Home > humor > Fun With Pumpkins

Fun With Pumpkins

Halloween is past, all the little trick or treat kiddies are now on a sugar buzz, probably driving their parents and teachers to the brink of madness, and most folks are tossing out all their Jack-O-Lanterns freshly carved up just a few days earlier.  When I was a child, most pumpkins were either carved into the familiar spooky scary face, or maybe was made into a head as part of a scarecrow like person, clothes stuffed with hay.  Lately though we seem to have become a bit more artistic with this annual interpretation of expression.  Witness the following sightings floating around:

 

I got your pumpkins right here pal…

 

Apparently these pumpkins are not bashful about showing off their assets.

 

Wait. (hic) Was that beer before (hic) liquor or… (hic) uh oh…

 

Yeah, the idea is to get into the spirit of Halloween, not let the spirits of Halloween get into you.

 

Push dammit! Push!!!

 

I’m speechless with this one.  Never ceases to amaze me what folks can do with a simple knife, a few pumpkins and maybe a vegetable or two, and a wild imagination.

 

Come on now – you know you smiled.  I just know you did.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. Red
    November 1, 2012 at 10:12 am

    The first time I saw one of the bottom ones, I laughed and laughed. Some of these are great! Hope you had a great Hallowe’en. 😉

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:06 am

      I have to admit, I initially dropped my jaw when I saw that last one, and then I let out a roaring laugh. We are still cleaning up the mess that Sandy left behind, but it was nice to take a break from it all and enjoy the Halloween festivities and the children all dressed up.

  2. November 1, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I have to say that’s creative. The days of our youth are gone and youth are a lot less innocent than we were.

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:07 am

      I’ll say! It’s rather amazing what the kids are exposed to at such an early age.

  3. November 1, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Oh Phil, there’s no such thing as a “simple knife.” 😉

    At least in the first picture, no pumpkins were harmed (a few values, perhaps, but no pumpkins). 🙂

    Fun post!

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:08 am

      I’ve always thought knives were indeed rather simple – straight and sharp for the most part. Values on the other hand…

  4. November 1, 2012 at 11:47 am

    The first two LIVE in our village

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Oh my! I can just imagine. I do love your village…

  5. November 1, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Yes you made me smile, the pictures are so funny and so creative, I, as like you, stuck to the more common carving of the face except for once when I entered a pumpkin carving contest and created something that was a sort of a combination Frankenstein and goth/punk, it won a prize for most unique pumpkin, it shocked me it won anything at all because I was just playing around and wasn’t what you’d call a serious contender lol.
    Phil I can’t take credit for drawing out the sexy witches myself, I don’t really draw much, except for making some of my art supplies from scatch, like backgrounds and brushes and some elements, but the witches and other such “people elements” are art supplies called tubes which I either buy from tube suppliers and then am licensed to use the items in my creations or also get some through my art supply groups.
    But thank you for your wonderful compliment, hopefully my little halloween gift made you smile too. Big hugs, Nikki x

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:11 am

      I can imagine your goth/punk pumpkins! And whether or not you take credit, I love the creativity that adorns your people elements. They all have a certain personality that radiates from you.

  6. November 1, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Phil did the storm pass your state/city yet? I’ve been seeing so much destruction on the news, mostly about New Jersey, it’s sad that nature can wreak such havoc, so many people devasted. Is it the end of Sandy yet? I really hope it’s passed and all is good where you live.
    Big hugs to you, Nikki

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:14 am

      Yes, Sandy is a not so distant memory now. We were about 30 miles south of the trajectory of the storm as it passed through. Those north of us bore the brunt of the storm, places like New Jersey and New York. They fared a lot worse. We just got soaked with 10+ inches of rain and really strong winds leaving a mess of debris. It could have been lots worse, so we are all thankful around here, and our hearts go out to those more severely affected further northward.

  7. November 1, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    You betcha I smiled…. very creative people in your neck of the woods….

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:16 am

      There are some really creative folks in this world, and they have a good sense of humor.

  8. maturestudenthanginginthere
    November 1, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Thank you for these Phil – laugh out loud funny 😆

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:16 am

      Glad you enjoyed them!

  9. November 1, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Brilliant!
    The pumkin puking is hilareous and gross at the same time. XX

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:17 am

      That’s what happens when you get too much of the “spirits” in you…

  10. November 2, 2012 at 3:02 am

    Oh my – I laughed and grimaced! Great finds.

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:17 am

      Thanks!

  11. November 2, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    The last one is TRULY FRIGHTENING! I love it 🙂

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:19 am

      The expressions are priceless!

  12. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    November 2, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    These are great! I love them! 🙂 This post is a real giggle. Some people are so clever (with a knife & imagination).

    • November 3, 2012 at 9:21 am

      It was a nice respite from all the hurricane angst that made up this week, and it was nice to smile and laugh a while at the playful creativity of others.

  13. November 11, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    lol so thats what pumpkin seeds make sorry lol great pic phil hope your well thanks for e mails lovely to hear from you and pleased you didnt get the full sandy anger xjen

  14. November 6, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Doctor humor in the last one is very typical.
    I like the first one best. I’m not partial to seeing
    the insides of others. hahaha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Tell me, what's on your mind?

