the early voting allowed in our precinct.    Oh the irony!  Early voting is supposed to eliminate long lines on election day.  This is the first time I decided to vote early, and the result is the longest I’ve ever had to wait in line to complete the process – about an hour and a half.  I suppose all the other fellow citizens were wondering how their vote might be counted if there are power failures now that the ballot is electronic.  Got my vote in just in time.  The early voting will be shut down for the next three days until Sandy blows over.  The closure may last longer should there be a sustained power failure.  Last year, Hurricane Irene caused outages that lasted almost two weeks in some areas of the State.

 

It’s now raining in the wee hours of Monday morning.  By Tuesday morning, the storm will be making its pass overhead.  Nothing left to do but sit back and take whatever Mother Nature decides to dish out.  So here’s a little mood music to drift off to sleep by, courtesy of The Doors.

 

 

Stay dry everyone!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. October 29, 2012 at 2:12 am

    Wowee, Phil…. All I can say is ‘you’ve prepared the best you can’, I hope now for the best for you and ‘all’ in Sandy’s path…..! From Australia…

    • October 29, 2012 at 11:08 am

      We’re far enough inland, so hopefully the storm will lose some of its swagger before hitting us. The coastal communities are getting pounded right now. The resort at Ocean City, MD, lost the main pier, and the major storm surge isn’t expected to hit there until this evening. Hopefully folks heeded the evacuation warnings.

  2. October 29, 2012 at 3:42 am

    Yes, toilet paper is the litmus test of how well we run our lives. And I have never heard a better excuse for clearing out the gutter than a hurricane. It’s quite brilliant, Phil. Several script writers come to mind who’d make that into spellbinding drama. With varying outcomes.

    I feel like Little Red Riding Hood: “My, my, Phil, how organized you are.” Yes, what would we do without our hands.

    Just having caught up with the (scientific) facts of this storm it doesn’t make comfortable reading. Still, as long as you and Lady Random Thoughts keep the shutters closed and not get swept off your feet you will be fine. Anyway, I have just been reliably informed that the world will come to an end in 2015. Which just about gives us all enough time to get our affairs in order, Including the drains. You already being one step ahead.

    It will not have escaped your attention that there is currently a full moon.

    Good luck, Phil. May the roof hold.

    U

    • October 29, 2012 at 11:33 am

      Spellbinding drama? See what happens when you read (and eventually listen to) too many of my opera ramblings? Even cleaning the gutters seems exciting as a result. I have to admit, I do not like water in my house. Unless of course it runs from my kitchen sink, or the bath, or most definitely the loo to flush down that toilet paper…

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    October 29, 2012 at 6:13 am

    Phil, I truly hope you will be okay. My gosh, talk about being right in the path… I really appreciated seeing the map.

    CHOICE music, choice. The Doors were SO something else. Your music tastes sure do range.

    As for voting. Ugh. I never know who to vote for because I just can’t believe a one of them. I have through the blog heard some tragic things about Christian-leaning parties though… REALLY tragic things (eg ‘justified’ rape doesn’t get women pregnant as they have something that avoids pregnancy in those situs… sorry, can’t explain it!)

    Ah, The Doors….

    • October 29, 2012 at 11:39 am

      I am convinced that no one would be able to draw any accurate conclusions based on a look at my playlist, other than I am all over the map when it comes to musical tastes. Regarding politics, especially in the US, I have no explanation for what comes out of the mouths of politicians in general, and some of the zealot religious types with their complete disregard for anything resembling science. I wonder what they mean by a return to the good old days – I’m guessing they must mean a few centuries short of the Renaissance in the Dark Ages… Speechless is what it makes me.

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        October 29, 2012 at 4:40 pm

        Good morning, Phil! You’re up & about (you just ‘liked’ my current post). Well, it’s 7.40 am here in Melbourne, & I’m to get ready for work. I wonder what time you’re at…

        Thank you for reading 🙂

        • October 29, 2012 at 4:49 pm

          A little past 4:30 p.m. I believe about 15 hours difference.

  4. October 29, 2012 at 7:57 am

    I’ve been thinking about you, Phil. My, oh, my. Is there a female who isn’t drawn to you? Sandy seems to want to see you up close and personal. I know she’ll get a chance, but she seems rather indiscriminate, so don’t let her stay long, okay?

    Looks like she’ll be visiting me, too. I’ll give her a piece of my mind (and hopefully not a piece of my roof)!

    Stay safe, my friend!

    • October 29, 2012 at 11:46 am

      Yes Lorna, it looks like Sandy will be paying you a visit as well, possibly leaving gifts of snowfall mixed in with rain in your neck of the woods. Guess she’ll give you the cold shoulder. We should be fine where we are, other than wet and (hopefully not) without power.

  5. Red
    October 29, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Love the song. Stay safe. I hope you have something non-electric to do. This is the time when you can never find a pack of playing cards.

    I miss the frenzy of a good ‘cane. I am so ready to go home where these things are all the time.

    Please, keep yourself and your family safe. Nothing is worth risking your life and please know when you should leave. Being home will not protect your home from damage.

    Many prayers,
    Red.

    • October 29, 2012 at 11:56 am

      Thanks Red. It was amusing to watch the frenzied shopping in a way. I have to wonder, don’t people buy milk, bread, and eggs otherwise? And let’s not even talk about toilet paper…

      Last time we were without power, it was fun doing things by candlelight. We actually went to bed a lot earlier and slept a lot more.

      • Red
        October 29, 2012 at 12:25 pm

        That is the best part about storms…the excellent sleep. I have always welcomed the storms. It is so cleansing to the world and the mind. A lot less pollutant going in when there is no power.

        As to the shopping…I retired from WM. The frenzy of people ripping shrink wrap off of pallets for 84 packs of batteries and the camp stove fuel and all the other things we sold all.stinking.year.round was just nuts.

        What always killed me was the bottled water. Rather than do what everyone has done for generations (fill a tub for dishes/flushing and bottling from the tap) they were all in a panic to buy tap water in plastic bottles. Ugh. What have we become?

        • October 29, 2012 at 5:08 pm

          Your comment about the tap water in plastic bottles says it all. I have no idea how we as a society have become so dumb, lazy, and totally dependent.

  6. October 30, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    I’ve been in lots of hurricanes here in Florida including the devastating Hurricane Charley. My daughter lost her house in that one. I know the prep that has to be done. It an be a nightmare.
    after Charely, I learned to stock up on canned good and peanut butter(canbe eaten off a spoon – haha) and lots of wine for those black out nights. It helps relieve fear and who doesn’t like a good wine. Be safe …. you and all who are in the path are in our thoughts and prayers.
    Blessings ……

    • October 30, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      Oh my! Losing an entire home – how devastating! We’ve been through a number of hurricanes up here, and we do take the preparation seriously. As for the wine, one of my favorite hobbies is wine making, so there is never a shortage here around my house. Sandy passed and left us a little waterlogged and windswept, but all in all, a lot less damage than could have happened if she decided to stall overhead as some models had predicted. Sandy will soon be a distant memory. Thanks for your good thoughts and prayers.

  7. October 30, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    I hope that ‘Sandy’ chooses to leave you and yours safe. Great song by the way.

    • October 30, 2012 at 2:11 pm

      Sandy has swept by, leaving us a little waterlogged and windswept with debris, but otherwise unharmed at least in my household. She is now further North creating mischief for others there. Thanks for stopping by Jacqueline.

  8. October 30, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    I’ve been seeing the updates over the last couple days on the news here, really would be so frightening to be in one of the cities the storm reached. You sound like you have complete organization and are well prepared, thats very impressive to someone like me….I think the only emergency item I own is a flashlight and I havent seen it in months.

    Happy Halloween Phil! I hope its a warm and safe holiday for you and your family!

    Hugs, Nikki

    • October 30, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      I learned to be better prepared through experience. First hurricane when we lost power for days and I had no batteries or extra flashlights, or food for that matter, and we had two very small children at the time. Ah, a very hard lesson learned for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

