Home > Music > Music Passion – The World in November

Music Passion – The World in November

 

Another month, another musical topic for the Music Passion game hosted on Dolly’s Blog, All About Lemon. Carolyn, who writes and blogs on ABC of Spirit Talk is a repeat winner for both September and October.  She has selected “World” as the theme in this month of November. Congratulations Carolyn – two in a row!

 

I’ve selected a song written and performed by War titled “The World is a Ghetto.”  It is the title track of the album, released in 1972.  In vinyl.  It is hard to believe this melancholic and mournfully trippy song is now 40 years old.  Moreover it seems to stand the test of time.  Kick up your feet and have a listen – I’ve managed to find the full album version that has a great sax solo in the middle.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1. November 4, 2012 at 1:50 am

    That was fabulous, Phil; I thoroughly enjoyed it..! The guitar work toward the end is worth a mention too..
    Speaking of ‘mention’, Thank You… 😉

    • November 4, 2012 at 9:39 am

      I’m glad you enjoyed it – and apparently all the way through as well. Yes, all the band members had a lot of talent, and these extended versions are fantastic. The album art was also interesting back then, or maybe I’m just turning into an old curmudgeon.

      • November 4, 2012 at 4:34 pm

        Yes, all the way through…! ‘Twas Sunday afternoon (here in Oz) when I listened to it. I instantly knew I was going to enjoy it so got myself a cuppa, sat down and enjoyed…
        The artwork is pretty special, I agree…
        Curmudgeon; never… 😉

  2. November 4, 2012 at 3:36 am

    Reblogged this on allaboutlemon and commented:
    Another awesome tune of Music Passion-World by Phil and he said “Kick up your feet and have a listen… ” So let’s all hear it folks 🙂 Enjoy!

  3. November 4, 2012 at 3:39 am

    Great pick Phil and I love the tune especially the sax solo in the middle 🙂 Thanks! xoxo

    • November 4, 2012 at 9:39 am

      Thanks for the compliments Dolly, and also for the reblog.

  4. November 4, 2012 at 8:55 am

    I can just see you in your bell-bottoms and vest, your long hair swaying to this tune while you try to impress the ladies. Phil, you’re such a play-ya! And that’s just last night… 😉

    • November 4, 2012 at 9:42 am

      I had to laugh out loud at this one Lorna. I’m not sure I could pull off that look anymore. I mean I still have a reasonably full head of hair, but it doesn’t quite have the life it once had. Bell bottoms? Oh my… 😀

      • November 4, 2012 at 9:50 am

        Hey, everything old is new again. I’m assuming that includes us… 😉

  5. November 6, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    This was such a melancholic yet sexy groove … thanks for sharing. As Lorna said everything old is new again … and of course that includes us! Vintage is in 🙂

    • November 8, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      I still have the original album in vinyl. Don’t have those patchpocket bell bottoms though. Meh, probably wouldn’t fit into them anyway. 🙂

      • November 9, 2012 at 3:16 pm

        I’m sure they’re in your closet somewhere … too bad Halloween has passed … 🙂

  6. November 9, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    hello my wonderful friend…
    have a great weekend…
    hugs

  7. Androgoth
    November 11, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Have a great start to your week Phil
    I will be back later to view your video
    and make a comment accordingly 🙂

    Be well Phil 🙂

    Androgoth

  8. November 13, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Hi Phil, of the good musical tastes and eccentric wit, I’ve just tagged you at http://sarahpotterwrites.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/mini-blogathon-for-those-of-lesser-stamina/

  9. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    November 17, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Phil, that is wonderful – I love it. GROOOOOOVY 🙂 Groovy….

    Couldn’t play it on your site, but it led me to youtube. Wow, so cool! And I wouldn’t have ever heard it, but for you. Thank you 🙂

  1. November 11, 2012 at 6:19 am
  2. November 20, 2012 at 12:34 pm
  3. December 1, 2012 at 7:20 am

Tell me, what's on your mind?

